We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Place”
Review of Alodia's

Alodia's
Ranked #1 of 974 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: In order to provide the best and most efficient service possible, we will no longer be accepting standard reservations or call-ahead seating. This new policy will help us ensure that we can accommodate all of our loyal guests in the most efficient way possible. We will continue to honor limited reservations as part of our VIP membership program. We look forward to seeing you at the restaurant and creating new memories with you and your family. Adam and Betsy Huneau, owners *********** Alodia's Cucina Italiana is a restaurant born from the love of an Italian family. Proprietor Adam Huneau's first restaurant is sure to wow taste buds with his authentic Italian Cuisine comprised of recipes that have been pulled from the pages of his family's cookbook. Named after his Great-Grandmother, Alodia's fare and ambiance resounds with the smells and tastes of Old Italy. Fresh sauces and homemade pastas are the foundation of the menu that brought generations together. Adam is devoted to making his restaurant as inviting and warm as his own family's kitchen. It was the love of food and family that allowed Alodia to cook for her nine children, even through the struggles of the Great Depression and World War II. It was her food that strengthened her children, but it was her love that strengthened her family. Adam and his wife Betsy are proud to bring Alodia's food to a new generation. We hope that you will join us at Alodia's Cucina Italiana for Italian food that dazzles the taste buds and warms the soul.. Brunch on Sundays: 11am-2pm. Dinner: 5pm-9:30pm.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
“Special Place”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Fine Italian food. Only improvements I would make would be better bread and less expensive specials. The fish has always been excellent here and the Filet and scallops were to die for. I encourage you to support the small business people. You know a place is special when the locals are frequent return visitors.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    724
    129
    49
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Genuine Homemade Italian Meals”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Alodia's is one of those few local restaurants that take pride in all they prepare and serve. I have tried just about everything on the menu and can't say I've ever had a bad meal. Generally I have lunch with my lady friends and we always have a great meal with wine and laughter. The service remains excellent and the atmosphere relaxed and pleasant. I personally like the calamari, lasagna, mussels and fresh salads. Don't forget to try the creme brulee...yummy with fresh whipped cream. If you are looking for authentic Italian in a town that mostly consists of chain restaurants, Alodia's is the place to dine.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My recent visit”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

What should you expect if you visit Alodia's? Well, great food. They have a small but diverse menu. I like it because if you want to have a big meal you can, or if your not trying to break the bank they have great options also. They stay true to their Italian roots but serve some delicious pork, beef and seafood dishes. This is not a chain, it feels like you are invited guest of the owners. Food quality is excellent, service is spot on and your are supporting a local family business. If you are trying for the first time, it is easier to get in on Saturday nights. Friday nights fill up fast. They do have a small bar area to wait for a table. We have met some nice people, and had some fun.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
1 review
“excellent food and great service”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We visited Alodia's again within a two week period and we equally pleased with our first visit. The food is great and tastes fresh. The service was excellent as well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clemsondad21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I mostly dined the Sunday brunch but we do that at least twice a month. We found Alodia's while in the area and looking for a place for a quick bite. We were so impressed that we return 2 - 3 times a month for the brunch. The menu offers a variety of fine dining options that burst with flavor. They offer alcoholic beverages - the mimosa with Sunday brunch is an excellent choice. We often see families and couples dining there to celebrate special events.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alodia's also viewed

 

Been to Alodia's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing