We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty awful room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Ft. Jackson
Ranked #75 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Longview, Washington
Level Contributor
241 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Pretty awful room”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were soaked and tired when we stopped at this motel. Didn't expect too awfully much, because of the price, but the outside area looked very nice.

But the room we were given was pretty awful. Many of the lights didn't work, the bathroom was not clean and had mold growing, the television was old with faded, blurry color, and the smoke detector was removed, leaving an open hole with wires hanging out of the wall. There were no hand towels in the room, and we were afraid to walk around without shoes.

The staff was very nice, but seemed oblivious to the condition of the place. We won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melindamccrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    11
    10
    21
See reviews for
16
8
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ossian, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Find' t expect much for the price, but was pleasantly surprised! Bed linens and towels were very nice and clean. Flat screen TV on wall was great! Request for extension cord was met. We're given plates and utensils and coffee and use of the breakfast area for a small family gathering for our military Grandson to get to eat his favorite cheesecake his Mom had made and brought from Indiana!!
Continental breakfast was good including waffles and bananas!
Only complaint, carpets were dirty and bathrooms could be updated!
Was very close to Fort Jackson and food!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy D, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Ft. Jackson, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Shirley,

First & foremost, please tell your grandson congratulations! Graduating from Fort Jackson is an incredible accomplishment and we are so glad that you decided to stay with us at the EconoLodge Inn & Suites during your trip to Columbia for a family celebration at the graduation ceremony! Thank you very much for your feedback about our Hotel We appreciate the compliments about our clean beds, linen, towels and helpful Front Desk. I will definitely discuss your positive comments with our staff We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our close proximity to Fort Jackson & restaurants in the area, In regards to the carpets & bathrooms, we are in the process of updating them. We really appreciate the business and hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you & your family soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2013

First room I was booked into had a deficient air conditioner. Notified front desk and that individual came to inspect unit; like I was fabricating a story. After his failure to repair I was moved to another room. A/C was turned off and it took three hours for room to cool down.

Rooms are outdated and dirty with visable signs of distress. Stepped in a big pile of something on the carpet which was sticky. Shower heads are 2.5 GPM low flow however they are cacked with deposits so water only trickles out. The list goes on.

I have stayed at $50/night hotels much nicer than this one. The owners of this hotel are the typical people who will spend very little for upkeep but rake in the money. Being near Ft Jackson they are almost guaranteed twice a week to sell out rooms. Don't fall for the trap, go somewhere else. Oh and how could I forget the trains speeding past the hotel all through the night a mere 30 yards away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy D, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Ft. Jackson, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Luke,

Thank you for taking the time to report your concerns & dissatisfaction regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Roy D'Souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Room was very clean, great service nice king size bed wall mounted LCD tv had a great time here, if you need a very affordable motel with great service.bed was very comfortable and breakfast was free and good, I would recommend this motel, and would stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy D, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Ft. Jackson, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Steve,

Thank you for taking the time to report your positive experience regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Roy D'Souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Do not stay here! Horrible smell, one of those places that you would rather sleep in a car. Comforter had pieces of something on it. Blanket had burnholes in it. Trim was falling off the walls in bathroom. If free, still wouldn't stay here. Guy at front counter was behind bullet-proof glass.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoPack13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have stayed here several times and every stay has been great. The rooms are clean beds are comfortable and for 50 $ it is ecomonic worthy. If you are passing through not bad on the pockets. The front staff is helpful and what made me come back was the gentleman that always says "My pleasure." Respect goes along way with me and I appreciate anyone going out of there way to make sure I am taken care of.

Room Tip: Don't judge a book by its cover. It never hurts to take a look at a room before you make a decis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I've stayed here for awhile while transitioning between homes. I find the hotel a great value with a large room and a comfortable bed.

The rooms are comfortable and clean. It is an older hotel, so there will be imperfections that may make for an appearance that the place isn't real clean. I have seen staff put a lot of effort into cleaning and upkeep - both inside and outside of the rooms. The breakfast room is clean.

Weekends can be busy and a bit noisy. If there are any disturbances, they are taken care of promptly and appropriately.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia Northeast-Fort Jackson Area
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia
Comfort Suites Columbia
#22 of 94 in Columbia
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Columbia East - Ft Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Fort Jackson
Quality Inn Fort Jackson
#56 of 94 in Columbia
62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbia Northeast
0.3 mi away
Ramada Columbia Fort Jackson Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Ft. Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Ft. Jackson

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Ft. Jackson
Address: 7700 Two Notch Rd, Columbia, SC 29223-6224 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites® Ft. Jackson hotel is conveniently located between Interstate 77 and Interstate 20, just minutes from Fort Jackson Army Training Center. This Columbia, SC hotel is close to popular area attractions like Riverbanks Zoo and Garden, University of South Carolina, South Carolina State Museum and the Carolina Coliseum.Additional points of interest include Williams-Brice Stadium, South Carolina Confederate Relic Room and Museum, Historic Columbia House Museums, the Ira & Nancy Koger Center for the Arts and the Columbia Fire Department Museum. The Columbia Metropolitan Airport is 20 miles away.Visitors will enjoy shopping at nearby Columbiana Centre. Nearby Sesquicentennial State Park offers nature trails, fishing, swimming and canoeing. Golf courses, putting greens and driving ranges are within six miles. A wide variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area.This Columbia, SC hotel offers amenities and features, including free continental breakfast and free coffee. Guests will also enjoy relaxing in the seasonal outdoor pool.Business travelers will appreciate modern conveniences like free high-speed Internet access in all rooms, work desks and access to fax services.All spacious guest rooms come equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. Microwave and refrigerator rentals are available. Handicap accessible and non-smoking rooms are available.Corporate and group rates are available. Ample bus parking is located on the property.Whether traveling to Columbia for business, pleasure or just passing through, the Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Ft. Jackson in Columbia is the place for you. We are dedicated to providing our guests with the utmost customer service at reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Ft. Jackson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ft Jackson
Columbia Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing