We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - thanks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - North
Ranked #41 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Reviewed January 21, 2011

Wonderful;, spacy and clean room, helpful and friendly staffm good location are all factors that have contributed to make this a great stay.
The only downside is that the wi-fi internet connection is sometimes weeakm slow or erratic from my room

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discriminate59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8105hotelgm, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - North, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2011

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are very delighted you enjoyed your stay with our spacious, refreshed guest rooms plus 36" televisions. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 297 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2011

We booked this hotel to attend a retirement party for a family member being held nearby. We were happy that we were able to check-in early & were surprised to see the accommodations. Location is perfect to go to the mall & other restaurants in the area. Plan to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ah3bh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8105hotelgm, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - North, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2011

Thank you! We are very happy you were pleased with our refreshed, spacious guest rooms, comfortable, pillow top mattresses, work stations and socket lamps making it convenient to plug in your accessories. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

The service and room were excellent. The facility is new or newly renovated with all modern amenities. It is near many restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buffalo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

As a frequent business traveler the Holiday Inn North management and staff have created a hotel environment that exceeds every level of customer service in the hotel industry. This hotel meets all the criteria for location, amenities, service, and hospitality for families and business travelers alike. I recommend the Holiday Inn to anyone looking for quality accomodations and excellent service and I challenge any business traveler who works in Fort Jackson S.C. area to show me a better hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank igoplaces123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Checked into the hotel and paid $96.57 CASH for a one night stay but was told that the $50 incidental fees would have to be charged on my credit card but would be removed after checking out! Ok so I gave the young girl my credit card as she was also dealing with the person she checked in before me that she put in an already occupied room. The next morning as I was looking at the bill they placed under the door I noticed they politely charged my credit card for the total price of the room and took my cash!!! I went down to the front desk and the young lady gave me a receipt with a credit on it but 3 days later I noticed that the transaction was completed on my credit card and there were still pending charges for $50.00 and another for $46.57 which is the total price of the room. So I know paid $289.71 for a one night stay at this hotel! I called and talked to a manager that politely said she did see the mistake and would credit my card back. A few minutes later I noticed another CHARGE (not refund) on my card for $96.57. I am now still waiting on all my refunds to hit my account while I am out almost $300.00 because of their screw up!!! Oh but I was offered a free night stay at their hotel! UNACCEPTABLE!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Service
3  Thank kimaltizer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8105hotelgm, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - North, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2011

Thank you for staying with us during your visit. We apologize for the challenges you faced with our credit card services. Since your stay, we have expanded our services to inform all of our guests, in detail, about debit card authorization holds that are placed at the time of check in on guests debit cards. We are hoping this explanation will be more accommodating for our guests. We truly appreciate you for taking the time to bring the issue to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

I'm generally loyal to Hilton and Marriott hotels, but I was traveling with extended family to attend my son's graduation from Basic Training at Fort Jackson. My sister booked this hotel and we assumed it would be another typical Holiday Inn.

This was nothing like any Holiday Inn that I've stayed at before. This hotel is obviously newly rennovated. The interior is ultra modern and appealing in a simplistic way. The colors are in earth tones of browns, tan and greens. The beds were awesome.

Although they did not have connecting rooms, the staff accommodated our request to have rooms next door to each other. The rooms are comfortable with a desk, a large flat screen tv, and plenty of drawer space. There was also a coffee pot with fixings to make yourself a pot of coffee. I personally liked that the bathroom amenities were from Body and Bath and smelled wonderful.

I didn't use the fitness center or the pool as our time was full, but I did check out the fitness room. There were not a lot of exercise machines in there, but the room was bright and the equipment was all modern.

I did use the Business Center to get on the internet. There were two computer in there, one was a PC and one was a MAC. Plus a printer, fax, etc. No password was needed, you can just sit down and launch the internet.

I spent two nights in this hotel and was not at all disappointed. It far surpassed my expectations. It was also a convenient location to Fort Jackson.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pipermama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Booked through priceline. Arrived to find a VERY clean room, and the beds were awesome. We stayed two nights, and wish we could have taken the bed home. Large flatscreen TV. Hotel had obviously been newly renovated. Entire hotel was in excellent shape. Services were top notch. You will not go wrong in booking this hotel........

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REBELJOHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia
Comfort Suites Columbia
#21 of 93 in Columbia
189 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia / Northeast
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia Northeast-Fort Jackson Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Columbia-Ft. Jackson
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia North East
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - North

Address: 8105 Two Notch Rd, Columbia, SC 29223-6375
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Columbia
#25 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: $99 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - North 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Columbia, SC hotel offers location on major highways! Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Columbia North. Our hotel is located near the intersection of I-20 and I-77, with easy access to all of Columbia's attractions and businesses. Guests of our Columbia, South Carolina hotel can experience area attractions that the whole family can enjoy. You can spend an entire day viewing the wildlife at the Riverbanks Zoo or enjoy shopping at the Village at Sandhill or Columbia Mall. Other attractions within 10 miles of our hotel include the State Museum, Sesquicentennial State Park and the Plex Indoor Sports Complex. If you're traveling on business, you can enjoy our location in Columbia. Our hotel is within 10 miles of many area corporations and businesses, including several hospitals, the University of South Carolina, Blue Cross and Blue Shield, Trane, Target and Fort Jackson Army Base. In addition, the Columbia Metro Airport (CAE) is just 19 miles from our hotel in Columbia, South Carolina. With a variety of comfortable amenities, you never have to leave our hotel. Guests can enjoy all of their meals from our restaurant, coffee shop or lounge. We have your comfort in mind with amenities such as a new fitness center, an outdoor pool, high-speed, wired & wireless Internet access, a snack shop and extensive meeting rooms. Book your Columbia, South Carolina hotel reservations now to enjoy our great rooms, rates and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites - North
Columbia Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing