We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
Ranked #14 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We chose this hotel for convenience because we were touring the University of South Carolina and the surrounding area. We were pleased to find the room very clean and updated. The food offered at breakfast was fresh and replenished often. The staff was very polite and helpful and the hotel was convenient to the school and surrounding sights. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillColaSC, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Jenny W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself and will recommend us to others. That is our pay off for a great experience! Thank you for choosing us for your hotel needs.

Sincerely,
Jacob Toda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 379 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in April 2012 and again in April 2014 and we plan to return. It is a nice hotel, very clean, large well lighted parking, and close to downtown and some good restaurants. The desk staff was very friendly and helpful on both of our visits. A breakfast buffet is included, but we were in a hurry and it did not look like anything special, so we skipped it.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank John48162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillColaSC, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear John48162,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a great review. I am happy to hear that the staff was friendly on both visits spanning two years! Thank you for choosing us for your hotel needs while in Columbia and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Jacob Toda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed here for a week. The hotel has a modern feel / design to it. The toilet is in a different room from the shower. I found this a plus for 2 or more people staying in a room. The only down sides that I found were 1) The shower door didn't shut all the way so it leaked onto the floor. 2) There is an inch gap between the hallway door and the floor. It lets a lot of light through. If you are light sensitive you will need to block this with a towel or something similar.

Location - The hotel is only 2 - 4 blocks from some good places to eat at night. There is also a grocery store right across the street.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the parking lot are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burnboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillColaSC, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Burnboy,

Thank you for choosing us for your hotel needs while here in Columbia and thank you for taking the time to give us a great rating! Come back and see us anytime!

Sincerely,

Jacob Toda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a very nice hotel, however my night stay there was ruined by a busload of fraternity and sorority kids getting their alcohol prime for the Carolina Cup in Camden the next day. Please beware: dont stay here during the Carolina Cup.
Kids were talking in the hall, banging on doors, and slamming doors well beyond midnight, then up at 6:00 am with the music blaring, slaming doors again.
They were walking up and down the halls with open beer cans and bottles of wine. It looked like the hotel was turning a blind eye to underaged drinking, but I did not check ids. The hotel management did nothing to quiet them or stop the problem, and in fact the group returned for Saturday night as well.
Very nice hotel with very poor management and no leadership.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillColaSC, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Don C.
Thank you for speaking with me over the phone regarding your stay. I hope through our correspondence you feel assured that what your experience is very far from a typical weekend here in Columbia. I had no problem whatsoever refunding the total amount of your stay. I couldn't expect anyone to pay having the experience you did. As summer approaches, hotels are challenged as the variety of guest broadens. Weddings, bachelor parties and rambunctious kids are always a challenge!! I'm sorry the noise and chaos effected your stay.
I hope that in the future you will look to us again.

Sincerely,

Jacob Toda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here on a family road trip. Great neighborhood with lots of trendy bars, restaurants and shops. Room was spacious. Not having a bath tub was a bummer, so keep that in mind if you have young kids. Breakfast was typical hotel fate, but it got the job done.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Florida G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillColaSC, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Florida G,

Thank you for choosing us for your lodging needs while passing through on your road trip. I hope the trip was a success and that we’ll see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Jacob Toda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

As with most Marriott properties, spotlessly clean for the most part
Fresh smelling
Above and beyond service- great service at front desk
Good food
Comfortable & relaxing
Great work housekeeping department
good locale minutes walk from great restaurants

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcsst9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillColaSC, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Mcsst9,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We certainly appreciate the nice comments. I'll be sure to pass them along to the rest of our staff. We hope you'll come and see us the next time you are in Columbia!

Sincerely,
Audra Wood
Guest Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Clean throughout.... Nice indoor pool.... Bar in the evenings... Nice light breakfast... Close to everything downtown (convention center, USC, etc), but closest to the arts area aka Vista... SC State museum and Edventure center are across the street. Highly recommend... Will return!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillColaSC, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Christian B,

I'm so glad you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. Thank you for your positive feedback! I'm happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of some of the local attractions. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Audra Wood
Guest Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
0.5 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 93 in Columbia
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista

Address: 511 Lady St, Columbia, SC 29201-3015 (Formerly SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Columbia
#23 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: $144 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbia Downtown Hotel Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing