We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
Ranked #14 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I stayed overnight (10/13/11) at the Springhill Suites in the Vista district of downtown Columbia, SC.

I was pretty pleased with the experience. The room was large with a comfy bed. All the fixtures were very modern (sliding glass bathroom doors, etc). There are two distinct areas in the room: a living area with a couch and a work space along with small kitchenette (refridgerator/microwave/coffee maker). Beyond the barrier is the bedroom that features a separate toilet "room" with sink and a separate room with a full glass shower and sink.

The high speed internet was fine, but is free only for 24 hours. To access a so-called higher speed for the length of your stay is $7.95/day. Kind of a rip off if you ask me.

I was also not pleased to have an additional "hold" put on my check card for $30. They do inform you at the desk, but geez, when did it become OK for hotels to do this? It's pretty maddening, especially if you're being reimbursed for charges by your company instead of being on a per-diem.

The hot breakfast was so-so. The eggs and hashbrowns were gross! But the bacon and waffles were nice.

I can say that the bar lady went above and beyond while I was there. I had purchased a cupcake for dessert from a bakery in the Vista and wanting some milk to go with it, I went down to the small "store" in the lobby. There was no milk to be had so I went over to the bar on a whim. The bartender very nicely retrieved me a small carton of milk from the breakfast area for no charge. So snaps to her.

Overall, I would stay in a Springhill Suites again.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for an upper floor on the parking lot side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldhousejunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 387 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2011

I stay at a lot of Marriott hotels for work and play. This is by far the best SpringHill I've stayed at. My fiance and I were in town for the USC/Navy game, so I figured we'd give this one a try since other reviews said that it was a nice, new place.

The place is surprisingly spacious and very modern. Our room was very nice, although the air conditioner was a bit over-zealous. The free hot breakfast was better than most I've had in the past (waffle makers!) and free wi-fi always rocks.

For price/Marriott point value, I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colinc88d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Convenient location in the Vista area of Columbia. Nice looking hotel on the inside (outside kind of looks like a hospital). Rooms are nicely decorated, as is the breakfast/bar area. Hot breakfast is pretty typical (scrambled eggs, sausage patty, waffles). Plus is the AC was controlled by an actual thermostat, not a dial on the window unit.

The negatives are the quality of the towels (cheap, sandpapery). While the AC was very powerful and cold, it also caused cold drafts around the bed (unit is located adjacent to bed under the window). The advertised free wireless internet service in the room is pretty much a bait and switch advertising. What they don't tell you is speed is limited to 768k unless you pay extra, so don't plan on uploading pictures to get printed, or emailing a file over a MB or two.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tom r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Perfect location for visiting college students. We love that we can park our car (free) at night and walk to all the restaurants in the Vista. Loved that the front desk gal recommended the riverwalk to us one afternoon when we were looking for something to fill an hour. Love that the bathrooms have a separation between toilet and shower. Ample relaxation space and desktop space. LOVE that there is a no charge fridge too. Very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DebbieTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Like other new/renovated Marriott propertied, this SpringHill suites gives Hampton Inn a run for its money. The room was very spacious and well appointed with attractive furniture and comfortable beds. The air conditioner worked like a charm which is very important in South Carolina! All the staff at the hotel was super friendly and helpful!!!!

The lobby was attractive, the breakfast better than your average free breakfast. There is a fitness room, free business/computer station. Was a wonderful visit.

My only complaint would be the lack of a 24 hour beverage station which is pretty standard in a hotel like this. But that's not a deal breaker.

There are plenty of places to eat nearby - also a Publix grocery store - all within walking distance

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carnation400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Great location close to several restaurants and businesses. The hotel is clean and modern in every way. The helpfulness of the staff varies, several desk personnel were very friendly and helpful. The check in and check out experience left a lot to be desired. I was told to “wait” on a room after arriving at 1:30 M on Sunday afternoon. I requested early check in on my reservation. The clerk suggested I visit a reaturant in the area to pass the time. Considering the amount of money I spend this with this chain, I was not impressed. Clerks on duty throughout the week were very helpful nice and honest. The hotel is close to a Publix, easy entry and exit, etc. The check out experience on Friday morning was similar to the check in experience, rude desk help when I requested a late checkout of 1:00 PM. Breakfast was average , fresh waffles, frozen eggs, etc. If you can avoid certain employees a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OCCTRAVELE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Modern, clean and uncomplicated rooms. Unexpectedly serene for a downtown location. Very close to chic vibe of shops and restaurants nearby on Gervais street one block over from hotel. Full service Grocery Store just across the alley-way was ideal for a family visit. Modest hike (and I mean hike) or a very short drive up the hill to the State Capitol and USC campus. Perfect location for a visit to USC. Felt very safe the entire time we wandered around town. Free breakfast always a plus when travelling with kids.

Room Tip: Stop by Wet Willie's just up the hill on Gervais for a frozen drink...one is all you'll need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueswriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
0.5 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#9 of 93 in Columbia
951 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.7 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#22 of 93 in Columbia
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista

Address: 511 Lady St, Columbia, SC 29201-3015 (Formerly SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Columbia
#20 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: $147 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbia Downtown Hotel Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing