We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow ! ”
Review of Solstice Kitchen

Solstice Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Solstice Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 996 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Clemson Road
Description: Our cuisine can be labeled many things, but it is most definitely seasonal. Our service is professional, yet far from stuffy. Our décor is modern, yet simple, and our wine list is extensive. Perhaps most important of all, everyone from our servers and bartenders, to our chefs and management, are among the most dedicated service industry professionals in our community.
Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

Our son and his wife could not wait to take us here when we came in town. The food, service and atmosphere were amazing. Highly recommend the Mac and cheese and the pork shoulder. The cheese plate appetizer was also enjoyable .

Thank nursegretel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 196 of 357 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

We were greeted with Southern hospitality and seated within minutes of our arrival . Katie our server was very pleasant and attentive. Everything arrived at our table with perfect timing and absolutely delicious .We began with cocktails, appetizers then entrée. A perfect evening at Columbia's local gem!

Thank ShayPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

My wife and I have gone here for the past few years for our anniversary, and have always enjoyed the food.
On our last visit, August 16, we have decided to not frequent the establishment again. Not because of the food but due to the atmosphere, and in particular, the front desk people.
We had called for reservations a week ahead of time and the booker had seen we had been there many times before, and would make sure they would know it was our anniversary and provide some privacy.
When we arrived the greeter engaged in conversation with a friend for quite a while before seating us....this was at 6pm and far from busy. She tried to get us to sit in a booth less than 3 feet from another couple, hardly private, so we requested and received a 2 person table along a wall.
While enjoying our appetizers she then seated next to us a very loud young woman less than 4 feet from us who was waiting for a friend. While trying to eat our entrée we had to listen to the screamer next to us (while her friend looker embarrassed). This was not necessary as there were plenty of tables available, and basically ruined our meal.
Too bad as they have good food, and pretentions to be high end dining, but....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank xinloi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

My mother and sisters came to town for my birthday weekend. We dined here the first night, after I reviewed the trip advisor resturant reviews for the area and noticed it was ranked # two in the city. The wait wasn't very long. Since the weather was pleasant, we ordered wine from the bar and waited outside. There wasn't much in the way of seating, and it smelled of cigarartess, so I'm guessing that's were the smokers hange out. I'm not a smoker. I didn't appeciate the smell. A large amount of outdoor seating doesn't seem to be necessary, but it would be great if there were a little bit more. We were seated in the dimly lit dining room, jazz playing in the background and other dinners buzzing in conversation. It was a cozy, warm atmosphere. We watched the plates of others as we viewed the menu. All four of us douns something that peeked our interest enough for us to order it, even the vegan in the group. The food was a bit salty, but other than that, all were fairly pleased w/ their selection, despite small servings and large price tags. I wouldn't go again, but I'm happy I had the one experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dealeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gamecock00, Owner at Solstice Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

thank you for your review. we are very sorry that the cigarette smoke was an issue upon your arrival. We do not allow smoking on our patio area, but we cannot control those persons who choose to smoke in the area surrounding the building. But yes, we are very happy that smoking was banned WITHIN restaurants and bars years ago, so at least we aren't dealing with that anymore.

As for your experience while dining, we are sorry that you felt portions to be too small (havent heard that one many times over the years) and the price tags high.
i can assure you that we do not charge one dollar over what is necessary to keep sales at a manageable point.
I would also point out that we are among one of Columbia's better restaurants, and we remain on the lower end of prices when considering our competition.

As for your issue with the salt, we apologize if things came a touch salty for your taste. As is often the case with some diners, the seasoning we use is a kosher salt, as opposed to the more bland Iodized salt. It can sometimes come across a touch "stronger", but salt is the single most important seasoning for certain meats, proteins, etc...so hopefully it wasnt overbearing.

We look forward to seeing you if you are in the area again!
One trip to Solstice is NOT enough!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Excellent atmosphere.The jazz music, seating arrangement, lighting, and settings were nice. The free horderves provided by the chef was excellent. The hot bread and creamy butter were great. Presentation of the food was great. The presentation did not mean a small portion either. I enjoyed the deviled eggs. Finally the entree, potroast, mashed potatoes, onion rings, and string beans were cooked perfect. The pot roast was so tender and the string beans were seasoned and cooked perfectly. Truly enjoyed this restaurant...Will definitely go again..Hope deserts are great....Can't wait to find out on my next visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lashawn1929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solstice Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Solstice Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing