We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good local Zoo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Garden

Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Garden
Ranked #1 of 108 things to do in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Riverbanks Zoo and Garden is home to nearly 2,000 animals that represent more than 350 species from around the world. A visit to the Zoo will play host to an array of wild adventures from a diving expedition on a Pacific coral reef to a safari through the plains of Africa to an interactive Outback encounter with a flock of sociable lorikeets. The Botanical Garden boasts 70-acres of unparalleled beauty and is considered one of the America's best public gardens. Dramatic and themed gardens showcase more than 4,300 species of native and exotic plants, providing a living classroom for gardeners and non-gardeners alike. The Garden also is the gateway to natural river views and spectacular valley overlooks. In addition, guests can view structural remains dating back to the early 1800s with South Carolina's textile industry and the Civil War.
Aiken, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good local Zoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Zoo is first rate with a lot of new exhibits including gorilla and elephant. In the spring the gardens are magnificent a the bridge from the zoo to the gardens over the river is a great sight

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,469
    492
    112
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
132 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Kid Friendly Zoo~”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

I love this zoo. There are so much more to do than just walk through and see the animals. You can walk through the Kangaroo walkabout - we were maybe 3 feet from the kangaroos with no fence in between. If you go in the morning - for a small fee you can feed the giraffes, you can purchase a small cup of nectar and feed the lorikeets. there are lots of "presentations" - birds, gorillas, penguins, so on, pony rides, farm area. It is great because the zoo is laid out in a loop so you can start at one end and see everything and never have to back track. It is big enough to have a lot of animals, but not so big that it takes an entire day to get through. I have been many times, but this time my favorite was the baby koala, still in her mama's pouch. Such a delight to be able to see!! Weekends are kind of busy, so go during the week if you can.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsy_0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love our zoo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

This zoo has a wonderful combination of garden, greenery, and animal habitats. If you live close and love animals, we recommend a membership, so you can easily come any time and catch the animals at different times of the day to see even more activity. Even if you're just visiting, though, I think you'll enjoy this zoo experience! They also have a nice Christmas light show there.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank blueeyes921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
110 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

A group of us were down on business and had a few hours to kill before our next meeting and we heard so much about the zoo we decided on this destination. It was a great place for anyone and the price is definately worth it.

There was so much to see and great to just stroll from habitat to habitat. I wished some of the animals like the elephants had a larger area for themselves. Had some of the habitats been larger I probably would have rated this attraction a 5.

The zoo is a nice size, definately doable in a few hours. There is also a garden area where there are some civil war buildings on site but I did not venture to that area of the park. I would have enjoyed a more interactive experince if there was a spot to pet and feed some animals. I'm a big kid and love animals. Even though I have been there before, I would definately revisit again.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Talonrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No 1 attraction in Columbia & SC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Great exhibits. Halloween & Xmas events great, but crowded (come early)

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank USA_Traveler_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing