We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“honest review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carolina University Inn
Ranked #76 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Reviewed July 23, 2007

for the price, could be better.
the rooms were dated. only thing was good was that the pillows were just right, and that the bedheads and furniture seems new.
the carpet was dinghy, and the toilet needed servicing everyday.
the towels that they put out, were also dirty, so check before u use.
the shower had a bit of mold. all they needed was to spray bleach on it.
lobby was nice, but the rooms were old.

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank erlich5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 183 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2007

I recently stayed at the hotel for a family memebers wedding. The rooms are very outdated and "worn". Furtniture had lots of dings and scratches. . The price was not equal to the room. Still I tried to keep an open mind. The function I attended was nice. I actually called the sales office a few days later to inquire about availabilty for an event I am holding next year. After several calls to a gentleman in the sales office, I gave up...he never returned my calls!! So, after that and the condition of the rooms I would never us this place again!!!! Obviously they don't need my business

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JWery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2007

Carpet dingy, long black hair in bathroom, mold in bathtub, stained furniture - description on Expedia is that this place was "recently renovated" - if that is correct - I can't imagine what it looked like before. Called for a wake up call - never happened.
Description was 3 Stars. As usual lobby was beautiful - must have been what was renovated.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2007

The main hotel was great. Rooms were very clean and nice. The parking was horrible and my 12 year old daughter and I were alone and required to park in a Law Firm parking lot about two blocks from the entrance. This hotel has many local functions on the weekends so keep that in mind when booking. They do not issue parking passes for guests staying at the hotel so parking is usually full. I expressed at check in and several times during our stay how dangerous it is to have guests walking that far with no security in downtown Columbia. It would be a good idea to give registered guests a parking pass with priority to the parking lot at the hotel. The employees were more than helpful and friendly. The breakfast at Caroline's (restaurant on site) was delicious although I am wondering why my cc was charged $18.01 when I signed a receipt for $15.01 and left $3.00 in cash on the table for a tip. Not sure that I will check into that as it is only $3.00. We were in town for a cheerleading competition and did hear complaints from other parents about the Townhouse portion of the hotel. I did not view any of those rooms but did request to be in the main building. Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbsummergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2007

My best friend & I were in town, to see John Mayer on 2/8/07 @ the Civic Center. We travelled from NC. Never been to Columbia, so this was a first.
The Clarion Townhouse Hotel surpassed my expectations. The room was very clean! The thermostat was right on. The queen sized bed was oh so comfy as well as the pillows. The remote to the TV was NOT bolted to the nightstand!
Check-in was a breeze.
This hotel has a restaurant on premise, which was a plus, because when I called the hotel, they gave me 2 vouchers for Free Breakfast. They also have happy hour @ the bar from 4-6 with free hor dourves, so as we enjoyed a glass of wine, we munched on pizza that was delicious. So actually we paid for NO food our for our entire stay, which was excellent!
By the way the bartender's name was Christy and she was an asset to this hotel chain! She was so friendly and entertaining! She deserves a raise. You could tell the regulars loved her as well.
The staff called cabs for us John Mayer concert goers.
This would be the only "complaint" that I may have had. They had a shuttle van that they would not use to carry all of the people to the Civic center for the concert. They were probably around 30+ people. Seems like we all could have pitched in to rent the shuttle instead of all having to pay Taxi fares. But that like I said that would be the only "complaint".
This staff went above and beyond my expectations!
Rosa the cleaning lady was also helpful.
If I am ever in Columbia, SC again, I will most definitely stay at the Clarion Townhouse hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bornredprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2006

Location was perfect--we were in town for a college tour of USC. The staff was very friendly and helpful with suggestions and directions. Room was decent size and clean. Furniture and bedding could use some updating as it was showing some wear. Ordered room service for breakfast and it was very good and inexpensive. For the price this hotel was okay and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DixieSherri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2006

Front desk very friendly, helpful, clean, looks nice BUT cold.
Once entered room we realized why the hotel was so cold.
There must have been some extensive water damage at hotel. carpet had water damage and very,very moldy, misty feel to room. When i told front desk about the problem they where more than happy to help; only that was impossible because the entire hotel had a mold smell to it. I asked another guest if their room was damp. They chuckled and said "it sure is! makes it hard for our under garments to dry"!. I would not return and would not recommend hotel. mold and dampness is not a good thing!

Stayed: September 2006
2  Thank bowdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
1.5 mi away
Gallus Stadium Park Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
0.7 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#9 of 93 in Columbia
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#27 of 93 in Columbia
624 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina University Inn

Address: 1615 Gervais St, Columbia, SC 29201-3413 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Downtown)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range: $109 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carolina University Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Carolina University Inn located in the heart of Downtown Columbia. Travelers of all needs can take advantage of our one of a kind property located in the business, financial, and entertainment district of downtown Columbia. Unique local restaurants, boutique shopping, and exciting night life are all located within a one mile radius. The brand new USC Law School opening in Fall of 2017 is just across the street from the hotel's front door and a short walk from where you can discover everything the University of South Carolina campus has to offer. We take great pride in our Gamecocks here in Columbia. Williams Brice Stadium is a short 2.9 mile drive where you will experience college football here in Gamecock Country! Breathtaking views of the South Carolina State House are blocks away on Gervais Street. The South Carolina State Museum and Museum of Art are conveniently located downtown offering a taste of our local culture. Take the family on a delightful educational adventure to the Riverbanks Zoo and Garden or the Edventure Children's Museum, both located within 5 miles of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Carolina University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Columbia
Clarion Columbia
Columbia Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing