We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Redeemed by Great Customer Service--Marred by irresponsiblity”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carolina University Inn
Ranked #76 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Texas
1 review
“Redeemed by Great Customer Service--Marred by irresponsiblity”
Reviewed March 5, 2010

I was on a trip to a conference held at the Clarion Downtown Hotel in Columbia, South Carolina. I missed my initial flight scheduled to arrive at 5pm and called the hotel at 3pm to inform them that I would be on a later flight arriving at 11pm. The office clerk informed me that the shuttle stops running at 10pm so I would need to take a taxi. So far so good. Little did I know that upon my arrival at 11pm my reservation was canceled. If it was not for the kind words, patience and professionalism of Veronica, Clarion Downtown would have lost not only my business in the future, but that of my university.

Recommended on the redeeming graces of Veronica.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_Phd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    32
    41
    40
    47
See reviews for
50
25
13
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2010

Can't explained how nice and clean the hotel is, the service was excellent, late breakfast on the weekend until 2 am, parking is good, I will stay there every time I come to SC

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfolgueira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2009

My daughter graduated from the University of South Carolina and we had 14 people for which accomodations were necessary. The staff at the Clarion was great! They provided transportation for our entire group to graduation and to dinner. We also ate in the restaurant and the staff and food were great--and affordable. Everyone in our party was talking about how nicely they had been treated by the staff. I would definitely stay there again. The rooms were good sized, clean, and the lobby provided a cozy spot for our group to visit without trying to get everyone into one of the rooms. Thank you Clarion, for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank broomel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
summerville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2009

I stayed here for 3 nights. This was an extemely home feel hotel. The staff was incredible and very friendly. There are some really nice exterior corridor rooms but they actually look porch entrance rooms. And they are budget friendly as well. The restaurant serves a cool 10pm to 2am Fri /Sat breakfast buffet. It was great for a late night meal.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarrieS09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2009

Nothing impressed me about this hotel though nothing really horrified me either. Half of the hotel is motel-style rooms with outside entrances and half is in a big central building. I stayed in a motel-style room and it was a bit disappointing. I never had very much hot water (showers ranged from tepid to just barely warm enough, never hot). The water pressure in the sink was quite low and never ran cold (so if you wanted to drink it, it was always kind of warm). The drop down ceiling tiles over the shower were somewhat water-stained; also there were stains on the bathroom floor. None of this was really gross and horrifying but neither did it feel like I was staying at a nice hotel.

The bed was pretty comfortable with nice pillows. There was free internet that worked fairly well. It is an easy walk to downtown, the legislature, and the USC campus.

I suspect the rooms in the main building are better. My friends who stayed there said they never had water problems. Also I suspect its quieter in that building -- the parking lot got a bit loud in the mornings with kids, and cars, and suitcase rolling by. So you might try to request the main building.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tokoloshgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2009

This was our second time staying at this Clarion. We are now VERY big Choice hotels fans. Because of our Costco membership, we get 10% off rooms at their hotels.

The bed is very soft and the pillows and comforter are heaven. The room is huge! We love the in-room breakfast choices available ($6.00-$12.00 range) and delivered exactly when you want it. I love opening my eyes and having breakfast-in-bed delivered to my door within five minutes! We always order the "American" and can never finish it all: eggs how you like them, bacon or sausage, toast, and breakfast potatos, juice and coffee.

I only have two complaints about this hotel. 1) our room was super clean, but when we opened the door we were assaulted by a waft of perfumey air freshener which faded after a couple of hours, 2) The front desk staff was rushed and not very attentive, due to understaffing.

I would recommend anyone stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GapCreekGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2008

I stayed at the Clarion for a conference and had a very nice experience. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

The hotel a few blocks from the state capitol but it is a healthy walk to any restaurants. We arrived in the pouring rain without a car. The hotel shuttle (which was waiting for us at the airport even though we were delayed) was not available, so we got pretty wet going out for dinner. There isn't any real shopping in the area, although they are trying to revitalize the city.

The shuttle was not available for our return trip to the airport, so the hotel ordered a paid for a taxi, which was a very nice touch.

  • Liked — helpful staff and clean room
  • Disliked — location and no views
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank speechdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown
0.8 mi away
Aloft Columbia Downtown
Aloft Columbia Downtown
#25 of 94 in Columbia
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
0.2 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.7 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 94 in Columbia
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina University Inn

Property: Carolina University Inn
Address: 1615 Gervais St, Columbia, SC 29201-3413 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Downtown)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carolina University Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Carolina University Inn located in the heart of Downtown Columbia. Travelers of all needs can take advantage of our one of a kind property located in the business, financial, and entertainment district of downtown Columbia. Unique local restaurants, boutique shopping, and exciting night life are all located within a one mile radius. The brand new USC Law School opening in Fall of 2017 is just across the street from the hotel's front door and a short walk from where you can discover everything the University of South Carolina campus has to offer. We take great pride in our Gamecocks here in Columbia. Williams Brice Stadium is a short 2.9 mile drive where you will experience college football here in Gamecock Country! Breathtaking views of the South Carolina State House are blocks away on Gervais Street. The South Carolina State Museum and Museum of Art are conveniently located downtown offering a taste of our local culture. Take the family on a delightful educational adventure to the Riverbanks Zoo and Garden or the Edventure Children's Museum, both located within 5 miles of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Reservation Counter, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carolina University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Columbia
Clarion Columbia
Columbia Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing