We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for USC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carolina University Inn
Ranked #75 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Located within a walking distance of USC.Has plenty of parking space.
Rooms are very dull and look very old and jaded- saw a few cockroaches miving around.
The furniture and the tv are from the past generation.Beds are soft and comfortable.There is no
Refrigerature provided but there is a coffee maker.
The breakfast is charged 9$ with coffee poured charged extra.
Free wifi internet is provide but you have to move around to check where you can get the reception.

Room Tip: Dont know if any room has any advantage!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashokbhanage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Carolina University Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 183 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayedin one of the tower king rooms, which was nicer than the cheaper rooms. Not impressed, but not disgusted - veryt in the middle. Bed was very soft, very bad for my sciatica, so if you have back issues, seek a firmer mattress. All the fixtures were outdated by about 20 years, but seemed to work ok - phone, TV, AC, remote, etc. The shower had a terrible leak and poured water down the wall of the shower when I ran it. Room service was ok, nothing special. The "fitness center" was pretty lame - very old equipment, half of which did not work. The front desk staff was very helpful and accomodating with my six hours late flight and helping me get checked in quickly. So all in all - servicable - but needs some TLC.....

Room Tip: Stay in the tower, not in the older rooms - and not close to the street like I did - lots of noise a...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BARDESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here while seeing a couple of shows at Township Auditorium and the location was fantastic. Overall our stay was fine without any real issues. Had a great nights sleep so the beds were good. Front desk staff was helpful and answered all our questions. Location was also great if you were looking to be close to campus too. Thinking back the only issue I could remember was the speed of the elevator, which really wasn't a big issue. Lot of parking as well.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polar_Caver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Good-
Location is about the only thing I could say was good; and that's being generous. The bed was comfortable.

The Bad-
Severely outdated. My room hadn't been vacuumed in quite some time, in fact, there was a large clump of hair under the desk. The TV, which was an old fashioned tube, had static on every channel. The shower was filthy. The refrigerator looked like something you'd buy at the Goodwill. I could go on, but I think it's adequate to just say avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here for three nights under a group rate arranged for an academic conference that was being held at the University of South Carolina, which probably explains the room we were in.

Briefly, the hotel has a new, modern tower, with new, modern rooms, and a long, serpentine set of two-story wings behind the tower which were probably constructed in the 1960's. I'm told the rooms in the tower are very nice. The ones in the other part are, well, tired, and in serious need of a complete refurbishment. Given that the rate we were being accommodated at was rather less than half the advertised rates for this hotel, I'm not really surprised that we ended up in one of the older rooms.

The mattress on our king-sized bed was EXTREMELY firm, to the point where we both found it difficult to get good sleep. The AC worked, although the thermostat seemed inclined to only let us choose between "too little" and "too much," with nothing in between. The faucet in the sink didn't want to shut off completely. There were stains on the carpet and some of the upholstery. The shower, however, had good pressure and plenty of hot water, and no evidence of mildew or staining in the grout. Service from housekeeping was good, and we had none of the issues with service from the front desk that other travelers have reported. The wireless Internet access went out the last night we were there, and the hotel was only able to give us a 1-800 number for the third-party ISP, which didn't actually do much to get the service restored.

If price were really an issue and I absolutely had to stay within walking distance of the USC campus I might stay here again. Otherwise, I'd likely choose another hotel.

Room Tip: You want a room in the tower.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blakektn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here for two nights on a recent business trip. The rooms are reasonably priced and clean, but overall this hotel is in need of renovation. The location is very convenient if you are visiting the downtown area. It's a short distance from the capital, and in fact, several state legislators were staying at the hotel during my visit. Parking is free. Several good restaurants are within walking distance as well. Check-in was fast, but check-out was slow due to only one person being on duty behind the desk. This hotel does not provide a free breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are probably quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 360JonA360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Clarion hotel is part of the Choice hotels group and located in downtown Columbia near the State Capitol and other state buildings. The hotel offers plentiful free parking which is always a plus in a downtown area. The hotel consists of two separate parts, the main tower building with a restaurant and several meeting rooms, and an attached exterior building which reminded me of an old-style motel. The exterior building has parking right in front of your room with outside entrances to the rooms. I stayed in one of the rooms in the exterior building as the rooms were billed as suites with Jacuzzis and I imagined a luxuriously appointed room. The hotel site even describes their rooms as having "first class amenities". Obviously there is an interpretation issue as to what consitutes "first class".What a disappointment. These rooms are desperately in need of updating or need to be described in a more accurate fashion. I had a ground floor room which was musty, with worn out dirty commercial grade carpeting, outdated TV and minimal lighting. One of the lights in the light bar over the bathroom mirror had a burnt out bulb which was never changed during my stay. I would expect the cleaning crew to notice things like that, report them to the maintenance staff and get them fixed. It is that lack of attention to detail which probably has resulted in the decay of these rooms. The room was cold but there was no way to set the heat onto automatic. It was fan on or not at all. That made the room temperature very hard to regulate. The Jacuzzi tub was slippery and needed a mat of some kind just for safety reasons. The shower head could be updated as well. In room amenities such as soap, shampoo etc. were on the lower end and comparable to that found in cheaper accommodations. The exterior building rooms have a small refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. The refrigerator made noise all night. I did not eat in the hotel restaurant so cannot comment on the food. The hotel bar/lounge on the other hand did serve good drinks and while we were there had a very accommodating bartender. But be aware the bar closes at 10 or 10:30 pm which seemed very odd for a hotel lounge. After that there is no food available, including from room service. I had asked at the reception desk for some liquid creamer for my in-room coffee maker in the afternoon which was unavailable since the restaurant was also closed after lunch and didn’t open again till dinner time. You would think the little creamers would be somewhere accessible.
The prices for the rooms were good for the area, but this would not be my first choice for a hotel in Columbia.

Room Tip: Try the tower rooms, might be more updated than the exterior rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Augcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina University Inn

Address: 1615 Gervais St, Columbia, SC 29201-3413 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range: $109 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carolina University Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Carolina University Inn located in the heart of Downtown Columbia. Travelers of all needs can take advantage of our one of a kind property located in the business, financial, and entertainment district of downtown Columbia. Unique local restaurants, boutique shopping, and exciting night life are all located within a one mile radius. The brand new USC Law School opening in Fall of 2017 is just across the street from the hotel's front door and a short walk from where you can discover everything the University of South Carolina campus has to offer. We take great pride in our Gamecocks here in Columbia. Williams Brice Stadium is a short 2.9 mile drive where you will experience college football here in Gamecock Country! Breathtaking views of the South Carolina State House are blocks away on Gervais Street. The South Carolina State Museum and Museum of Art are conveniently located downtown offering a taste of our local culture. Take the family on a delightful educational adventure to the Riverbanks Zoo and Garden or the Edventure Children's Museum, both located within 5 miles of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Reservation Counter, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carolina University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Columbia
Clarion Columbia
Columbia Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing