We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson
Ranked #14 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
North Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
“Another great stay.”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

With the stress of moving kids in and out of college (University of South Carolina), it is quite a relief to know that you don't have to worry about accomodations. With nice, up to date furnished rooms and public spaces, the TownePlace Suites by Ft. Jackson is a great place to relax. Although the friendly staff is the best part, having a good breakfast is a close second. It's nice to have a clean comfortable place to stay and this is it.

Room Tip: 6 trips and we haven't had a bad room yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Bob D:

Thank you so much for the wonderful compliment that you gave our front desk staff. Our staff makes our guest feel comfortable during their stay whether they are here for a weekend or long term.. TownePlace Suites by Marriott is located only minutes from all of the area universities in the city, which makes travel easy for our guests during their stay.

Our DeLuxe Continential Breakfast is a great way to start your day before heading out to move your children into the university for another great year.

Again, thank you so much and if you are in the area again for a football game or just for leisure, please give our staff a call and we will be more than happy to assist you with making your next reservations.

Sincerely,

Mary Medlin
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    90
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
180
51
16
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Love it here, this was our second stay in as many months. In town for a swim meet at USC it is about a 15 minute drive to there. Rooms are clean and well appointed. Pool area is really nice with BBQ grills and a nice fire pit at night. It really is a nice spot. The breakfast in the morning is hot and tasty wih your usual continental items along with eggs, sausage and even waffles you make yourself so they are fresh. The front desk staff is friendly every time you walk in and they even have fresh baked cookies in the afternoon which was a bonus for my 5 year old. He thought they were just for him. Definitely worth the stay if you are I the single bedroom or the two bedroom suite. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The even side of the building overlooks the parking lot, the odd side overlooks the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gallagherfamily29466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPSFortJackson, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Gallagherfamily29466,

Thanks so much for your kind words! You love it here and we love having you here. The staff here at TownePlace Suites Columbia SE/Fort Jackson works hard to ensure that each of our guests has the best experience possible, right down to the cookies and mints! We work hard to make our hotel your home away from home and hope you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My daughter and I stayed one night on July 20, 2012 on our way from Florida to PA. I was very pleased with the hotel and accomodations. Great access from I-77 and I-26. The hotel is new, clean and modern. The room had a great layout with a kitchen with full refrigerator and a great breakfast. Very nice staff and easy check-in and check-out. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Helen A

We greatly appreciate you sharing you recent review of your stay at our hotel. The TownePlace Suites/SE/Fort Jackson just celebrated its 3rd year of opening and we have continued to maintiain our hote with its cleaniness and a great staff to welcome each guest. Marriott is known for their great customer service and our hotel was recently selected by Marriott as a "Silver Circle Award Winner" in overall Customer Service.

Our staff takes pride in each departmentto make sure that our guest have a "great place to stay" while in Columbia SC. Enjoying our DeLuxe Continential Breakfast is a great way for our guests to enjoy before traveling to their next destination. With our hotel just adjacent to Interstate 77, you have access to all other interstates to travel around our city.

Again, our staff appreciates you choosing the TownePlace Suites/SE/Fort Jackson for your hotel accommodations and if you are traveling in our area again, please allow our team to make your next reservation.

Have a great day!

Mary Medlin
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

If you're a business traveler limited by corporate or government rate limits, this is about as good as it gets; clean, reasonably-sized room with kitchen. Get a room facing the rear due to extreme floodlights on the front at night. The staff was unfailingly polite and helpful. Long-term guests had to move for carpet cleaning during my stay, which they should have warned us about at reservation time. That failure to warn guests was obviously a management decision, so my team will be dusting off the Hilton Honors accounts next trip: people join brand loyalty rewards programs to avoid such inconveniences.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMysteriousTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your review on the TownePlace Suites by Marriott. Our staff takes pride in asssuring that our guests are comfortable and that our team is here to assist during your stay.
We are so sorry that we had to move the guests during our carpet cleaning of the hotel during your stay. Our guests are always number one while you are with our hotel and we know that having a great hotel is where we shine in the Marriott brand.

Again, thank you for choosing our hotel for your extended stay and we look forward to accommodating you if the need arises in the future.

Sincerely,

Mary Medlin
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lady lake
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We spent the night here on July 4, 2012. It was very clean and well run. From check in to breakfast and check out I had no complaints. We were traveling north on I77 and the location could not have been better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for choosing the TownePlace Suites/SE/Fort Jackson for your hotel accommodations. We take pride in our hotel and as you stated that we offer our guest a very nice stay while they are either in town for one night or an extended stay. I will sharing this with our staff so that they will know how pleased you were during your stay.

Again, thank you for staying with our hotel and if you are in the area again, please allow the TownePlace Suites to make your next reservation.

Have a great day!

Mary Medlin
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We recently stayed at Marriott Towne Place Suites. I booked out baseball team in the hotel as we were traveling to a tournament at USC. From the moment I picked up the phone and spoke to the Director of Sales, Mary Medlin I knew we were going to have a perfectly smooth stay. Mary was so helpful in booking rooms and helped to meet the all the needs that a traveling baseball team would need. The staff was wonderful, from the front desk to the housekeeping staff. The rooms were exactly what we needed!! They were well decorated and immaculately clean. Anyone with a group should definately feel comfortable staying here. We will definatley come back to this hotel if we are in a tournament in the area!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pignap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Pignap:

It was my pleasure to assist in making your reservations for your team's hotel accommodations. From the moment that we first spoke, until the day of your arrival I want my guest to feel at ease with making their arrangements with our hotel as smoothly as possible. Maintaining our hotel is where we shine in the Marriott brand. Being voted as a Silver Circle Award Winner by Marriott in guest service shows that our staff goes beyond to make your stay a memorable one.

Again, it was my pleasure working with you and when the season rolls around in 2013 for your traveling team, please give me a call and I will be more than happy to make those reservations for you.

Have a great summer.

Mary Medlin
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia SC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

My house caught on fire back in February of this year and our adjuster put us up at the TownPlace by Marriott. They had put us up at the Candlewood prior and it was Awful.
The Townplace suite we had was so bright and cheerful a nice size living area and kitchen seperated the two bedrooms. Each bedroom had a phone and a flat screen tv and also a phone in the bathroom. The applicances were regular size not a mini fridge or one eye stove. Breakfast was served in the morning and most evenings they had something planned. Pizza or a fire in the pit, basketball and there was an onsite workout room.
What really made this for me was my mother who is 94 had to be left for short periods of time by herself and she was not used to the set up and the manager allowed me to have a lift chair brought in for her and the staff also lowered the bed for mom bc it was too high. The staff was never intrusive but always helpful. Also one day I called the room from work to check in on mom and there was no answer. Panic set in but I called right back asking for the room again thinking she might have falled asleep. What I did not know till that night was when the manager heard me ring back again she immediately sent someone up to check on mom to make sure she was ok. This was the greatest source of comfort towards me The staff also got to know their guest and greeted by names when we return "home" in the evening.
Mom and I spent afternoons in the dining area drinking Earl Gray Tea and having a grand time talking.
Very clean, near a lot of good restaurants and things to do. But the staff is what made it. Did I mention the nice warm cookies in the afternoon???

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Kathy P:

Thank you for sharing your experience with our staff. Making our guests feel that the TownePlace Suites/SE is your "Home away from Home" is so true. This was a tragic accident that brought you to our hotel, but during your stay our staff made a true friendship with you and your mother.. The day that I received the call that you could not get your mother to answer the phone, I immediately sent JP our front desk staff member up to your room to make sure your mother was fine. When you arrived that afternoon, you could not thank our hotel for the prompt attention that we took and helping you. This is only one way that the TownePlace Suites makes all of our guest part of our family while you are in our hotel. 100% Guest Satisfaction is what Marriott strives. for all of our guests during their stay.

We hope that everything has settled for you and your mother and if the need arises in the future, please allow our hotel to make your next reservation.

Have a great summer and stop by one afternoon for some warm cookies and tea with our staff!

Mary Medlin
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia/Southeast-Ft. Jackson
6.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
9.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia / Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Columbia-Ft. Jackson
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Columbia SE / Fort Jackson
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Harbison Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson

Property: TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson
Address: 250 E Exchange Blvd, Columbia, SC 29209-2172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Columbia
#6 Family Hotel in Columbia
#10 Business Hotel in Columbia
#21 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for hotels in Columbia, SC, you'll love the neighborhood-style living and great value of the new TownePlace Suites Columbia Fort Jackson. Our all-suite, extended stay Columbia, South Carolina hotel is minutes from Fort Jackson and the University of South Carolina - home of the Gamecocks. We're also near Colonial Center, Williams-Brice Stadium, and the SC State Fair. Here on business? Our Columbia, SC hotel is close to Shaw Air Force Base, Providence Hospitals, McEntire Joint National Guard Base, Sysco, and the Dorn VA Medical Center. Every suite features complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, fully-equipped kitchens, 32" flat-screen HD TVs, and luxurious bedding. Start each day with our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast. Make yourself at home in our pool or fitness room, on our sport court, or in our BBQ/patio area. And bring your pet - we're a pet-friendly hotel! Few hotels in Columbia, SC can beat our warm hospitality, so book your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites By Marriott Columbia Se/Fort Jackson Hotel Columbia
Towneplace Suites Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing