We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B we have stayed in”
Review of The 1425 Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The 1425 Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Columbia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best B&B we have stayed in”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My boyfriend and I were in town for a wedding and chose the 1425 Inn for its location (and because of the positive reviews on TripAdvisor!). We could not have been happier with our stay. The room was beautiful and spacious, everything was immaculately clean and well-appointed, and David and Karen couldn't have been nicer. Breakfasts were tasty and filling. And David could not have been more accommodating, offering to help us with anything we needed and giving us great recommendations of places to eat. Five stars aren't enough to describe our stay!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Talia_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
40
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gray, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Lovely place to stay! The room was wonderful...large! The bed linens just felt good and the down blanket kept us toasty warm. The breakfast was delicious and chatting with David and the other guests was a pleasure. Especially love that children are welcome! Planning on going back to Columbia with my granddaughter and staying at The 1425 again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim1964-714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Warm and inviting from the front porch throughout, this magnificent and well kept home is exceptionally clean. Beautiful decor, hardwood floors, each room with private updated bath, luxurious linens, king size beds & located in the historic district close to so many points of interest.

Personalized care and attention from David,his helpfulness, culinary talents, and general knowledge of the area were special highlights. This was our first time staying in a B&B. We have already booked a week for later this spring! We will never stay in a hotel in Columbia as long as David & Karen are there to take care of us!

Barb & Skip from Little River, SC

Room Tip: Coral room had a larger shower, but love the ambience of the green room with the claw tub too. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This B and B is excellent! The hospitality is out of this world. Highly recommended!!!! Thanks for everything you did during the winter storm of 2014. Karen and David literally treat my family like family.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

First, the inn-keepers, Karen and David, could not have been nicer (they treat you like family). The accommodations, five stars; I have never slept on such a comfortable mattress that had such relaxing linens (the most restful sleep I have had in forever), the entire decor is exquisite, and the meals were impeccable and filling.

Also, what a huge plus it was to have David providing airport transportation, even though my flights were super early and super late.

A great stay with wonderful food and outstanding people!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I live in Columbia and were thrilled to find this beautiful b&b in our own "back yard." The rooms and decor were lovely; the bed was enormous and cozy; and the antique bathtub provided a perfect touch. The owner of the b&b was incredibly kind and helpful. We were able to sleep in the next morning and did not feel rushed in the least to leave. I highly recommend this romantic, quiet b&b.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We've stayed in a fair number of Bed and Breakfasts, but if you haven't, this might be the best place to start. The historic-looking building is much too young for anything to be dowdy inside. Every amenity is well thought out, and the hospitality is exactly why we choose to stay in a B&B when we can.

Our room was first on the right, huge and beautiful. The bed was big and comfortable, and the walls must be thoroughly insulated; we heard no street noise or sounds from upstairs. The room has a sensibly arranged private bathroom -- toilet and large shower, with the sink in the bedroom. A divided setup like this is rare in a B&B, and lets a couple get up and out more efficiently.

The innkeeper David is a former restaurateur, so his advice about where to eat in town is especially valuable. His breakfast was simple, delicious, and made when we'd requested the night before. We felt welcome to sit and enjoy coffee and the Sunday paper for hours afterward. We have no trouble recommending the 1425 Inn.

Room Tip: We had a choice of two available rooms; maybe you will, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.9 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 94 in Columbia
875 reviews
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1425 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1425 Inn

Property: The 1425 Inn
Address: 1425 Richland St, Columbia, SC 29201-2519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The 1425 Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1425 Inn located, in the downtown historic district, offers you simple elegance in your visit to Columbia. Enjoy your private en suite with private bathroom as well as joining with other guests in The Assembly room for snacks and games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your The 1425 Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1425 Hotel Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing