We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grade A Hospitality”
Review of The 1425 Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The 1425 Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Columbia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This B and B is excellent! The hospitality is out of this world. Highly recommended!!!! Thanks for everything you did during the winter storm of 2014. Karen and David literally treat my family like family.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for The 1425 Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 87 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

First, the inn-keepers, Karen and David, could not have been nicer (they treat you like family). The accommodations, five stars; I have never slept on such a comfortable mattress that had such relaxing linens (the most restful sleep I have had in forever), the entire decor is exquisite, and the meals were impeccable and filling.

Also, what a huge plus it was to have David providing airport transportation, even though my flights were super early and super late.

A great stay with wonderful food and outstanding people!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I live in Columbia and were thrilled to find this beautiful b&b in our own "back yard." The rooms and decor were lovely; the bed was enormous and cozy; and the antique bathtub provided a perfect touch. The owner of the b&b was incredibly kind and helpful. We were able to sleep in the next morning and did not feel rushed in the least to leave. I highly recommend this romantic, quiet b&b.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We've stayed in a fair number of Bed and Breakfasts, but if you haven't, this might be the best place to start. The historic-looking building is much too young for anything to be dowdy inside. Every amenity is well thought out, and the hospitality is exactly why we choose to stay in a B&B when we can.

Our room was first on the right, huge and beautiful. The bed was big and comfortable, and the walls must be thoroughly insulated; we heard no street noise or sounds from upstairs. The room has a sensibly arranged private bathroom -- toilet and large shower, with the sink in the bedroom. A divided setup like this is rare in a B&B, and lets a couple get up and out more efficiently.

The innkeeper David is a former restaurateur, so his advice about where to eat in town is especially valuable. His breakfast was simple, delicious, and made when we'd requested the night before. We felt welcome to sit and enjoy coffee and the Sunday paper for hours afterward. We have no trouble recommending the 1425 Inn.

Room Tip: We had a choice of two available rooms; maybe you will, too.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

When you get out of the car, the house looks like it must be 100 years old. You would never know it was built in the 1990s. The rooms were beautiful and the bathroom was large with a really nice walk-in shower. The innkeepers are extremely nice and breakfast is great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jennytraveler1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We're only a night into a two night stay and already love the place so much we had to jump on here and leave our review.

The owner greeted us at the door and was happy to answer questions about the house and the inn, even though it was late. He was very friendly.

Instead of the typical "breakfast is served at ..." he asked what time we'd like breakfast and was happy to accommodate our schedule, which is always 'running late'. This morning, breakfast was served hot and ready to go, just a couple minutes after we sat down at the table, later that we had said the night before. He adjusted to our schedule again. (Sorry we were running late). :)

We are having a great time in Columbia and at 1425. We'll be back, for sure.

Thanks for being great hosts.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We reserved this room for our wedding night. We did not want to be bothered. This was the perfect place. We woke up the next morning to a nice surpise. David had cut out our wedding announcement and had it waiting for us with our breakfast. The experience was perfect. We could not have asked for more. Thanks 1425 Inn

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyAndersAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.9 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 94 in Columbia
911 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1425 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1425 Inn

Address: 1425 Richland St, Columbia, SC 29201-2519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia
Price Range: $143 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The 1425 Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1425 Inn located, in the downtown historic district, offers you simple elegance in your visit to Columbia. Enjoy your private en suite with private bathroom as well as joining with other guests in The Assembly room for snacks and games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The 1425 Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1425 Hotel Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing