We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house and rooms”
Review of The 1425 Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The 1425 Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Columbia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

When you get out of the car, the house looks like it must be 100 years old. You would never know it was built in the 1990s. The rooms were beautiful and the bathroom was large with a really nice walk-in shower. The innkeepers are extremely nice and breakfast is great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jennytraveler1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 91 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

We're only a night into a two night stay and already love the place so much we had to jump on here and leave our review.

The owner greeted us at the door and was happy to answer questions about the house and the inn, even though it was late. He was very friendly.

Instead of the typical "breakfast is served at ..." he asked what time we'd like breakfast and was happy to accommodate our schedule, which is always 'running late'. This morning, breakfast was served hot and ready to go, just a couple minutes after we sat down at the table, later that we had said the night before. He adjusted to our schedule again. (Sorry we were running late). :)

We are having a great time in Columbia and at 1425. We'll be back, for sure.

Thanks for being great hosts.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We reserved this room for our wedding night. We did not want to be bothered. This was the perfect place. We woke up the next morning to a nice surpise. David had cut out our wedding announcement and had it waiting for us with our breakfast. The experience was perfect. We could not have asked for more. Thanks 1425 Inn

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyAndersAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

My son graduated from USC on May 5th. and prior to this date I attemped to find a nice place for my family to have lunch and celebrate his graduation. When I called around to many of the local restaurants they were either booked or didn't not take reservations. I knew with a city the size of Columbia and with a college the size of USC that finding that quaint spot was almost impossible. I decided to check on the B&B's. When I googled B&B's in Columbia I saw where The 1425 Inn offered this service. I called and amazingly they were not booked and said that they could accommodate my party. I spoke with David on several occaisions and he was very friendly and helpful. I picked the meal which was a fresh salad, coffee crusted ribeye, smashed potatoes and steamed vegagtables with homemade cheesecake and fresh strawberries for desert. IT WAS FABULOUS! We arrived at the house a few minutes after noon, he had the tables ready. We had the best meal and service that day than any of the other many thousand graduates. The house was extremely clean, beautifully decorated and the food and service was extremely wonderful! David said that he had been in the restaurant business for many years prior to running this B&B and it showed! If you have an event that you need a quaint, beautifully decorated, and extremely delicious meal prepared, this is your place. We did not spend the night, but I am sure that would be a wonderful experience also! Oh, and the cost was very resonable! Thank You David for helping to make this special day a very memorable one!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

David made us very welcome and we enjoyed his conversation. The rooms were very large and the beds extremely comfortable. We were surprised to find that the house was only built in the 1990's as the design and interior would suggest it is much older! The important things were immaculately clean, however, more attention needs to be paid to the finer details (for example, the clock/radio next to the bed was covered in a thick layer of dust), fresh flowers would be nicer than silk as they don't gather the dust!). The shower was disappointingly small in the Alexander room and had low water pressure. We were looking forward to sitting on the rockers on the front porch but found the furniture too dirty to sit on - we appreciate that it's spring and the pollen is a nightmare but a quick brush off wouldn't take long. Also, an overflowing bucket of cigarette butts on the porch is not very attractive! Breakfast was adequate but average - not what we have come to expect of bed & breakfast accommodations in the USA - especially given the tariff paid. Don't get us wrong, this was a nice stay and we enjoyed it but it was nothing special.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dromomaniacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

What a gem! Beautifully appointed rooms, great breakfast, and good conversation. We did a Carolinas road trip, and this was the best B&B of our journey. Rooms and bathrooms were large, and beds were super comfy. Artwork and furnishings throughout the house were so warm and welcoming. Wish I lived there! Definitely THE place to stay in Columbia, SC.

Room Tip: Any room is a winner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcarson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This was a great little bed and breakfast. The house is very nice and the owners are very kind and friendly. The rooms were extremely spacious and the beds are literally the most comfortable I have every slept on. The only aspect of this bed and breakfast that could use improvement was the shower; the bathroom had a beautiful and clean bathtub if you desire, but the shower was off to the side in a cramped little space (other rooms might have been different though).

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dave123md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.9 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.9 mi away
Aloft Columbia Downtown
Aloft Columbia Downtown
#17 of 93 in Columbia
82 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Harbison Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown
1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
Staybridge Suites Columbia
#10 of 93 in Columbia
447 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1425 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1425 Inn

Address: 1425 Richland St, Columbia, SC 29201-2519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia
Price Range: $143 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The 1425 Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1425 Inn located, in the downtown historic district, offers you simple elegance in your visit to Columbia. Enjoy your private en suite with private bathroom as well as joining with other guests in The Assembly room for snacks and games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The 1425 Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1425 Hotel Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing