We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Improvement” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columbia Marriott

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Columbia Marriott
Ranked #15 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2005

My wife and I have stayed at the Mariott two weeks ago and found a vast improvement from our last visit last October. I appears that the rooms were upgraded to the new Marriott standard with new bedding. We found the front desk was friendily and very helpful. Would stay here again next time we come to Columbia.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deoldguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    166
    96
    35
    16
See reviews for
115
67
32
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
108 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2005

Very frequent traveler - really liked the hotel. It was clean, comfortable, and nice. Did not expect such a nice Marriott in Columbia, SC! Everything worked just the way it should, the people were great, and the concierge breakfast was above the norm.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJKatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2005

To any of you who remember the dingy old Adam's Mark in Columbia, you are in for a treat at the same hotel remade over into a Marriott.

The '80s interior decor is a distant memory. Gone too are the creepy old room furniture, ugly bedspreads, and spotty carpet.

The lady at the front desk was a delight and my room smelled... yes I'm going to say it... clean and refreshing! The furniture was nice and the bed and linens were truly comfortable. The bathrooms have received a makoever too... (I once got trapped in my Adam's Mark Columbia bathroom when the wooden door swelled during a hot shower. Embarrassing but true. It took a few harrowing tries and it finally flung open.) No worries now.

My only teeny complaint is that they haven't redesigned the halls yet and they still have that odd Adams Mark dingy smell to them.

Columbia finally has a first class full service hotel downtown. It's about time.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCTraveler864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2005

It is a nice 3.5 star hotel. Priceline has it at a 4 star which is a bit of a push. The indoor pool is very clean with lots of natural light. The rooms are a bit small.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atstpier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2005

We were looking for a stopover on the trip home for FLorida. I got such a great deal on Marriott's website for a package that included dinner (Steak and Lobster) as well as breakfast, that I was a little worried about the quality of the place. So I was very pleasantly surprised to find such an upscale facility with an extremely helpful staff. All my requests were promptly and cheerfully filled including a request for a rollaway that was actually delivered to the room before we could get our luggage up there. Reastaurant was excellent for both meals, though the service at night was a little on the slow side (only negative, but with tired children, bordering on cranky, it was a little bit of a problem). Kids loved the indoor pool the next morning that we used to expend some of their energy before continuing the trip home.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cndij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2005

This is a wonderful hotel! The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The bathrooms are top notch. The beds are very comfortable and clean! The breakfast is great too! The only thing this hotel lacked is proper parking (off the street and out of a parking deck). My family and I would stay again and again! :)

Helpful?
1 Thank TGBTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2005

Right now the Columbia Hotel is in the process of renovation. While I am sure that it will be beautiful when it is complete, plan to be rerouted to the main desk and to hear jack hammers in the public areas during the daytime until it is over. Some of the staff was very nice about this; some were not.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.6 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.5 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 94 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Marriott

Property: Columbia Marriott
Address: 1200 Hampton St, Columbia, SC 29201-2826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Columbia
#16 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#21 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbia Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Columbia Marriott hotel, located in the vibrant downtown Columbia area near the University of South Carolina. Our hotel offers some of the finest accommodations in Columbia, SC. To meet our guests' needs, the Columbia Marriott hotel has remodeled guest rooms, the lobby, meeting space, and the restaurant and bar. Stay with us and you'll enjoy generous amenities such as pillow-top mattresses, 42" flat panel televisions and wireless Internet access for plenty of entertainment. The 28,000 square feet of space makes our downtown hotel a favorite choice for businesses and social functions in Columbia, SC. Just minutes from popular destinations, including Columbia Museum of Art, Riverbanks Zoo, the state capitol, Colonial Life Arena and Williams Brice Stadium, our downtown hotel is close to popular attractions. Guests are welcome to take advantage of our indoor pool and on-site fitness center. Reserve a room today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Columbia Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Marriott Hotel Columbia
Marriott Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing