We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can you imagine steam table food actually being Cold? Eat the Buffet Breakfast Here”
Review of Columbia Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Columbia Marriott
Ranked #20 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The staff was pleasant and efficient at check-in. The bell staff was very responsive. The hotel is well-located and the bed is comfy. But at breakfast, at 8 AM, the hot food at the buffet was not hot. I think this is b/c the lids on the trays for eggs, sausage and potatoes all were left open. This seemed odd to me (when you cover a lid on a steam table the food stays hot and doesn't dry out), but after I took my food and closed the lids, the attendant (who was very cheerful) came by and opened them all again. So I guess that's policy. I know I sound like a whiney baby but I was hungry and left disapponted. If you want a hot breakfast here I think you're better off ordering from the menu.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommyg2230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelD2012, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Tommyg2230,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to comment about the Marriott Columbia. I am very happy to read such nice comments about the staff. Your feedback about the buffet food temperature is appreciated and has been addressed, thank you. My team and I hope to welcome you back soon and this fall will be boasting a beautiful new breakfast buffet. I wish you safe and exciting travels.

Kindest Regards,

Joel Darr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 598 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a positive review of the Columbia Marriott based on my recent stay for a business trip.

Starting off with parking, you park in a shared garage with a covered walkway bridge that takes you to the hotel. From there, check in was smooth with a quick recognition of my Golds Reward status. Unfortnatly, the concierge lounge was closed for renovations but that was fine and they offered me a breakfast coupon.

Had a very nice dinner across the street at Vineyard, do I smell a Yelp review brewing? The ninth floor Junior Concierge Suite was nice. The wi-fi wasn't strong in my room but I was so zapped that I didn't feel like asking the hotel to bother about that. I had a good night sleep and a productive breakfast with my colleagues before taking on the day's meetings.

All in all, a good stay. Thank you Columbia Marriott!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KofaSing_KoodGarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed in April 2013 - good size room and bathroom - very big comfortable bed - no mini bar - breakfast was good and sports bar was lively with good drinks choice. Would recommend however nearest choice of restaurants was 15 mins away.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank dublinpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a solid hotel in downtown Columbia. It seems to be well managed and organized. The bar/restaurant was very active and well attended by the hotel guests. Public parking is right next door. It's very close to the University and expressway.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArcherLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We came to Columbia for 3 days with one of our sons. The hotel has a great location; it is well worth getting out and walking around, especially up Main Street toward the Capitol and the university. First, the staff is very nice and helpful, but not obsequious. I needed a pair of hosiery at the last minute, and they opened up their gift shop to sell me some so I wouldn't have to walk or drive around to find some. The beds are a little on the soft side, but we like a firm bed and we did not get any backaches from these. Thankfully, the light blocking curtains work VERY well and we easily could have slept well into the morning. Our son enjoyed the pool and the room service one night, and the breakfast buffet was fine (though of course, pricey, which is to be expected in a hotel). Our only complaint was the noise from the renovations, which lasts until 6 p.m. Just be sure to ask for the lowest floor possible and you'll be fine. We were put on the 9th floor, and we would really hear the drilling and hammering, but the staff were sensitive enough to figure this out, and offered to move us before we even complained (we accepted). So overall, a very good stay which will only improve once the renovations are complete.

Room Tip: Go for the lowest floor possible until renovations are complete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Even though they are under rennovation (which is actually a good thing) this is a good place to stay. Attentive staff at all levels of the organization makes all the difference in the world. Having kind and helpful people from front desk staff to maintenance men makes all the difference in the stay. Very helpful folks..southern charm and southern hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcseny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Unbelievably loud. Crowded with out of control USC "students". It's now 2:25 am and there is noise next door and in hallway. We've had strangers trying to open our door because they are too drunk to find their room. Appalling.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank 97edwardc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelD2012, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear 97edwardc,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your visit with us. I am so sorry that other guests were disrespectful of your sleep by making so much noise. My team will do their best to identify possible disruptive guests and keep them quite from the start. Again, I am sorry that you were disrupted by intoxicated and loud guests, I am happy to report that this is primarily a business hotel and this type of experience is rare. Safe Travels!

Kindest Regards,

Joel Darr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#9 of 93 in Columbia
961 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Marriott

Address: 1200 Hampton Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Columbia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#20 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: $180 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbia Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Columbia Marriott, a top choice among hotels in Columbia, South Carolina and a hotel located in the vibrant downtown Columbia area near the University of South Carolina. We offer some of the finest accommodations in Columbia. To meet our guests' needs, Columbia Marriott has remodeled guest rooms, lobby, meeting space, and restaurant and bar. Stay with us and you'll enjoy generous amenities such as pillow-top mattresses, 42" flat panel televisions, and wireless Internet access for plenty of entertainment. Our 28,000 square feet of space makes our hotel a favorite choice for businesses and social functions. Just minutes from popular destinations, including Columbia Museum of Art, the state capitol, Colonial Life Arena, and Williams Brice Stadium, we are close to many popular attractions. Guests are welcome to take advantage of our indoor pool and on-site fitness center. Reserve a room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Columbia Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Marriott Hotel Columbia
Marriott Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing