We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great People!”
Review of Columbia Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Columbia Marriott
Ranked #21 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed here over a span of 5 months (May-October) Great bellmen- Mr.Eugene and his gentlemen are always so kind and all the wonderful staff at the front desk including Christian do what they can to make you feel at home. Its a beautiful area with museums and parks near by. Great for both business travelers and families!

Room Tip: Did not use any spa services, so I can not honestly rate them. A high floor is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E'Lisha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelD2012, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear E'Lisha F,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. Christian and Eugene are indeed great people and I will be sure to share your complements with them. My team and I appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon. I wish you safe and exciting travels.

Kindest Regards,

Joel Darr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 594 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel 1/26/13. Facilities are nice, pool was great for the kids. Before checking out housekeepers were yelling and using foul language in our hallway until my 8 year old asked us to stop them. Accidentally left a pair of jeans in the room with my debit card and ID. Bank called this morning to inform me my account was $1000 lighter and had to cancel my card. After filing police report and going to bank I called hotel and told them story - waited 1.5 hours for call back from manager...finally called a second time and left voicemail and he called me back. No offer of comp or other - very disappointed with Marriot this time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelD2012, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Suzanne C,

I am very sorry that you have had such a traumatic experience, I hope your Credit Card has been recovered. I am hopeful that your Card was lost in a different location than the Marriott, we take great measures to secure our guests information confidentially. I am very sorry the housekeeping team was so loud outside your room, I will address this with them. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the facilities of the Marriott while you were here. I wish you safe and exciting travels.

Kindest Regards,

Joel Darr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel is very nice. The hotel staff are really amazing - everyone from the woman who works in the Marriott store, to the front desk, to the concierge lounge attendant, to the restaurant manager and waiters... this has got to be some of the best customer service I've ever experienced. Super friendly, super helpful.... a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieLynn2158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelD2012, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Jamie W,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share such amazing feedback about your recent stay with us at the Columbia Marriott. I agree with you, our people are amazing! I hope I had to the chance to meet you while you were here, if not, next time! My team and I wish you safe and exciting travels.

Kindest Regards,

Joel Darr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Upon walking up to the Front Desk I was greeted by 2 ladies that were very hepful and friendly, I had a very nice stay, Parking is 12.00 per night in a parking deck next door easy access with a Bridge , Alot of nice places to dine in the Hotel and around the property as well, This Hotel is well maintained and I heard the Hotel is in the process of even making it better with a upcoming renovation. I will be returning to this area in the next few weeks and will be returning for a Visit

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMB-1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelD2012, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear JMB-1952,

My team and I appreciate you sharing such nice comments about our staff service and the local area. We are very excited to complete our full property renovation, the Marriott Columbia will soon be one of the nicest hotels in the South East. I cannot wait to read your comments when we are complete. I wish you safe and exciting travels.

Kindest Regards,

Joel Darr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Have known this property when it went from Marriott to Adam’s Mark and back to Marriott. Two friends of mine worked during the Adam’s business class period as the F&B Director and Executive Sous Chef.

Upon arrival self parking is located next door for $12; I paid via the front desk but there was no one the next day to collect any money from us in the garage; could have been free.

Check in was fast, professional and as good as it gets. I stay at 60 to 70 Marriott props each year and check in is important to me.

Room, like the rest of the property is tired but clean. Bathroom looks as though it had a recent update. Hot was in the shower was limited to cool. No problem as I needed a wake up the next morning and nothing like a cold shower in early Jan to get you going.

Walked to the Hunter Gatherer for an appetizer and wine; had an appetizer and class of wine at the Asian fusion restaurant next to it on the walk back. Finished off the evening at the sports pub in the hotel and it is new/fresh with great food and service.

Concierge did not meet the lowest of expectations. That evening the foods were limited and lacking in any appeal. The next morning I arrived at 15 mins after opening and there was scrambled eggs and bacon/sausage. All three looked wonderful but there was no other items including toast, coffee… as a vegan I was out of luck. The attendant advised the coffee brewer was not working; she very politely offered to stop and run to the dinning room for me. I declined and had a good cup in my room with the in room brewer.Hotel had very few guest due to the time of holiday and that may had some effect on the limited service. Other reviews have been positive.

A night here brought back many memories when the property was at its best. Like dinner with an ex of years ago, you don’t see youth has slipped away as there is still a lot of court and spark at this Marriott.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelswithjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelD2012, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear travelswithjh,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your very well thought out feedback about the Marriott Columbia. You obviously know this hotel and community very well. I am happy to pass your comments on to my team and the City who owns the garage. I am excited to let you know that soon, the Columbia Marriott will be a brand new shinny star of Main Street again. We have started a top to bottom reinvention that will be complete this year. My team and I appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your return. I wish you safe and exciting travels!

Kindest Regards,

Joel Darr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I've stayed at this Hotel on many occasions when in Columbia on business. And if I may add, over 1,000 stays at Marriott properties during my career. With that having been said, I would rate this hotel among the top 5 Marriott hotels that I've stayed....primarily because of the personable service and attention. Thank you my friends!!!!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Dawgy-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelD2012, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Dawgy,

Thank you so much for sharing such heartfelt comments about the Marriott Columbia. I agree, the people here are amazing. We all thank you for your loyalty and appreciate you! I wish you safe and exciting travels.

Kindest Regards,

Joel Darr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed here last week for one night, on business. Room was good, all facilities you would expect from a Marriott are there. Hotel is about 10 minute walk from the restaurant and shopping area, though please do not get too exited.

Had dinner in the Sportsbar of the hotel, good burger, friendly staff, average price. Staff at concierge and reception was also very friendly.

The hotel is just not attractive, lacks personality. I guess it is ok for a couple of nights on business.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golfandtravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelD2012, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Tigerwoods100,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your visit in November. I am glad you found the hotel to meet most of your needs and that the staff treated you well. I am happy to report that the property has started a significant enhancement plan and you will be able to see the difference in our guest rooms as early as this week. We are in the process of redoing every guest room and when that is complete we will be updating all of our public areas of the hotel. We will have a beautiful restaurant featuring New Southern Cuisine, local crafted beers and whiskeys and a completely update meeting facility. We also will be updating the entrance, exterior and the lobby. My team and I appreciate you choosing to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards,

Joel Darr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 93 in Columbia
937 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
0.6 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.4 mi away
Aloft Columbia Downtown
Aloft Columbia Downtown
#19 of 93 in Columbia
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Marriott

Address: 1200 Hampton Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Columbia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#20 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: $122 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbia Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Columbia Marriott, a top choice among hotels in Columbia, South Carolina and a hotel located in the vibrant downtown Columbia area near the University of South Carolina. We offer some of the finest accommodations in Columbia. To meet our guests' needs, Columbia Marriott has remodeled guest rooms, lobby, meeting space, and restaurant and bar. Stay with us and you'll enjoy generous amenities such as pillow-top mattresses, 42" flat panel televisions, and wireless Internet access for plenty of entertainment. Our 28,000 square feet of space makes our hotel a favorite choice for businesses and social functions. Just minutes from popular destinations, including Columbia Museum of Art, the state capitol, Colonial Life Arena, and Williams Brice Stadium, we are close to many popular attractions. Guests are welcome to take advantage of our indoor pool and on-site fitness center. Reserve a room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columbia Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Marriott Hotel Columbia
Marriott Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing