We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location for USC Graduation”
Review of Columbia Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Columbia Marriott
Ranked #16 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
bardstown
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Location for USC Graduation”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

This hotel looks like it was in need of some updates. It has everything one would need when traveling to an important function like a graduation-good location, friendly staff, a nice breakfast buffet but it's definitely dated. Beware if you book with an outside vender like Expedia because even though the rooms are the same price you will not get Marriott points or a free breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Book directly with hotel for the best rooms. Ask for a refrigerator ahead of time if you need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilyn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottColumbia, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay at the Columbia Marriott. Letting our other guests in on helpful tips is a wonderful gesture and we truly appreciate it. Please extend our congratulations to your graduate and we hope you enjoyed the ceremony. Come back and visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    175
    102
    37
    18
See reviews for
119
69
34
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,819 reviews
252 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 928 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Spent one night here on company business. Check in was efficient and received room key quickly. Room (company paid) was 4016 and didn't have exterior view, rather te window overlooked the hotel lobby and pool area. The 4th floor is right up at the atrium roof so there was metal superstructure just above the window. Indoor pool looked nice

Room had two double beds, very comfort able, but not a lot of room to set up the luggage rack. Nice desk, chair, comfy chair and floor lamp. Good coffee in single-serve maker. Bath & Body Works amenities. Nice towels.

Didn't eat in the restaurant, but some colleagues said the chicken caesar salad from room service was good.

Short walk to State House which is a great place to visit if you have time. Not a large number of restaurants open for breakfast nearby.

I would stay here again but would ask for an exterior (street view) room.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottColumbia, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful acknowledgement of the Columbia Marriott, its staff and amenities. We’re delighted that you enjoyed a restful night’s sleep and the attentive service you deserve. We hope to welcome you back to the Columbia area for another great stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel a number of times and always been very happy with it. My most incredible hotel story happened here. I was in an accident while in Columbia, SC, in October 2011, and staying at this hotel. The staff could not have been more solicitous, kind, and helpful. They drove me to my car. They gave me breakfast on the house. They showed such concern for me it made me cry. Not only does the hotel have spotlessly clean, modern, spacious rooms, all the facilities you'd expect at an urban motel (fitness room, indoor/outdoor pool, etc., etc.), and all the other amenities, they have the nicest staff I've ever encountered. I'll never stay at any other hotel in Columbia.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottColumbia, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Your continued loyalty has truly humbled us and we’re sending our good thoughts your way in the hopes that you have fully recovered. It was our pleasure, as it will be in the future, to make sure that you are treated with the utmost respect and consideration, focusing on our commitment to customer service. Thank you so much for your gracious review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Columbia Marriott very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Ga
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Extremely nice staff (check-in, house keeping, and dining). The location was convenient (walking distance - up to 1 mile) to downtown spots (eating, Capital, USC...)

Everything (rooms, decor) seemed a little dated and tired.

Price was good, would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TScates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottColumbia, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
We are thrilled that you chose to spend some time at the Columbia Marriott and appreciate your kind words for our staff. Thank you for mentioning our convenient location and we look forward to greeting you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Everyone in this hotel went out of their way to accommodate my family in every way. The location is perfect for ball games or another activity that is happening in the downtown area.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inletgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottColumbia, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
How nice that the convenient location of the Columbia Marriott worked out so well for and your stay was enjoyable. We’re delighted to learn that you received the personalized attention that our staff strives to provide all our guests and we can’t wait to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

My son and I stayed here while visiting the USC campus. Very nice hotel. Clean, convenient, friendly staff.
It was roughly a six block walk to campus, but not a difficult walk. There is a complimentary shuttle to and from the Columbia airport.
We were waiting around the lobby for the shuttle, and went into Garnets Sports bar and Grille. My son ordered a soda, but I had one with me, so I didn't want anything. I told the waitress we were just killing a little time. When it was time to go, I went to the bar to pay for the coke, and she said not to worry about it...! It's small things like that that make a difference.
i really don't understand the lukewarm reviews. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMVCatonsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottColumbia, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
On behalf of the entire Columbia Marriott team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our hotel and staff. We believe it’s the small details that make such a difference, so we strive to provide each of our guests with exceptional service, quality and comfort, and it’s nice to see we met that goal with you. The University of South Carolina campus is a beautiful place to visit and we’re thrilled that our convenient location made it even more enjoyable for you. Please take a moment to like us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current Columbia happenings. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the very near future and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I'm a Marriott Rewards Gold member and I stay exclusively in Marriott and Hilton properties up and down the East Coast for business. I don't consider myself to be an overly picky traveler, just someone who appreciates a clean, quiet, and up-to-date property. And I always expect friendly service because I always reciprocate friendliness.

On this trip, my wife and I stayed in Columbia for a single weeknight a few days ago while in town for a wedding. We stayed here on Marriott points. The only reason I gave this property two stars instead of one is because I didn't have to pay and we did receive very friendly service (Rita checked us in and she was very personable). Other than that, I was disappointed.

The room was very dated and this made me automatically question how clean it was. How clean is dark carpet that should have been replaced years ago? I noticed the plexiglass roof panels over the pool/exercise area had been patched with duck tape many times. The elevators, the common areas, the rather noisy hallways, the parking garage, etc. are mediocre at best. You get the idea.

Next time I'm in the area, I'll look for another property. Hopefully, in the meantime, Marriott will pony up the money to give this worn-out hotel a much needed facelift. Marriott has mostly very nice properties...but they need to hold everything with their name on the door to a consistent standard.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pawleyscreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottColumbia, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Hearing from our guests, whether positive or otherwise, is absolutely appreciated and gives us the opportunity to evaluate what areas need improvement and those where we are succeeding. We hope you and your wife enjoyed the wedding you attended and please pass on our congratulations to the happy couple. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience and we would hope to have another opportunity in the future to fully impress you with everything our hotel has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
0.6 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 94 in Columbia
875 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Marriott

Property: Columbia Marriott
Address: 1200 Hampton St, Columbia, SC 29201-2826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Columbia
#16 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#21 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbia Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Columbia Marriott, a top choice among hotels in Columbia, SC and a hotel located in the vibrant downtown Columbia area near the University of South Carolina. Our hotel offers some of the finest accommodations in Columbia, SC. To meet our guests' needs, the Columbia Marriott hotel has remodeled guest rooms, lobby, meeting space, and restaurant and bar. Stay with us and you'll enjoy generous amenities such as pillow-top mattresses, 42" flat panel televisions, and wireless Internet access for plenty of entertainment. Our 28,000 square feet of space makes our Columbia, SC hotel a favorite choice for businesses and social functions in Columbia. Just minutes from popular destinations, including Columbia Museum of Art, Riverbanks Zoo, the state capitol, Colonial Life Arena, and Williams Brice Stadium, Columbia Marriott is close to many popular attractions. Guests are welcome to take advantage of our indoor pool and on-site fitness center. Reserve a room today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columbia Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Marriott Hotel Columbia
Marriott Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing