We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Rated”

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 1,026 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Ruth’s Chris Steak House in Columbia, SC is located in the heart of downtown in the city’s financial, entertainment and historic district in the lobby of the Hilton Hotel. The restaurant is conveniently located next door to the Columbia Convention Center and just a few blocks from the University of South Carolina campus.We serve the finest steaks in Columbia. Treat yourself to a USDA Prime steak that arrives sizzling on a 500° plate and a bottle from our award-winning wine list. With a spacious bar and multiple dining rooms that are ideal for business dinners, private parties and date nights, our Columbia steak house team offers a dining experience you and your guests will long remember.The restaurant boasts two private dining rooms as well as multiple meeting rooms and an expansive ballroom, enabling us to offer a variety of event options for 10 to 200 guests. Whether it’s a romantic dinner for two, an important business luncheon, a social event or an all-day meeting, Ruth’s Chris of Columbia can accommodate your needs.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I love steak. I love high quality food and drink but Ruth's Chris is over rated. I have been twice, as someones guest, and both times could only thick about how much I would enjoy a good flame cooked steak. I must say the calamari is the best I have ever had. Good service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chip1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

I wish you had been as impressed with our steaks as you were with our calamari, but I appreciate your candor. However, I'd like to gain some further insight into your visit, so please let me know if you'd like to discuss this further. Our passion for steak is unmatched, so I know we have what it takes to serve you an unforgettable meal!

Hope to speak with you soon,
David May, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 234 of 325 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

Great Service and Great Food...Management visiting tables to assure great food and service. Both Dinner and Breakfast were Excellent. Very Nice Atmosphere. Conveniently located in the Hilton Hotel...with Valet Parking. Chef sent some extra appetizers out...no charge...which was a very nice touch.

Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

So glad you enjoyed those complimentary appetizers, Michael, and the rest of your meal as well. Thank you for dining with us during your time in Columbia. We can't wait to welcome you back!

Warm regards,
David May, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Outstanding lunch for my wife on Valentine's day. I booked 4 days early and the only time I was able to get was 2:30pm. It turned out to be a great time for us, and less crowded. Josh give us great service! I ordered the ribeye med/well and it was very good. I would visit this restaurant again. Thanks for a great lunch experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank phatjaxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Went here for a birthday dinner with the family. It was my first time at a Ruths Chris and we were very disappointed. Service was spotty the whole time and whenever the servers came out with the plates they had no idea who they went to and it landed in front of the wrong person on several occasions. On top of all that the bread had mold on it, yes...mold. Unacceptable for ANY restaurant and just insane at a place of this supposed quality and high prices. We were eventually apologized to and the bill was adjusted. However, the damage was done and we won't be returning. I don't know about other locations, but this one apparently does not strive to live up to any kind of good name or quality of service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Although I'm glad that we were able to resolve this during your visit, I must apologize once again. The quality you described is indeed disappointing and definitely does not reflect the level of food, service and hospitality you have come to know and expect from the Ruth's Chris brand. I know our staff is more than capable of creating a five star dining experience, and I do hope you you'll give us another chance to impress you. Thanks again for your candid feedback, Paul!.

Regards,
David May, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

If you want to impress a client or treat a family member, friends, or special someone to a great dinner out, there is no better place than Ruth's Chris. The food is outstanding, the service great, and you will get a lot of food for the money. Excellent!

Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thanks for the outstanding review, Amy! We can't wait to welcome you back again—no matter what the occasion!

Warm regards,
David May, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House - Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing