We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“For Customer Service - Look elsewhere” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate
Ranked #47 of 96 Hotels in Columbia
Suffolk, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For Customer Service - Look elsewhere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The front desk manager (I think her name is Vera), had a [--] attitude. My bed was hard as a rock, so I got maybe 3 hours sleep. I asked her if they had a cushioned mattress pad, but she said they didn't. When I returned from touring the sites, I asked a different manager and she gave me a cushioned mattress pad that I put over the existing one. It made a significant difference, but the bed was still very firm. I questioned Vera in the morning why she told me there where no mattress pads when in fact I got one that evening. She told me there were none because they were all being washed. What a whopping lie. The note in the room stating guaranteed satisfaction might as well have been written on the back of a napkin. Besides this point of NO CUSTOMER SATSFACTION and NO FRONT DESK SUPPORT, I will additionally support why such a low rating, and question what the rest of my trip will look like as a Choice Hotel Armed Force Member. I am retired so my schedule is flexible. The bed was hard as a rock, the pool was closed and not usable due to lack of maintenance the continental breakfast would not even match Super 8, and the bathtub/shower is very narrow and slippery (even with the non-slip pad provided). The room was clean. By-pass this comfort Inn & suites. There attitude may be bad because they are close to an Army base and can give solders a less than great service and lodging because they don't complain for fear of reprisal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    27
    19
    9
    21
See reviews for
44
20
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I called this hotel after a horrible situation somewhere else. This hotel was like a palace compared to the "other place" I would recommend this hotel to anyone that needs a place to stay for a visit to the army base for graduation. The staff was friendly & professional - the rooms were clean - the sheets were changed everyday - the coffee pot was clean and the fridge too was clean. The breakfast was ok because it was more than I would do at home on a day I have so much to do. There are restaurants close within a couple of miles each direction on the main street. I would stay again with-out a question.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kbmjb1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband was scheduled to graduate from basic in December. Due to a scheduling conflict, they sent him to AIT (Advanced Training) a week before graduation. Myself, my parents, sister-in-law and 2 kids had all bought tickets to see the graduation. We made reservations at the Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate. Even with the change of orders form, they would not give us a refund for the rooms. Not even a voucher. Maybe if all soldiers families boycott this Comfort Inn, they will go out of business and learn to treat military families better.

If you know the military, nothing is ever set in stone. He has had 2 seperate change of orders since December and we have not had any problems with other hotels or airlines in getting reinbursements.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauramm81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Our soldier was due to graduate from basic school in December 2012 but the Army pushed up his graduation a week. We had paid for 2 rooms in advance. We were notified about 2 weeks before the trip (6 of us including 2 babies) and we notified these anti military people and asked for a refund due to his order change and or inability to change our airline tickets. They said no. We sent letters and emails and got the bureaucratic response...No refunds.
We were out over $600.00. BTW my wife and I both retired from the US Navy and our son is on active duty with the Navy in the Middle East.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Amy (daytime Front Desk Auditor) made the stay all the rage. I did not want to stay at first because I was put in a smoking room although my Priceline profile is nonsmoking. She showed me that Priceline DID NOT send over request. She gladly found me a room in their sold out hotel. Amy comes across a little aggressive but she is the sweetest person you can know.

It was kind of an older property and had a musky order. Other than that, the housekeeping department kept the property IMMACULATE. I travel 60-70% of my life and never have I stayed in a hotel that is kept this clean. My stay at a 5-star property before coming here paled in comparison when comparing cleanliness of the towels, bedding, floors, and furnishing in the room. I think the head housekeeper was Ms. Pearl. She wasn't very approachable but interestingly enough, Amy could get her to do anything to make the guests stay better.

I will stay at this hotel again. Not because it's better than the other properties around it but because of AMY. She helped me weeks before my actual trip. She took time to help me calculate the difference between renting a car versus taking a taxi. Her insight into that fact alone saved me $150 on my overall trip. The breakfast is very good. The host for the breakfast, sorry I can't recall her name, was the most pleasant morning person; only 2nd to me. Her "Hello, good morning, help yourself..." were effortless. The property is literally off exit #9, only a brief 5 minutes’ drive from the front gate of Fort Jackson. By the way, there's a Costco, Sam's, Wal-Mart, and (my favorite) Dollar Tree off exit #12 (front gate exit for Fort Jackson). There are many places to eat within 5-10 minutes’ drive, depending on your taste buds. When in doubt, just ask Amy or anyone at the front desk. They are very knowledgeable about the area. Have fun!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ask R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
189 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

If we were living in a bygone world where the internet weren't so important, this would have been the perfect place to stay -- good rooms, nice beds, agreeable staff . . . . but (and this is a disturbing trend I've run into lately), when I went to the front desk to report that I couldn't access the internet in my room, they simply gave me the 800-number of their "tech support" office, who would, ostensibly, "walk me through" connecting with the internet. This, of course, makes me think that THEY think that I'm some doofus who just bought a computer from a corner vendor before walking in their door. But, there was no option with them, so I humored them and called the number . . . . waited for the "next available representative", and when he answered, was promptly disconnected. So, I spent the rest of the evening, either sitting in the local McDonalds or in the motel lobby, where I could get a signal.

Having traveled for many years, and having stayed in probably hundreds of motels, I'm fairly sure that their problems could have been solved by a simple re-boot . . . . which they were unwilling to do. In the end, I don't like to have service "outsourced", when it should be handled locally by people who should care about their customers' satisfactory experience.

Room Tip: If you do the internet, ask to try it in the room before you complete your move-in . . . . there see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Hotel is nice / average! The beds / pillows were very comfortable. The rooms were clean. No complains! Bathroom needs little cosmetic work with tiles ! We had a problem the first night with the toilet, but it was fixed ASAP, after reporting it! Staff is very friendly and were nice at all times, especially the Breakfast Hostess deserves a compliment for her friendliness, keep the Area nice & clean, and provide the Breakfast great Job she does! The Breakfast was nice, a varierty for everybody something! I would recommend this Hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed downstairs near the Breakfast Area and Pool, it was quited!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yahman30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson
Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson
#46 of 96 in Columbia
3.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Columbia SE / Fort Jackson
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Columbia-Ft. Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia/Southeast-Ft. Jackson
7.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia
Comfort Suites Columbia
#33 of 96 in Columbia
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate

Property: Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate
Address: 7337 Garners Ferry Rd, Columbia, SC 29209-2110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 96 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites is a 67 room facility located near the Fort Jackson Main Gate off exit 9A on I77. We are conveniently located near restaurants and shopping. The hotel is located near the Riverbanks Zoo and Gardens, 6 miles from the University of South Carolina and near the South Carolina State House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate Hotel Columbia
Comfort Inn Columbia
Columbia Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing