We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice motel, but . . . .” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate
Ranked #47 of 95 Hotels in Columbia
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
202 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice motel, but . . . .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

If we were living in a bygone world where the internet weren't so important, this would have been the perfect place to stay -- good rooms, nice beds, agreeable staff . . . . but (and this is a disturbing trend I've run into lately), when I went to the front desk to report that I couldn't access the internet in my room, they simply gave me the 800-number of their "tech support" office, who would, ostensibly, "walk me through" connecting with the internet. This, of course, makes me think that THEY think that I'm some doofus who just bought a computer from a corner vendor before walking in their door. But, there was no option with them, so I humored them and called the number . . . . waited for the "next available representative", and when he answered, was promptly disconnected. So, I spent the rest of the evening, either sitting in the local McDonalds or in the motel lobby, where I could get a signal.

Having traveled for many years, and having stayed in probably hundreds of motels, I'm fairly sure that their problems could have been solved by a simple re-boot . . . . which they were unwilling to do. In the end, I don't like to have service "outsourced", when it should be handled locally by people who should care about their customers' satisfactory experience.

Room Tip: If you do the internet, ask to try it in the room before you complete your move-in . . . . there see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    27
    19
    9
    21
See reviews for
45
20
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Hotel is nice / average! The beds / pillows were very comfortable. The rooms were clean. No complains! Bathroom needs little cosmetic work with tiles ! We had a problem the first night with the toilet, but it was fixed ASAP, after reporting it! Staff is very friendly and were nice at all times, especially the Breakfast Hostess deserves a compliment for her friendliness, keep the Area nice & clean, and provide the Breakfast great Job she does! The Breakfast was nice, a varierty for everybody something! I would recommend this Hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed downstairs near the Breakfast Area and Pool, it was quited!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yahman30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I wanted to be close to the base and easy to find which was great about the hotel. The hotel is nice and the staff very friendly and helpful. There was a little snag here and there but it was fixed and I had a very nice stay...the beds are comfortable and the morning breakfast was very nice. The pool is open all the time not like some other hotels with time limits so that is really great you can go anytime. The price is great and I would recommend the hotel to anyone that has business in town or has a graduation to attend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine_Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek OH
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is located amid several that cater to transient visitors to Ft. Jackson, a secondary training school for the Army. But for those passing through, the location is convenient to I-77, I-26 and I-20, the included breakfast hot, and the rooms clean and quiet. They have graduation at the fort every week, we're told, and so rooms are usually not discounted on T-W-Th. But this still is a good overnight value.

Room Tip: Non-smoking is the norm here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beavergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I just needed a weekend away. This place was PERFECT! We stayed in the Suite with a jacuzzi.... It was amazing! Staff was sooo friendly and helpful. Very clean and well kept. We also enjoyed the indoor pool and patio area in the evening. Would defineitly recommend this place to anyone who needs to just "Getaway"!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelPrincess66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just walked in one night looking for a room and was greeted by a very friendly staff. Had a great day there just hanging out at the pool. Easy access to and from the highway. Pillows were some of the best out of any hotel I have stayed at. The breakfast was great and the breakfast attendant was very nice to talk too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed this past weekend at this hotel,rooms were very clean, breakfast was good with alot of choices and staff was very helpful and friendly.. Would recommend this hotel to friends traveling to the area. Nice hotel for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H0telqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson
Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson
#46 of 95 in Columbia
3.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Columbia SE / Fort Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia/Southeast-Ft. Jackson
7.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia
Comfort Suites Columbia
#34 of 95 in Columbia
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
7.8 mi away
Quality Inn Fort Jackson
Quality Inn Fort Jackson
#56 of 95 in Columbia
3.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate

Property: Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate
Address: 7337 Garners Ferry Rd, Columbia, SC 29209-2110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 95 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites is a 67 room facility located near the Fort Jackson Main Gate off exit 9A on I77. We are conveniently located near restaurants and shopping. The hotel is located near the Riverbanks Zoo and Gardens, 6 miles from the University of South Carolina and near the South Carolina State House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate Hotel Columbia
Comfort Inn Columbia
Columbia Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing