We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stinker!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate
Ranked #47 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Booked this hotel despite all of the negative reviews simply because we needed a place to stay that would sleep a family of 5 for the Carolina game. Arrived at hotel lobby and was met by a large disgruntled group of people that had booked the hotel 2 nights only to come back for the 2nd night of their stay to find their luggage had been moved out and their room had been rented out. Hated it for them, but grateful we still had a room. Arrived to our very musky room just ready to hit the sack only to find that they gave us the wrong room (not the 2 queen sofa sleeper nonsmoking suite we paid extra for) without enough places for our family to sleep. So, I dialed the front desk and told them they gave us the wrong type of room to which he responded "I'll leave a note for my manager". I mentioned that would not be acceptable as we did not have enough beds and we would need to be refunded for the extra cost of the "suite" we had already paid for. Once again we were told there was nothing they could do. After my family settled in the beds we did have and I on the DISGUSTING floor we got a call from the front desk. Someone canceled a 2 queen sofa suite & they could move us to the correct room type! Things were starting to look up - we said we'd take it. We move into the new even more filthy stinky smoky room and now we had enough beds but "they did not have any pillows for the sofa bed". They said we could not borrow one from the previous ro or we'd be charged for taking a pillow. Seriously?! We make do. Pull open the sofa bed to find it still had dirty sheets on it! Try to ring down to the front desk for a clean set, but the phone didn't work! Comical at this point, right? Managed to get some sleep despite the smoky stench, folded up the sofa bed in the AM and when we did about 20 TOENAIL clippings fell out of the mattress! Nasty!!! We about lost our breakfast!!! What a nightmare! Please do yourself a favor and book someplace else!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Courtdoggydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 120 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

As I prepare to write a review, I see some pretty negative comments. Is this the same hotel we just stayed at? Our experience was positive. We would stay here again.

We had a good night stay at a very reasonable price, particularly for a holiday weekend. We had a quality Continental breakfast experience. I appreciated the complimentary Wall Street Journal.

Parking was limited in the front, so we parked in the adjacent back of Shoney's parking lot where there were many spots.

The hotel had a pool. We did not swim but noticed many others were and seemed to be having fun.

There are not a lot of quality eating places in this area. We ate at the Shoney's next to the hotel. It was actually a delight.

This hotel area is located near the main entrance of a significant US Army training base, Fort Jackson. The area looked a little run down but it honestly it felt safe.

If you are on a limited budget, or frugal like us, based on our experience, we would recommend this place. All we can go by is our own experience. Our one night stay here was pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreenMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

There were very few parking places in front of the hotel. We needed a handicapped parking place and since there were very few, we were told to park across the road in the Shoney's parking lot.

Either you parked in the Shoney's lot or you parked behind the hotel and had to walk to the front entrance and the lighting was not good.

We waited a long time for the breakfast to be served. We finally gave up and went out to eat.

The front desk personnel were not friendly nor helpful.

Room Tip: There are several other Comfort Inns in the Columbia area that are much better than this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Do not stay at this hotel. It is the worst I have ever seen. Stayed here on April 6 in a "suite". Bedding was adequate but there was blood on the ceiling, peeling wallpaper, a broken clock held together by tape, moldy bathroom, the finish worn off of the tub, yellow toilet. Wi-fi didn't work. The pool was murky with hair floating on top and a pipe from the pool as laying on the cement next to the pool. The hot tub has been filled with cement, but the controls are still on the wall. The place is in complete disrepair. If I hadn't driven 15 hours to get there, I would have left. Trust me, DO NOT STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coldinrochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Just there on the 11th of April. Feces and hair on toilet seat. Hair all over shower curtain and shower. Cigarette burns in the bedspread. Sheets with sheared spots in them. Chairs so dirty that you could not tell the color of material. Looked behind and at baseboards surrounding room and found that no one has cleaned behind anything in the room for ever. Food in fridge from last time someone stayed in the room. I would never stay there again and I don't know why Comfort Inn lets them keep thier name on the building. Disgusting place!!!

Room Tip: The brand new Holiday Inn around the corner is much better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John6_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

This is one of the worst hotels I have ever been in. The room was dirty and smelled like sewer. The toilet would run every once in awhile. The bathroom facilities looked like they had been there since 1950. The WiFi was very inadequate! The only thing the room had going was a nice flat screen TV. Also the woman that cooked and served breakfast was very friendly and nice. She needs to be employed by a better hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay in any of their rooms if they are like the one we had Room 116.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We needed a place to stay for a few days while we were enjoying the Fort Jackson ceremony for all the soldiers graduating the week of Jan 17-20 2012. We thought the room was fine for the money. Beds were cozy and the pillows were the best so far in hotels that we stayed at. They had a nice hot breakfast which consisted of eggs, sausage gravy , sausage patties, bagels, donuts, toast, fresh fruit, juice, cereal.
Only complaint was bathroom door hit the toilet when you went to open or shut it.
Yea room could of been cleaner, but its not like we were staying in it all day, just long enough to sleep get up go to fort jackson come back later in evening. Did enjoy the pool and hot tub.

Room Tip: stayed on the 3rd floor, really didnt hear alot on noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lynn66Oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Columbia-Ft. Jackson
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Columbia SE / Fort Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia/Southeast-Ft. Jackson
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbia/At Fort Jackson
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Fort Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate

Address: 7337 Garners Ferry Rd, Columbia, SC 29209-2110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range: $87 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites is a 67 room facility located near the Fort Jackson Main Gate off exit 9A on I77. We are conveniently located near restaurants and shopping. The hotel is located near the Riverbanks Zoo and Gardens, 6 miles from the University of South Carolina and near the South Carolina State House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate Hotel Columbia
Comfort Inn Columbia
Columbia Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing