We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor to average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Columbia - Ft. Jackson
Ranked #57 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Depends of your expectations from a place to stay. My number one concern is security and cleanliness. And this is where this place dropped the ball. It started with me calling and securing a rate by phone 49 at night but when I got there the clerk says that it was $70 a night. After complaining he got it down to $52 a night, low but it's not $49. When I go to the room the smell of cigarette and must old hit me in the face. The paint in the walls stripping. Only one temperature for the shower.... Scalding hot! Not recommended unless you are broke. People live here too. The tv and wireless was awesome though.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank Tommy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cripley, Owner at Extended Stay America - Columbia - Ft. Jackson, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I sincerely apologize that there was confusion on the rate. I am investigating to ensure that this does not happen again in the future. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at cripley@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 102 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

I was able to be pretty comfortable for the 8 nights that I stayed while working in the area. The location is a little odd, you need to navigate the parking lot of Sam's and Walmart to get back to the hotel. It does have easy access to the Interstate and for those visiting Ft. Jackson, there is a gate very close. The room was comfortable enough although, I think they should have an easy chair in the room, the only chairs are office chairs at the table...not comfortable. I often stay at extended stay hotels just for the convenience of the full kitchen, it can make a big difference if you are staying for at least 3-4 days. I did notice that the place gets pretty crowded and noisy during base graduation days.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inspectorman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I reserved and paid for 2 rooms. Got there early after driving 8 hours from Maryland. We asked if we could have perhaps 1 room of the 2 to change clothes for a big football game my son plays for the local College. We witnessed the cleaning crew complete several rooms. The MANAGER said "I have to inspect the rooms AND I am working on something that must be done right now" ."they were rude and continued to ignore our presence for 2 solid hours. I asked the person while making the reservation if early check in was available and told yes. The Manager continued to tell me ... "check in is not until 3:00" we only wanted to freshen up and change clothes after being on the road for 8 hours of driving. The did not so much as offer the restroom. We finally got into the room after waiting 2 hours in the small lobby. The most important piece of this event is that you MUST train your people. Every situation is not the same. I was a customer service representative for 26 years at Verizon and the customers always came first. And even if they did not, YOU should at the very least make them FEEL that way. This was absolutely horrible. I am also informing HOTWIRE that from this experience Hotel reservations will not be made through them for me. You must TRAIN the front desk personel. The room once inside was also horrible. They didn't even bother to spray. We normally stay at the CLARION in columbia and have never experience this type of service . It was terrible.

Room Tip: we stay at the Clarion and have NEVER experience this type of service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cripley, Owner at Extended Stay America - Columbia - Ft. Jackson, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I am sorry to hear that you were not able to check in early. I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at CFJ@extendedstay.com. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

We are a new to he area, Military family staying here until we close on our house. We stayed here for almost a month- between being right next to 77 with constant noise, witnessing some hoodlums stealing tires off a car in the parking lot, someone smoking in their room and setting off the whole hotel alarms THREE times (once in the middle of the night) and other loud guests drinking and socializing outside our room frequently, I can't give this a good rating. We stayed here because of the price, but if I could do it over again I would have stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori-l-Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cripley, Owner at Extended Stay America - Columbia - Ft. Jackson, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. The noise and overall issues that you described is not acceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. In response to your feedback, I am considering security. Thank you again for providing us with your feedback. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at cripley@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Came out for a boot camp graduation. Close to base, yet close to other amenities too. Nice room and friendly staff. We booked in advance and we were unsure of area. Close to the freeway but tucked back for some seclusion and quiet. Price was VERY good as well. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherpounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cripley, Owner at Extended Stay America - Columbia - Ft. Jackson, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

While passing through Columbia we stayed here. The hardest part was finding the hotel! It is located at the address of a large shopping mall, but is actually BEHIND the mall, just behind Wal-Mart. If one is visiting Fort Jackson, the location is ideal as the mall is just outside the main gate of the fort.

The rooms were clean and average for this price range, although smelled a bit as if they had been closed up for a while. A nice addition is that every room has a full sized refrigerator and a kitchenette, something I would not have expected at this price. The front desk even gave us a call 30 minutes after we checked in to be sure the rooms were satisfactory!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the side of the hotel away from I-95. We booked two rooms and one was on each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeE73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cripley, Owner at Extended Stay America - Columbia - Ft. Jackson, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm glad that you enjoyed the kitchen area. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I always stay here when visiting Columbia. Good rates and nice clean rooms. Glad to see they have flat screens in the rooms now. I think the soldiers were getting a little rowdy when we checked in but when it became late all was quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cripley, Owner at Extended Stay America - Columbia - Ft. Jackson, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
4.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Columbia East - Ft Jackson
3.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Columbia SE / Fort Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate
3.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Columbia-Ft. Jackson
3.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Fort Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Columbia - Ft. Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Columbia - Ft. Jackson

Address: 5430 Forest Dr, Columbia, SC 29206-5401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range: $63 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Columbia - Ft. Jackson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Extended Stay America - Columbia - Ft. Jackson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Columbia - Ft. Jackson Hotel Columbia
Extended Stay Columbia
Columbia Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing