We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Columbia - Ft. Jackson
Ranked #60 of 95 Hotels in Columbia
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never Again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Upon entering the room, we found another couple already there. I went back to the front desk and he had already heard from the couple about our entering the room. It took him 15 mins to find another room. Did not offer us an upgrade. Made a feable attempt at an apology then blamed another person.

The room itself was very plain wrapper. Basically a motel 6 with a fridge and a sink. The fully stocked kitchen....isn't.

The bed was like sleeping on a rock. NO hair dryer. NO Shampoo. Towels were like sandpaper.

I will NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank captwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    11
    11
    24
See reviews for
30
9
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new brunswick, nj
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

this is a great location if your business takes you to fort jackson army base. you could amost walk there from here if you had to.
i was given a handicapped accessible room which i did not need but it worked to my advantage, it was very spacious. there was a comfortable bed, nice TV with a decent amount of channels and a kitchenette. the bathroom was very large and because of the wheelchair access the shower was walk-in huge.
the room was clean but could use a bit of updating. for the price i won't complain, it was definitely worth every penny to be so close to base.
if you put the address in your GPS don't be surprised to find yourself in a Walmart parking lot. the hotel is located behind the Sam's club in that same shopping center. Lots of available eateries in the area.
thanks to the friendly and helpful folks at the front desk!!

Room Tip: lots of chain restaurants in the area but i found a wonderful little 'bistro' type place a 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank rthrbtrvln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

l loved this hotel. Great staff. Wonderful place to stay.
If you are looking for a great place to stay that is close to fort jackson.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airforcejohn1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Went to visit family in Columbia and needed to bring our dog with us. This place that let us bring our four-legged family member for a fair price. We paid an extra $25 for the pet fee. There was a large open grassy area for her to do her "business", so that was a plus. I'll admit I'm a bit of a hotel snob, but the room was clean. Nothing special though. A lot of places that accept pets have a funky smell to them, but this place smelled fresh and not like they're trying to cover up dirty pet or smoke odors. They had a little kitchenette, so it was nice to be able to refrigerate our leftovers and later warm them up on a plate in the microwave. It's a motel off I-77, so easy to get to. It was fine for one night. Young man at the front desk was friendly. If we had to take the dog in the future, we'd probably stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sugarfoot57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here for 10 days to see our daughter graduate from Basic Training and to house hunt. The room was $50 per night and very convenient to Fort Jackson. I would definitely stay there again if I needed inexpensive lodging. Bed was surprisingly comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seattleite61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

We recently stayed at this hotel for our grandson’s graduation from basic training at Fort Jackson. Was a little concerned when I read one of the reviews but was surprised when we arrived with a very clean room and freshly made bed. Helpful staff, convenient location in the mall for things we needed and so close to Ft. Jackson. Like the refrigerator for our drinks and snacks. They don’t supply hotel toiletries (shampoo/conditioner) but we knew that ahead of time and brought our own, so for $59.00 a night it was great!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tina19468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

This hotel is very close to Fort Jackson and a good choice if you are there to see a soldier graduate. The hotel, while not really difficult to find, is situated behind a shopping center, not right on the main road. It is an older building but not run down. Our queen non-smoking room was gone when we got there so they "upgraded" us to a king smoking room. Thankfully the room did not have a strong smokey smell. The place was completely full but still fairly quiet. Our king bed was comfortable. We were on the side next to the freeway. Traffic noise was an issue at first but we got used to it. This is more like an apartment than a hotel. They don't make your bed or change your towels every day. You can get clean towels from the office whenever you need them. They don't supply the rooms with shampoo, etc. so bring your own. There are plenty of places to eat and shop. I recommend Pancho's for good Mexican food. There is a Sam's Club and a Wal-mart nearby as well as several smaller stores. Even a movie theater close by. We paid $70/night. It was worth it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tenaciousd68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
3.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Columbia-Ft. Jackson
3.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Fort Jackson
3.3 mi away
Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson
Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson
#46 of 95 in Columbia
3.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Columbia SE / Fort Jackson
3.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbia/At Fort Jackson
3.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Columbia - Ft. Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Columbia - Ft. Jackson

Property: Extended Stay America - Columbia - Ft. Jackson
Address: 5430 Forest Dr, Columbia, SC 29206-5401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 95 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Columbia - Ft. Jackson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Extended Stay, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Extended Stay America - Columbia - Ft. Jackson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Columbia - Ft. Jackson Hotel Columbia
Extended Stay Columbia
Columbia Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing