We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson
Ranked #34 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
daytona beach
Level Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“nice place to stay”
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Very nice hotel, pleasant staff, clean, very reasonable. I will stay there again.

  • Liked — facilty
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    57
    28
    10
    11
See reviews for
66
40
19
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2008

We stayed at the Holiday Inn, Ft. Jackson while my son attended a baseball camp at the Univ. of SC. This was the first hotel on our cross-country trip. It turned out to be one of the best hotels from the trip.

The room was very spacious, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the breakfast had a nice variety and was never too crowded. The washer/dryer was convenient.

The only thing we noticed that could be improved upon is the temperature in the lobby area. It was always a bit warm. Not sure if there was a problem w/the A.C. but it didn't seem to be functioning properly.

I'd definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kleen60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2008

Was attending training at Ft Jackson, and had the opportunity to spend the weekend out in town, prior to deploying to Afghanistan. Let me tell you....for my last 2 weekends in the US, this was the perfect property. I had no complaints for either stay. Rooms are perfect. Location is pefect, and the price is right. Fair warning----the hotel books up, quickly, on weekends due to graduations at Ft Jackson....so, book early. And, occasionally the lobby would get a bit loud with all the Army folks there, but, not a big deal.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank MARATHON-MCPO-USN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2008

Booked via Priority Club site because of the reviews I read here on TripAdvisor. Very nice employees, great location if visiting Ft. Jackson and there is a Walmart, Target, drugstore and many places to eat nearby which is nice. The room was also very nice but beware the cleaning staff had left the shower head aimed out of the tub so I soaked myself and the floor. It was good for a laugh. Breakfast in the lobby (included) is also a nice touch.

  • Liked — modern decor
  • Disliked — couldn't tell me where to find vegetarian restaurant
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SubicChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2008

We had a dual purpose for staying here: it was the halfway point from our holiday vacation in Florida and we were visiting a friend the next morning. This hotel has the most modern, spacious, comfortable rooms. The main bedroom was huge and then there was a split level area with a pull out sofa where our 4 year old daughter slept. Each space/room had a flat screen TV so it was nice to watch a movie with my husband while our daughter fell asleep watching cartoons. Not sure about what Columbia, SC has to offer since we were only meeting a friend for breakfast on our way back from a vacation but I could have stayed in that luxurious room all day!

  • Liked — room, two flat screen TVs
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rodrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hamster
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2008

Beware - if you make your reservations in ONE person's name, i.e., your spouse, but do not add yourself, you may not be able to get into the room in the following case:

We went to SC to see my husband's son graduate from Basic Training at Ft. Jackson. The morning of the ceremony, we called the front desk to ask if we could check out late and were told we could check out at 1 pm. After the ceremony, my husband and his son were involved in getting formal photos taken so I volunteered to return to the hotel in order to make the 1 pm checkout deadline. I had a room key card but I couldnt get in the room so took it to the front desk and was told "Oh they don't work after noon" which would have been nice to know when we called to ask for a 1 pm checkout. Before I was given another, I was asked to provide my driver's license which I had to go out to the car to get. They saw that I had the same last name and same address as my husband, in whose name the room was rented (although I myself had made those reservations), but THEY WOULDNT GIVE ME A NEW KEY CARD BECAUSE MY NAME WAS NOT ON THE RESERVATION!!!!!! They said "Is there somewhere we could reach your husband?" I said "Yes he has a cell fone but he might not hear it, he is half deaf and they're in a loud mall-like area." I hoped and prayed he would hear it. I said in a very irritated manner, "WHAT IF HE WAS NOT REACHABLE BY FONE? Some people might not be! And not everyone HAS a cell fone! You're telling me I won't be able to get back into the room to check out by YOUR deadline if he is not reachable by fone?????!!!!!! You gotta be honking me!" And I should have added, "What if I had put him on a plane right after the ceremony?" as I am sure must happen to SOME parents of the several classes of 1000 soldiers who graduate every year. Fortunately, they were able to reach my husband on his cell fone and I was able to get a new key card and get into the room. I was livid. They kept saying "Well it's for your protection" and "That's our policy" like that made everything okay!!! When my husband heard about it, he said they must do that to protect cheating spouses from suspicious spouses, but they knew I had stayed in the room already, BECAUSE I had a key card! So really, there is no GOOD reason for them to deny me access to a room I had already slept in 2 nights. I guess they thought I might have FOUND the key card somewhere and just decided I wanted to try to get into that particular room, and my last name and address JUST HAPPENED to match EXACTLY the last name and address of the person registered for that room! HOW STUPID CAN YOU GET.

So - just so ya know, it's a nice place, with a nice breakfast, but STUPID rules like that totally ruined the experience, and for no good reason that I could see. I will be writing to the manager and the manager's boss. Plus the ceiling of room 501 is horribly patched and ugly as it must have leaked like crazy at some point.

  • Liked — room was decent, bathroom decent, breakfast good for its type (not sit-down restaurant order off the menu)
  • Disliked — nitwitted policies that make no sense whatsoever. travelers store sold single serving cereal but no milk!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aurolingus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
158 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2007

We found this hotel by accident and couldn't have been more pleased. The hotel looked and smelled like brand new and the beds were heavenly after a long day on the road. The continental breakfast had a huge variety to choose from. We spent 3 nights at this location and would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Clean & friendly
  • Disliked — No negatives
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia/Southeast-Ft. Jackson
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Columbia SE / Fort Jackson
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Columbia-Ft. Jackson
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson
Address: 7329 Garners Ferry Rd, Columbia, SC 29209-2110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Columbia hotel is surrounded by businesses and attractions. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Columbia-Fort Jackson, located 14 miles from Columbia Metropolitan Airport (CAE) and 5 miles from the CLB Amtrak Station, puts you only minutes away from the major business and culture districts of Columbia, SC. Business travelers lodging in this Columbia hotel are less than five miles from the Vista and Five Points business districts as well as the State Capitol. You'll find our Columbia hotel is one of the closest accommodations to both Fort Jackson and the University of South Carolina. Both the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center and the hotel's three meeting rooms are available for you to host an event while traveling. The area offers a vibrant cultural life. You can check out the art galleries in Five Points or relax at Finlay Park in the Vista near our Columbia hotel. Downtown Columbia hosts multiple art shows, free concerts, and cultural events throughout the year. You'll also find the peaceful Riverfront Park ,as well as Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Gardens within seven miles of the hotel. This Columbia hotel shows you true southern hospitality by offering amenities such as a 24-hour convenience store and an indoor, heated pool and whirlpool. You'll enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast bar and a 100% non-smoking hotel room when you stay at the Columbia, SC Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson
Holiday Inn Columbia
Holiday Inn Express Columbia
Columbia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing