We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson
Ranked #29 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Las Vegas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Updated holiday inn express with clean rooms, pleasant cleaning staff. Very basic bkfast offerings, but will do when in a rush. Front desk staff distractable easily. Location is good for easy travel north or south. Proximity to VAMC and Med school can be helpful for future applicants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dburt24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear dburt24,

We would like to thank you for your feedback of our hotel. Your feedback helps us understand our guests' needs and improve our service. We are sorry to hear our customer service did not meet your expectations. Attention to our guests' needs is our primary focus and your satisfaction is our top priority. We hope you will visit us again so that we may extend a better experience. Thank you again for staying with us.

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    57
    28
    10
    11
See reviews for
68
40
19
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for two nights for our son's graduation from BCT. This hotel is grouped with other hotels near Fort Jackson. Easy on off from highway leading to Fort Jackson. 10 minits from entrance to Fort Jackson. Rooms were clean and spacious. Towels and bathroom ammenities were stocked each day. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was only okay, better than nothing. Only draw back was that all hotel doors are locked so that you can't get in even with your key. Only door used for entrance is the front door.They tell you this when you check in. Not many parking spaces in the front of the hotel. When loading/unloading use the front entrance and then park your car. Waffle House and Shoney's next door. Family Dollar about three blocks. Hotel is a 20 minute drive from Columbia airport. Quiet and restfull. Great hotel to stay at if you're going to BCT graduation at Fort Jacksn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Linda G,

We would like to thank you for your feedback of our hotel. Your feedback helps us understand our guests' needs and improve our service. We hope that you will stay with us again if you come to the area and we hope to extend an even better experience. Thank you again for staying with us.

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Spent two nights for my son's army boot camp graduation. Lots of other families were there doing the same. The room was large but otherwise very average. The bathroom was reasonably up-to-date. Nothing special here except how difficult it is to exit the parking lot. The road is very busy and hard to turn left on, which is what you have to do to get back to the highway. Also, beware, the Holiday Inn sign is small in relation to the surrounding signs. We drove right past the hotel the first time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dawnabeita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear dawnabeita,

Thank you for taking time to post a review of our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. We are deeply sorry for the inconvenience you experienced due to the size of the hotel signage and parking lot area situation. We will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

This was our 5th stay along our route from Fl to Mi and back. We ranked this hotel NUMBER 1 for super clean, beautiful decor, comfortable beds, and friendly courteous staff. Also, the air conditioning unit was behind a wall and quiet and not under the window, a big plus and not in too many hotels for the same rate charged Will be back next time we are by this way!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Marybk1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Marybk1221,

Thank you for taking time to post a review of our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. We are happy to hear that you are a returning guest and look forward to accommodating you on your next visit to the area. We hope that we can make your next stay even better.

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I'm generally a fan of Holiday Inn Express, so I chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews for a recent quick trip to Congaree National Park. The surrounding area is not great, but what disappointed me the most was uneven state of the rooms, in particular yellowing bedlinen - as if they had been washed too many times or ineffectively. The breakfast is standard H-InnEx fare, fine for the cold stuff, slightly unappetizing eggs and biscuits.

It would be passable for a highway stopover coming down I-77.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThirdWrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear ThirdWrangler,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and services are superior and we strive to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations to all of our guests. I am sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret you were not fully satisfied with the condition of the room you received. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we thank you for sharing your feedback as this is our best resource for improving the quality and services we offer.

I hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Ft. Jackson post lodging was full so we were put up at the Holiday Inn Express off of Garner's Ferry Road. Very nice, clean, newer hotel. All of the staff was very friendly. Breakfast was nice but got a little repetitive over the 2 weeks.

We went to either the Vista (downtown) or Sand Hill Mall (off I-77 north) for good dinning options.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review of our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around.

We apologize that our breakfast was not as diverse as you would have liked. We will use your comments to further improve. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall and look forward to accommodating you on your next visit to the area. We hope that we can make your next stay even better.

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed one night on our way to the beach. Our first standard room had plumbing issues, so we were immediately moved to a king size jacuzzi suite at no extra cost. The room was very nice with a big jacuzzi in the living area. The bed was comfortable and the extras plentiful! The hotel was quiet and seemed to be well-maintained. The front desk person was knowledgeable about local restaurants and steered us to a great locally owned spot. The location of the hotel was perfect for travelers and had many dining options nearby. The breakfast was pretty typical, but the decadent cinnamon rolls made up for the plastic eggs! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GinMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear GinMcG,

Thank you for taking time to post a review of our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant experience and look forward to accommodating you on your next visit to the area. We hope that we can make your next stay even better.

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia/Southeast-Ft. Jackson
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Columbia SE / Fort Jackson
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Columbia-Ft. Jackson
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson
Address: 7329 Garners Ferry Rd, Columbia, SC 29209-2110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Columbia hotel is surrounded by businesses and attractions. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Columbia-Fort Jackson, located 14 miles from Columbia Metropolitan Airport (CAE) and 5 miles from the CLB Amtrak Station, puts you only minutes away from the major business and culture districts of Columbia, SC. Business travelers lodging in this Columbia hotel are less than five miles from the Vista and Five Points business districts as well as the State Capitol. You'll find our Columbia hotel is one of the closest accommodations to both Fort Jackson and the University of South Carolina. Both the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center and the hotel's three meeting rooms are available for you to host an event while traveling. The area offers a vibrant cultural life. You can check out the art galleries in Five Points or relax at Finlay Park in the Vista near our Columbia hotel. Downtown Columbia hosts multiple art shows, free concerts, and cultural events throughout the year. You'll also find the peaceful Riverfront Park ,as well as Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Gardens within seven miles of the hotel. This Columbia hotel shows you true southern hospitality by offering amenities such as a 24-hour convenience store and an indoor, heated pool and whirlpool. You'll enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast bar and a 100% non-smoking hotel room when you stay at the Columbia, SC Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Columbia-Fort Jackson
Holiday Inn Columbia
Holiday Inn Express Columbia
Columbia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing