We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Columbia Northeast-Fort Jackson Area
Ranked #9 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here for 4th or 5th time. It is a vintage Hampton Inn of the older layout but very well maintained. Staff are especially helpful and efficient. Location is fairly quiet and near dining and shopping. Nothing but good comments.

Room Tip: Go for an upper floor on back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (708)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 708 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

Close to Ft. Jackson graduation gate - less than 10 minute drive. Clean hotel. Rooms look like they were recently renovated - especially the bathroom - they were clean. Comfortable bed and pillows. The breakfast was just okay - the scrambled eggs were hard but the waffles are good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed there for 5 nights and enjoyed it. The beds are so comfortable. The room overall was very comfortable. The front desk learned our name and spoke each and every time we went by the desk. This one is near 6 restaurants-all walking distances as in walk across the driveway and you are there.
The breakfast was standard fare and the eating area was very nice. The big table had outlets in the side so you could plug in your laptop or any other device.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor. Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent four nights at the Hampton Inn Northeast while attending graduation events at Fort Jackson. The staff was friendly and helpful, providing a separate handout for directions to our activities at Fort Jackson. The hotel is about 5 miles from the base, so it's very convenient. The housekeeping staff was equally friendly and helpful, bringing us additional towels when requested and inquiring abou whether everything was satisfactory in our room.

The hotels is right at the exits of both I-77 and I-20, so it was very convenient to jump on either interstate to venture out to other places.

The hotel was very clean, and the breakfasts were varied with an egg and meat variety each day, as well as the usual waffles, bagels, muffins, juice, coffee, hot oatmeal, and cold cereal. A USA Today is complimentary in the lobby.

The pool was still open in the first week of October, and the weather was in the 80's during the day, so it was a welcome amenity to a northerner this late in the year.

There are a number of restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel, without having to venture up onto the busy Two Notch Road.

One downside is trying to turn off Barbara Drive (where the hotel is located) onto Two Notch Road, the main road to the interstates. Not the hotel's fault, of course, but the city should review the traffic light situation at that intersection. It's an awkward situation, and the light from Barbara to Two Notch holds FOREVER. We waited a full 7 minutes for a green light or traffic to clear to make a right-on-red from Barbara onto Two Notch. If you are trying to get onto Two Notch Road, we suggest taking the service road that parallels Two Notch to the Daulton (sp?) intersection, where there's also a light, but it is much shorter.

Room Tip: If you're going onto Two Notch Road, take the service road in front of the Home Depot to the nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Picngrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Hampton Inn for one night on our way down to Florida. It was a very nice stay. We were given the option for which floor we wanted so we picked a room on the top floor at the end of the hallway. It was a quiet room and we never heard any of our neighbors. There’s a very nice looking outdoor pool, but unfortunately we didn’t have time to use it. All of the TV channels were in HD which was great. There are plenty of restaurants close by. We walked to a nearby Chili’s for dinner. Breakfast was your typical Hampton Inn breakfast. A little bland, but all hotel breakfasts seem to be that way. We will stay here again next time we go to Florida.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDUB409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My family stayed at this hotel in August for my husband's graduation. Our room was very nice and big plus, that it didn't have that musty smell. My son's birthday was the next day, so that morning, they let us decorate the breakfast area for him. When we finished breakfast, the staff surprised him (and us) with pail and shovel full of snacks! It was such a nice treat and I have never had a hotel think of us like that! The staff was super friendly and very helpful! Defiantly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Spent a night in this hotel when taking my daughter to Columbia College because we got a great price on Hotwire. After reading the reviews, I was more than a little nervous about staying here. When we arrived, the lobby looked fabulous with the renovation. The check in staff was extremely friendly and fast. I questioned them about the housekeeping issues that I had read about and they said changes had been made to the staff. The room was nice, clean and spacious. The A/C unit is very loud and would bother a light sleeper. I loved the new lamps on the tables with the built in outlets which were convenient for plugging in laptops and cell phone chargers. Location is very convenient with the interstates nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fourolivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia / Northeast
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia/Southeast-Ft. Jackson
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia North East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Harbison Boulevard
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia
Comfort Suites Columbia
#21 of 93 in Columbia
187 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia I-20 / Clemson Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia Northeast-Fort Jackson Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia Northeast-Fort Jackson Area

Address: 1551 Barbara Dr, Columbia, SC 29223-6209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Columbia
#7 Family Hotel in Columbia
#8 Business Hotel in Columbia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: $89 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia Northeast-Fort Jackson Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia Northeast-Fort Jackson Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia Northeast Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing