We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice stay, beautiful grounds- if you are visiting Clemson stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Clemson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I spent 2 nights here last weekend (Nov 9-11, 2013) clean hotel, great staff and beautiful grounds. Golf course on site looks beautiful. The only reason it did not get 5 stars- continental breakfast that came with our room was pretty scarce- we got there with an hour and a half to go with the breakfast buffet and there was next to nothing to choose from- fresh fruit almost ALL gone, no yogurt, you could get a waffle, plain bagel or cereal- muffins and pastries almost all gone too except for the big chocolate ones. Also fitness center- really small only 3 machines, no treadmill. And lastly, walls on the thin side, could hear our neighbors and their alarm clock even woke me up - I was trying to figure out how to shut it off when I realized it wasn't mine! However, room nice size- had a micro and mini fridge (which did hum a bit), bathroom nice size and the proximity to campus great. The best thing about this hotel- the BEDS were GREAT!

Room Tip: make sure you are away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GET_TRAVELING247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClemsonCCI, Public Relations Manager at Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

We have listened to your feedback and made some adjustments. We now offer a full hot breakfast with your stay (Up to two complimentary per room night) and children under 5 eat free. We have also completed renovations on our fitness studio. We have enlarged the fitness studio and have furnished the room with new equipment. We are currently in the process of room renovations-- complete with sound proofing efforts! Thank you for your suggestions in making our property even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 101 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

The James F. Martin Inn is attached to the Clemson University Conference Center and was recommended to me by the staff at Clemson. I'm sure they've never stayed here however. The first room I was given when I arrived after 10 PM was on the ground floor and had an exterior door to the grounds of the Inn. A single female traveler doesn't necessarily prefer this type of room for security reasons. Food service ends at 10 PM, so no dinner or snack was available for this weary traveler. Additonally, the room had adjoining room access and I could easily hear the T.V. and phone conversation the next door guest was having. So I went back to the desk and asked to change rooms. Fine and well. I was given a different room on the 4th floor also facing Hartwell Lake and a lovely morning scene. No next door neighbors the first night. Not so the second night. My new neighbors had their T.V. on and I was able to hear it very well until around 11 PM when they finally turned it off after I knocked on the adjoining room door and asked them politely to turn it down. I had to turn the room fan on all night so as not to hear corridor noise and my neighbors. In addition the tub drained very slowly and by the end of my shower, I was standing in ankle-high water. No breakfast room service - must go to the hotel restaurant and there is an upcharge for the hot items while the cold items are complimentary. I don't want to insult my Clemson hosts with the truth about the hotel they recommended, but I won't rebook here for my follow-up visit later in the year. There is a new Courtyard by Marriott very close by. I don't know if the view is as lovely, but I'm more interesting in getting a full night's sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swankyflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have stayed here nearly 10 times......a great hotel (very clean and comfortable), superb staff (always friendly and helpful), wonderful golf course (beautiful holes)....and so close to campus. Have had several nice meals at the Seasons restaurant on the property.....be sure to eat there when you can dine outside on the patio by the lake - it's just charming.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyTraveler1087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Martin Inn is surrounded by the University golf course and landscaped hills rolling down to the lake. There are only about 100 well appointed rooms. Your room includes a complete breakfast in the restaurant overlooking the lake.

The restaurant is a great place for a drink or dinner in the evening. If you get back soon enough there will be warm oatmeal and chocolate chip cookies waiting in the lobby.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north over look the lake. There is a choice of suites and rooms with one king or two q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chemtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My son and I stayed here while on a college visit trip. Our room overlooked the lake and it was beautiful! The room was very nice and the staff were extra friendly and helpful. Very clean and comfortable. We ate dinner at the restaurant on property and it was phenomenal, however, breakfast was a little disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake - it's gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaxMom63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Great location and comfortable bed. Basic continental breakfast can be upgraded for $8.95 or so. Feels like an older hotel with really poor soundproofing. Even with very low occupancy got stuck in a room with a door adjoining another occupied room. Could hear the tv and conversations next door quite clearly even though they were not being loud. My wife was woken up a number of times by the sound of doors opening and closing. I was glad that I had earplugs. It's a reasonably nice place with a great location if you're at Clemson and can deal with the noise.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jgbnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Whenever I take my kids to visit potential schools, I attempt to stay at the Inn or Hotel that is affiliated with the school.

When we visited Clemson, we stayed at the James F.Martin Inn at Clemson University.

The hotel was easy to find and clean. It was located on the University grounds. They served a good breakfast, although we had to upgrade to get an omelette.

The rooms were clean and functional. The bathroom in our room had everything we needed, including a hairdryer. It was probably due for some caulk and grout maintenance, but everything else was in great shape.

My only complaint was that I was surprised the front desk did not have more information about the college tours that the University runs. They did not know where they started, where we would park or any other information. They offered to find out, but I already had that information in the car. It appears that they are more geared toward conference events, but I would bet that I am not the only parent that likes to stay at an on-campus hotel when visiting a school. Having this information available at the front desk would be really helpful--especially for someone like us who drove many hours to get here, arriving very late and having to be on campus early. It is a small thing, but it would be very helpful.

This is a good hotel with great access to the school. I would recommend staying here if you are visiting Clemson.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clemson hotels
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area
2.0 mi away
Hotel Tillman
Hotel Tillman
#5 of 11 in Clemson
152 reviews
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Clemson
Courtyard Clemson
#3 of 11 in Clemson
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Abernathy
The Abernathy
#6 of 11 in Clemson
26 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus University Inn & Conference Center
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Clemson University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn

Address: 240 Madren Center Dr, Clemson, SC 29634-0001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Clemson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Clemson
#4 Business Hotel in Clemson
Price Range: $127 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the quiet luxury of The James F. Martin Inn- Clemson University's Hotel. Surrounded by the Walker Golf Course, the James F. Martin Inn is connected to the Madren Conference Center. The 89 room four-story hotel overlooks Hartwell Lake and features 27 luxurious suites and 62 spacious guest rooms, a hospitality suite, bridal suite and fitness room. Guests may also enjoy wireless and high speed Internet access, an outdoor swimming pool, tennis courts, on-site restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James f. Martin Hotel Clemson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing