We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Clemson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2007

Not many choices in Clemson, SC for accomodations- the James Martin is the best choice by far. Good value for the money. Clean, spacious rooms. Nice bedding. Our family stayed in a double suite with pull out couch. You can't go wrong for the price!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 101 of 101 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2007

The key thing to know about Clemson is that there are actively-used train tracks less than a block off Tiger blvd. The Martin Inn is located away from the noise of town and the railroad tracks on the Clemson campus, so its pretty quiet. Having previously stayed at different hotel on Tiger blvd, I can definitely report that trains run through town through the night.

The breakfast is OK, but not remarkable. I think they had some fruit, some bagels and pastries, and a waffle iron.

The hotel is part of the Madren conference Center. However there are no signs to the "Martin Inn" on the campus, and only a few to the Madren conference center after you get within a 1/4 mile. There are however, good signs to the "CU conference center" around campus. So print yourself a map off of google or mapquest before you go, and when you get to the Clemson campus, follow the signs to the "CU conference Center"

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PikesPeakGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2007

Brought a group of athletes to the Martin Inn and the accommodations were great - spotless, well appointed and comfortable. They have several larger rooms with one king or two queens and a pull out sleeper sofa. 1st floor rooms have a small outdoor patio (ask for the lakeview; it's delightful). The continental breakfast was good; bagels, danish, cold cereal, milk, OJ, etc. and there was plenty of it. The staff was exceptional - they were ready and willing to help us with whatever concerns we had. The golf club was right next door so that was convenient. You do need a car to get around the campus or into town.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2007

I stayed four nights in Martin Inn Hotel in Feb. 2007.

Access: impossible without car. Is in Clemson, half mile from the national road in a park by the lake. Is surrounded by a golf course.

Check in: room wasn't ready. I arrived early in the afternoon and room was available from 3 PM. Strange. The clerk on shift pretty much indifferent and cold.

I finally got in. Room large and very clean. Good lighting, large bed, large and clean bathroom. The lady maid worked hard every day to put the room into a spotless state. Very pleased with that.

The structure is on one floor only and for that reason ones can get out through a garden door of each room. Was chilly in February, but I think is great in summer to have a coffee in the small garden, at a table, just in front of your room. Also the parking, was facing my room and I could easily see my car at 20 yards away. Very good and safe.

Restaurant: absolutely outstanding. Students are serving and are charming.The food is excellent, huge buffet and also a menu, all for a good price.

The telephone for international calls has instructions that are badly written. You have to figure out and to improvise to get through.

I had a piece of luggage lost on that trip from Europe and I had to send some faxes to Brussels. Given the time difference with Europe, I did it around 5 AM in US. There is a fax machine and a computer with internet access and a printer in the lobby. No instructions how to use the fax (is an integrated fax-printer-copier machine). I did not know the exit code and I asked help from the front desk The lady at 5 AM had a lively private talk on phone that she did not put on hold even she saw me commuting impatiently between her desk and the fax machine. Very disappointed (to say, at least). Finally, she gave me wrong directions, did not work, she called someone, did not work again and eventually she searched into a telephone book that didn’t work either. Very low qualifications, what to comment more...

The other people in other shifts were very helpful and more qualified, and from what I could see, the front desk had a very heterogeneous team.

The breakfast was included but I had business meetings every morning and I left without taking it. The shock came the last day when I was about to leave for Greenville and I went to the breakfast room. I would say a disaster. Almost nothing to eat. Some cheese, no bacon, no ham, no sausage or scrambled eggs, some milk and orange juice, water and coffee (no decaf). And that was pretty much all. (also some jam). I complained and the lady on duty went to the kitchen and brought some turkey ham that tried to roast a bit in a microwave!

To summarize: very nice place, with good room, good maid, good restaurant for lunch and dinner, and nice surroundings. Front desk needs improvements.

The breakfast: a total disaster.

If I would go there again? I do not know.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Savvy-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2006

This is on the Clemson University Campus, The Martin Inn is very clean, nice furniture, but the room had an overpowering deodorizor. It sent my allergies into a full blown attack. I had to take several sinus/allergy pills to breath in the room. Not very romantic. Nice hotel if you don't suffer from allergies.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Bubbie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled on business
Thank diego74_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClemsonCCI, Public Relations Manager at Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clemson hotels
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Clemson
Courtyard Clemson
#3 of 11 in Clemson
188 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area
2.0 mi away
Hotel Tillman
Hotel Tillman
#5 of 11 in Clemson
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus University Inn & Conference Center
1.3 mi away
The Abernathy
The Abernathy
#8 of 11 in Clemson
17 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn

Address: 240 Madren Center Dr, Clemson, SC 29634-0001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Clemson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Clemson
#2 Family Hotel in Clemson
#4 Business Hotel in Clemson
Price Range: $127 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the quiet luxury of The James F. Martin Inn- Clemson University's Hotel. Surrounded by the Walker Golf Course, the James F. Martin Inn is connected to the Madren Conference Center. The 89 room four-story hotel overlooks Hartwell Lake and features 27 luxurious suites and 62 spacious guest rooms, a hospitality suite, bridal suite and fitness room. Guests may also enjoy wireless and high speed Internet access, an outdoor swimming pool, tennis courts, on-site restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James f. Martin Hotel Clemson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing