We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go elsewhere. This place is horrible.”
Review of Friar's Tavern - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Friar's Tavern
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Auburn, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go elsewhere. This place is horrible.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The place was nearly empty on a Saturday evening. We each ordered a simple cheeseburger. The burgers come with fries. The menu says "Add a side salad for only 99 cents". I asked the waitress to confirm that the salad was in addition to the fries and she agreed. When the burgers arrived (cooked to death) 40 minutes after ordering, there were no fries. When confronted, the manager said "No one has ever complained". In my dictionary, substitute and add are two distinctly different words. Skip this dump. It is dirty and intended solely for college students. Oh, by the way, the only beer on tap was PBR despite a menu that lists half a dozen on tap. Disgusting place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beaverbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    0
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lyons, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Quick lunch date with hubby here”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Food was great and the staff was friendly. We were pleased with the time it took to get our food (it was lunch hour) and we were glad to get in and out fairly quickly!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CJ291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very poor service”
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

I'd give this place zero if I could. Didn't see a server for at least 20 minutes and had to go ask for one only to get someone who seemed angry that we asked for service. Waited for our food for about 1.5 hrs!! And not everything came at once. They were not even busy. There's no excuse for this place. Lots of other choices downtown with the same bar food so don't waste your time or money here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, Owner at Friar's Tavern, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Hello, SCarolina:
We apologize for how you and your party felt and the for service that you said you received. When you were here there was a Clemson home game. We were really busy and had no waiter or counter staff. We apologize for any inconvenience you felt had occurred and invite you to stop by on a non-game day to really enjoy our food and beverages. Thank you for your feedback!
-Rob G., Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central, SC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tiger Fuel is Awesome”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

You have to try the Tiger Fuel frozen drink - it packs a punch. I have eaten here a few times and the food is usually good, but never great. The wings are one of the better choices.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank JHMJHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, Owner at Friar's Tavern, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Hello, JHMJHM:
Thank you for your feedback, and yes, the Tiger Fuel is a great one. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Rob G., Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friar's Tavern also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing