We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not a good impression” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Jimador

El Jimador
Ranked #27 of 115 Restaurants in Clemson
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“not a good impression”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

The menu was not clean and the enchilda was mediocre. I always wonder how clean the kitchen is when the front of the house is not spic and span. I would not eat here again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NavyBratToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    9
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seneca, SC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Better than most of the big chains..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Wonderful decor, good food and great waitstaff. They also have another in Easley. I'd stay away from the Chili Rellenos.. this is the only place I know that stuffs them with mashed potatoes rather than Mexican cheese.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barry_in_Seneca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Georgia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very So-So”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I had heard from a friend that El Jimador in Clemson was a good place to eat. After eating there, I will lo longer trust this friend's recommendations regarding restaurants. Food was fair to middling and service was poor. There are better choices nearby. You should note the small number of excellent ratings given to this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have eaten here a few times when we have gone to Clemson. It has a huge menu and everything we have tried has been delicious!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank islandvisitor24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jeff
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Luckily my son happened to notice the sign for El Jimador on the way to dropping him off for orientation. I went that night for dinner and had the best Mexican food I have had in a very long time. Knew my son would love it so took him there the next night. Looking forward to eating there again next time I am in the area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Jimador also viewed

 

Been to El Jimador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing