We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean facility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Clemson
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very clean facility”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed here one night after dropping my child off at a camp held on the Clemson campus. It was a very clean facility and quiet. It is not located within walking distance of the campus, but I did not see a hotel that was. If you needed nearby food, there was a deli and yogurt shop across the road. The hotel does not have a much-needed sign on the highway, and it is tucked behind an old Days Inn. We drove past the hotel numerous times before we finally saw it. We felt the hotel was reasonably priced and provided a comfortable night's stay. I, however, cannot recommend any eating establishments on College Ave in Clemson. We had a terrible lunch followed by a terrible dinner. I would recommend eating in another town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank packliteFl0rida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixclemson, Hotel Staff at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear packliteFl0rida,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Guest feedback is greatly appreciated!
We are very sorry you couldn't find us right away, due to city regulations we are not able to put an entrance sign out onto the highway. I deeply apologize! We do hope every need was fulfilled in your stay with us. If you are in town and stay with us again, come by the desk and we will be happy to suggest some great restaurants for you and your family. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    45
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
84
24
9
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bennett, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my parents and my youngest brother. We were watching basketball at SWU. Everything is easy to locate! The staff is so helpful and made sure my family and I had whatever we wanted! I was impressed with the cleanliness of the room and the hotel grounds too!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ams90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixclemson, Hotel Staff at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Ams90,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate the positive feedback and score! It is exciting to hear we could accommodate all your and your family needs. We strive to make the hotel feel like a home away from home! We like to help in anyway we can to ensure our guest are happy. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Clemson area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

My HiEX reviews are usually very favorable, but this one was really average. Nice common area. Grossly undersized parking spaces in the oddly laid-out lot. Had to repair sliding shower doors. Friendly folks at the front desk.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mrskillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixclemson, Hotel Staff at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Mrskillz,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Guest feedback is greatly appreciated! I am deeply sorry for the experience with the shower doors. We try to handle maintenance issues right away. We hope you give us another opportunity if you are in the area again. We appreciate your business and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Last night was our 1st time staying at this particular location. Its idea to the great football fans who attend the Clemson games in the fall. Just minutes to Death Valley, and the university.
Slightly hidden behind the Days Inn, you do have to turn on to Pressley Drive to get into the entrance of the HIE.
Its very modern, and check in was fast and easy. Our room was nice and clean, but for some reason they gave us a handicap room. We didn't know that until we got to our room. But it was fine. The only problem I had with the room was our bathroom had some minor repairs that needed to be done.
There's a continental breakfast in the hotel that was... ok.. I suppose.
Things like.. pancakes, biscuits, gravy, fruit, sausage and eggs and more.
In the basement, which we didn't get to use (no time)- there was a nice indoor pool and small workout fitness room.
So other than that, our stay was fine and I would stay here again.


(see photo for our actual room)

Room Tip: we used priceline for the very 1st time ever...saved $30
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Wayne117,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review of our property. I am happy to know that our location worked best for you and that you found our rooms clean. On the other hand, please accept my sincerest apology for any inconvenience the room allocation and the bathroom's condition may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for your time and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again here in Clemson.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

It's been a long time since I've stayed in a HI property and I was pleasantly surprised. Beautifully decorated, up to date, and very clean. Love how they offer firm and soft pillows with labels. Breakfast was good. The entire Clemson area is currently having water issues and the water smells and tastes funny so the orange juice (made from concentrate) should be avoided. We would def stay here again, very good value.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixclemson, Hotel Staff at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Lisa M,

Very glad to hear you decided to stay with us at our Clemson location and had an enjoyable experience. We take pride in this hotel from top to bottom! I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us regarding your recent stay. We truly appreciate our guests! I sincerely apologize for the water situation, i wish there was something we've could have done to fix it.
We are looking forward for your stay with us again for your next stay in Clemson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I have had good experience at other holiday inn express hotels and this one had good reviews so decided to try it with a last minute need to stay near Clemson university. It turned out to be a good choice. I was already in the area so rather than booking online I decided to just walk in. Front desk person was nice and offered to find a room and let us checkin even though it was earlier than checkin time. Very nice clean room. We had a good stay and the breakfast was very nice as mentioned by other reviewers already. Only issue we faced was the room lock which I think someone else has mentioned also. The lock is very hard to open after you put the key in and the light turns green. Because it is hard to open we kept running out of the few seconds you have before it turns red and you have to put the key in again. We were on the ground floor and maybe would have been even better being at a higher level floor so parking wasn't right outside but didn't bother us much. Overall a nice clean hotel and good value with the breakfast included.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler2here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixclemson, Hotel Staff at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear NM_2012_12,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us regarding your recent stay. We truly appreciate your business and your feedback. I am sorry for the experience you had with the door lock and the information has been turned over to our maintenance staff to be fixed. Other than the door, I'm glad to hear your experience was pleasant and we hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Seems to be a very new hotel, right off of 123 (be aware entrance is actually off a road that turns off of 123). Rooms were clean, but while we were visiting we had to move rooms due to emergency repairs being done on bottom floor...which is fine, except instead of being told of our needing to move rooms, our keys were turned off and didn't know of the need of us to move until we went to the desk and asked why our keys were turned off. Overall, typical and nondescript Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spreese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixclemson, Hotel Staff at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear spreese,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us regarding your recent stay. Our utmost apologies go to you for the emergency move. We do appreciate your patience and business with us.

We are a newer hotel, only 5 years old! Our staff takes pride in keeping everything very clean. We appreciate the positive feedback!!

We hope to get another opportunity to serve you if you are in the Clemson area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clemson hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Clemson
Courtyard Clemson
#2 of 10 in Clemson
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus University Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Clemson University Area
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tillman
Hotel Tillman
#5 of 10 in Clemson
145 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area
Address: 1381 Tiger Blvd, Clemson, SC 29631-1119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Clemson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Clemson
#3 Family Hotel in Clemson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Clemson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Clemson, SC. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is conveniently located just one mile from Clemson University, home of the Clemson Tigers and the Brooks Center for the Performing Arts. This Clemson hotel is minutes from Lake Hartwell, Southern Wesleyan University, Fort Hill Plantation, the Oconee Nuclear Power Plant and the Blue Ridge Mountains. Additional points of interest include: Hanover House, South Carolina Botanical Garden, Ashtabula Plantation, Woodburn Plantation, and the T. Ed Garrison Livestock Arena. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is located in the heart of Clemson, recognized as one of four sites on the South Carolina National Heritage Corridor. Within four miles of the hotel, visitors will enjoy golfing, tennis, water skiing, racquetball, nature trails, jeep tours and white water rafting on the Chattanooga River. At the Holiday Inn Express & Suites we consider ourselves a step above the rest and enjoy accommodating specific needs for our guests to ensure a satisfying stay. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff will ensure that every stay to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel is convenient, easy and relaxing. We look forward to your next visit to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Clemson, SC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Clemson - Univ Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing