We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Good Hotel it Once Was”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Clemson
Certificate of Excellence
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
246 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Not the Good Hotel it Once Was”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Upon my first stay here I gave the HI Express a very positive, glowing review. Upon my recent second stay here I experienced something very different, and not within their control.

A new traffic light has been installed in front of the hotel and, combined with the very poor soundproofing the hotel already has, has made this a very unrestful place to stay now. Traffic starting up and stopping constantly goes on for hours into the late evening and during the day. Combine that with very poor internal soundproofing - footsteps in rooms above and the sound of water flowing and flushing from neighboring rooms - and I don't plan to return here.

If you do stay here, ask for a room on the top floor facing the back of the hotel and at the far end away from Tiger Blvd. The only good news is the railroad tracks are not near this hotel thankfully.

Other issues include the "business center" (aka a computer & printer in the breakfast area) is completely useless as the computer couldn't pull up simple websites/email using any of its internet browsers, and a very nosey young man working the front desk who asked probing questions about why I had shipped boxes to the hotel and what the contents were - for an event at Clemson but really none of his business what was in them.

Will go down the road to other hotels upon future Clemson visits unfortunately which is too bad because the decor and furnishings of this newish hotel are quite nice.

Room Tip: Top floor, facing the back of the hotel, away from Tiger Blvd - that is the only way you'll avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hotelreviewer333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear hotelreviewer333,

We would like to take the time to thank you for your review as well as apologize for the negative experience you had when you stayed with us recently. Unfortunately, the new traffic light in front of the hotel and the noise that comes with it, is out of our hands. Thank you for providing us with feedback so we know what areas of the hotel to focus and improve on. Guest satisfaction is always our number one priority here at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Clemson, and we are going to work very hard to improve on the areas that you mentioned. Please feel free to touch base with us if you would like to discuss this any further.

Sincerely,

Management
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Clemson, SC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    45
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
83
24
9
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed here in Feb 2014. New property. Decent location.
Staff was friendly.
Rooms were nice, but the bathroom was already showing water damage on the ceiling.
I asked for a quiet room and it was near the end of the hallway on the first floor, but they made a mistake and installed cheap doors and no gaskets or door sweeps so every small noise came through from down the hallway. Made it pretty hard to sleep even though the bed was comfortable.
The breakfast was better than expected with pre-made omelettes and cooked sausage in addition to muffins, rolls, cereal, fruit and coffee.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Paul R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our breakfast. Our staff works very hard to make sure that all guests are satisfied. We apologize for the shortcomings you experienced with your room and the noise level. Your feedback allows us to focus on the different issues guests may experience and improve on those areas. We hope that you will come stay with us again when you are in the Clemson area, we have some room options that we can try to ensure your stay is a quiet and pleasant one. Please feel free to reach out to us and provide us with any additional feedback to improve our property. Thank you again for taking the time to submit a review.

Best Regards,

Management
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Clemson, SC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed at this hotel 1/23/14 and 1/24/14 while in town for college visits to Clemson and another university. The hotel is spotless. Check-in was fast and easy. The room was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. There were soft and firm pillows on each bed.
The breakfast buffet had a lot of choices- pancakes, bacon, sausage, cereal, bagels, eggs, etc.
That area was kept very clean. The pool was out of service while we were there, but the fitness center was very nice. Would definitely stay here again. Its location is very convenient to Clemson and the downtown area.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank caylismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed here for a few nights while visiting Clemson University. The front desk was extremely helpful, the rooms were very clean, and the staff was attentive to our needs. The hotel itself is easy to miss when driving but it is very close to the University. I would recommend to a friend!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrandonP92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Being that it is winter and there were no Clemson games. We basically had the hotel to ourselves. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Although somethings in the rooms need to be upgraded. I was expecting a little bit more for what I paid. Overall experience was ok nothing very bad or good just in between.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Dee B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to note that you liked our hotel and friendly staff. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I apologize for any shortcomings you may have experienced in your room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stay here once or twice a month on a regular basis.The rooms are nicely decorated and super clean, quiet, and comfortable. The staff is always cordial, and as others have stated, Marty is the friendly face at the front desk who is always cheerful and greets me by name. He is a great resource for questions and recommendations about the area. I have stayed at several other hotels in Clemson in the same price range, but since finding Holiday Inn Express, it's now my preference,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preid123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We have stayed at the Holiday Inn the last three years. We continued coming back because of the service and the friendly atmosphere created by the employees. Marty and Candice have always been great to us and accommodating. We highly recommend the Clemson Holiday Express.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clemson hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Clemson
Courtyard Clemson
#2 of 10 in Clemson
184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tillman
Hotel Tillman
#5 of 10 in Clemson
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Clemson University Area
0.4 mi away
University Inn & Conference Center
2.2 mi away
Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area
Address: 1381 Tiger Blvd, Clemson, SC 29631-1119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Clemson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Clemson
#3 Family Hotel in Clemson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Clemson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Clemson, SC. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is conveniently located just one mile from Clemson University, home of the Clemson Tigers and the Brooks Center for the Performing Arts. This Clemson hotel is minutes from Lake Hartwell, Southern Wesleyan University, Fort Hill Plantation, the Oconee Nuclear Power Plant and the Blue Ridge Mountains. Additional points of interest include: Hanover House, South Carolina Botanical Garden, Ashtabula Plantation, Woodburn Plantation, and the T. Ed Garrison Livestock Arena. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is located in the heart of Clemson, recognized as one of four sites on the South Carolina National Heritage Corridor. Within four miles of the hotel, visitors will enjoy golfing, tennis, water skiing, racquetball, nature trails, jeep tours and white water rafting on the Chattanooga River. At the Holiday Inn Express & Suites we consider ourselves a step above the rest and enjoy accommodating specific needs for our guests to ensure a satisfying stay. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff will ensure that every stay to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel is convenient, easy and relaxing. We look forward to your next visit to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Clemson, SC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Clemson - Univ Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing