We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Clemson Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Clemson
Certificate of Excellence
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Clemson Area”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Nice, newer hotel in Clemson. Modern look with well-kept, clean rooms. Comfortable beds with nice bathroom. Free breakfast is better than most with quite a few options, including a pancake machine that makes surprisingly good pancakes.
Friendly staff. Kind of blocked from the road by an older Days Inn. Only downside to the hotel is that there is no bar in the hotel. Would be a great addition.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EMMMilwaukee_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear EMMMilwaukee_WI,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciate the kind words you said about our hotel and staff. We hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you back to the Clemson area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    45
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
83
24
9
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

New hotel. Convenient to everg in Clemson. Clean rooms that needed a little maintenance. Several fixtures needed a post install retightening

Breakfast was simple but very tasty with some good selections.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Jeff N,

Thank you for submitting a review on Tripadvisor, we appreciate your time and feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast! We hope that we will see you again when your travels bring you to Clemson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during Clemson graduation weekend. The rooms are very clean, its very conveniently located and the people couldn't be nicer. We wouldn't say the same thing with many of the hotels in the area. I would highly commend this place to anyone visiting the area.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi Rob T,

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review on our hotel. We appreciate your kind words, and hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you back to the Clemson area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europe
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel seems quite new and modern in a minimalist way. Front desk staff try hard to be friendly and suggest good remarks on surveys (not so subtle)! Lobby is spacious and colorful, including breakfast room (breakfast included in room cost). Room was clean and decent size, comfortable bed and large tv. I did not like being near the stairwell and ice machine (loud and uncomfortable), and there were not heavy curtains to close (the curtains there did not fully close and so it was awkward and left me uneasy-- behind the hotel is an empty field / woods area which my room looked out on). I did not feel entirely safe. Elevators were remarkably slow for a small building. The hotel is located not far from Clemson Univ in an area of highway which is being developed (new hotels and shopping center being built next door and across the street). You need a car to be here and to get around. Breakfast was basic and fine, what you might expect from Holiday Inn Express. Starbucks and other stores not far away and on the way to the university. It is a small, quiet area and a decent hotel for 1 night business visits, nothing more. I would not recommend for vacation or families.

Room Tip: away from stairwells
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank europearoundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear europearoundtheworld,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I am glad that you found the bed comfortable and the room clean. However, please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Originally booked at another hotel but had to check out due to unsanitary conditions. This Holiday Inn Express was very nice. The room was extremely clean and quiet. The bathroom is roomy with a stand up shower. They serve a hot breakfast in the lobby. There is a salt water pool, very nice. The front desk staff (Marty) was so accommodating and was able to work with me on a check out time. The location of this hotel is good with lots of restaurants, CVS, Walgreens, Starbucks and McDonalds nearby. Free wifi in the rooms. I can't say enough good things about this hotel! Will book again if here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, NH
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was our 3rd or 4th time staying here and will continue to do so as long as their rates remain competitive. The staff is friendly & helpful-shout out to the woman that stocks the morning breakfast bar-nice job! The rooms are clean & comfortable, although our thermostat was either completely on or totally off, so we got a bit hot when the a/c wasn't running but cold when it was. Too bad the fan did nt blow in between. But would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kewpie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here for spring game. Very clean, great homemade cookies at checkin. Friendly people, very helpful. Rooms were really clean, beds comfortable.
Breakfast in am is quite good considering it's included. They keep the breakfast bar really clean and the food is good.
The pool was so so, dont go out of our way for it

Room Tip: Top floor away from vator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesL608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clemson hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Clemson
Courtyard Clemson
#2 of 10 in Clemson
186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus University Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Clemson University Area
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tillman
Hotel Tillman
#5 of 10 in Clemson
150 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area
Address: 1381 Tiger Blvd, Clemson, SC 29631-1119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Clemson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Clemson
#3 Family Hotel in Clemson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Clemson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Clemson, SC. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is conveniently located just one mile from Clemson University, home of the Clemson Tigers and the Brooks Center for the Performing Arts. This Clemson hotel is minutes from Lake Hartwell, Southern Wesleyan University, Fort Hill Plantation, the Oconee Nuclear Power Plant and the Blue Ridge Mountains. Additional points of interest include: Hanover House, South Carolina Botanical Garden, Ashtabula Plantation, Woodburn Plantation, and the T. Ed Garrison Livestock Arena. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is located in the heart of Clemson, recognized as one of four sites on the South Carolina National Heritage Corridor. Within four miles of the hotel, visitors will enjoy golfing, tennis, water skiing, racquetball, nature trails, jeep tours and white water rafting on the Chattanooga River. At the Holiday Inn Express & Suites we consider ourselves a step above the rest and enjoy accommodating specific needs for our guests to ensure a satisfying stay. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff will ensure that every stay to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel is convenient, easy and relaxing. We look forward to your next visit to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Clemson, SC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Clemson - Univ Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing