We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel, Subpar Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Clemson
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel, Subpar Service”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel is a bit removed from the nerve center in Clemson. I stayed here for a birthday celebration and will not be returning. If you are do not mind being mistreated by staff then this may be worth the price and location. I believe there are better places to stay, closer to the center of the city, and with more polite staff.

Room Tip: Do not stay at a room near the front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsySoulSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear GypsySoulSC,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We are sorry the service you received from our hotel staff was less than satisfactory. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. Again, we do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    45
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
83
24
9
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

This is the newly constructed Holiday Inn. NOT the one that used to be on the lake with Tiger themed rooms. This one is up on Tiger Blvd (not the lake). It is far enough off the road and quiet (we faced the road). It is modern decor. Rooms are spacious. Beds quite comfortable. Nice breakfast included. Pool is indoors but not heated. Fitness center adequate. Cookies in the evenings in the lobby and tea /cocoa/ coffee out all day. One elevator could be an issue in football season but wasn't any problem in January when we were in town for basketball.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TigerTravelTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear TigerTravelTime,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Clemson. We appreciate your kind words about our hotel, and we are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope that we will see you again the next time you are in Clemson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night for my son's meet at Clemson. The hotel is conveniently located to the highway, good restaurants, and drug stores. The rooms are well appointed, modern, and clean. The beds were very comfortable. We will stay here again.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SoutheastJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Southeast Jack,

On behalf of the staff and management at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Clemson, thank you so much for submitting a review on our hotel. Guest feedback is very important to us, and we appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Clemson area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very clean. The front desk clerk was very helpful and friendly. The blue lights that was shining on the front of the hotel was a nice touch. The breakfast was great and included in the price. .........

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathyhhhone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Kathyhhhone,

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to submit a review through Tripadvisor on our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind words about our hotel and staff. Thank you again for submitting a review, and we hope to see you the next time you are in the Clemson area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed here for one night during the week while visiting my daughter at CU. The room was clean & nicely decorated. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in at a hotel. Free breakfast was also great - eggs, bacon, ham plus the usual continental items. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoslug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear yoslug,

On behalf of the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Clemson, I would like to thank you for staying with us and submitting a review on our hotel. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to you staying with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldwick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

First time staying in this hotel for a single overnight stay while visiting my daughter at college. It was a big football weekend so a lot of out of towners (like us) but the hotel checked us in quickly and it was pretty quiet once in the room.The room was a good size and clean with the bathroom large as well.

I checked out the internet (wifi) which was pretty slow and stability intermittent in the evening we checked in but worked well the following morning. Breakfast was standard though the warm cinnamon rolls were very tasty.

Only downside I noticed was that there seems to be a single elevator and it's pretty slow especially during busier times such as breakfast/checkout in the morning. Other then that it is a very comparable alternative to the nearby Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_in_New_Jersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear David_in_New_Jersey,

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review on our hotel. We truly do appreciate your feedback, and will use it to improve. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us for a Clemson football game, and we hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to the Clemson area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Marty was amazing! He answered phone for late arrival. Then checked us in and greeted us two of the days!

He and the entire staff was very nice! Service outstanding and hotel is like new!
The beds are comfortable and great pillows!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tlh3806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Tlh3806,

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review on our hotel! We truly do appreciate your kind words about our hotel and staff. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to our staff! Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to see you the next time you are in the Clemson area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clemson hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Clemson
Courtyard Clemson
#2 of 10 in Clemson
184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tillman
Hotel Tillman
#5 of 10 in Clemson
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Clemson University Area
0.4 mi away
University Inn & Conference Center
2.2 mi away
Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area
Address: 1381 Tiger Blvd, Clemson, SC 29631-1119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Clemson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Clemson
#3 Family Hotel in Clemson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Clemson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Clemson, SC. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is conveniently located just one mile from Clemson University, home of the Clemson Tigers and the Brooks Center for the Performing Arts. This Clemson hotel is minutes from Lake Hartwell, Southern Wesleyan University, Fort Hill Plantation, the Oconee Nuclear Power Plant and the Blue Ridge Mountains. Additional points of interest include: Hanover House, South Carolina Botanical Garden, Ashtabula Plantation, Woodburn Plantation, and the T. Ed Garrison Livestock Arena. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is located in the heart of Clemson, recognized as one of four sites on the South Carolina National Heritage Corridor. Within four miles of the hotel, visitors will enjoy golfing, tennis, water skiing, racquetball, nature trails, jeep tours and white water rafting on the Chattanooga River. At the Holiday Inn Express & Suites we consider ourselves a step above the rest and enjoy accommodating specific needs for our guests to ensure a satisfying stay. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff will ensure that every stay to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel is convenient, easy and relaxing. We look forward to your next visit to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Clemson, SC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Clemson - Univ Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing