We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Clemson
Certificate of Excellence
Elmira, New York
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is the second year that I've had the pleasure to stay the the HI Express in Clemson. It happened to be the weekend of my Swim Team Alumni Get together and the Georgia Tech football game.
The people that work the front desk are wonderful, extremely accommodating and really helpful. The rooms are wonderfully clean (especially with all the traffic they get), as are the bathrooms. The breakfast that they offer in the morning is great! We planned on hitting the Woho (Waffle House) but instead ate at the breakfast bar every day because of the selection that they offered. I'm picky about my coffee and the coffee they had was wonderful as well.
The only complaint my teammates and I had was that our toilet didn't work. My teammate called the first night and they had someone come look at it the next day, but then when we got back the night after the football game it wouldn't flush at all. We were right down the hall from the main lobby bathroom so we just ran down there in the morning and at night. We informed them on the way out that it wasn't working, as we got back too late in the evening to have them try to fix it then.
I would suggest anyone looking to book a hotel in Clemson, for whatever reason, to book here. In two years I've never been disappointed and we are looking forward to our reunion next year and staying here again.

Room Tip: I liked staying down on the bottom floor last year, and would probably request one of those rooms ag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BudGirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review on our property! We appreciate your kind words about our hotel staff, cleanliness, and breakfast. However, we do apologize for the issue you experienced, and the inconvenience this caused you and your roommates. We always enjoy receiving feedback, and your comments will help us improve our hotel. We are looking forward to you staying with us again next year for your reunion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    45
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
83
24
9
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great rooms and great service...Loved the staff especially Marty! What service! They have a great hot breakfast and very clean and modern rooms. The indoor salt water pool is a nice touch too! The only problem is they are hard to locate...no signage.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nctraveler8523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff & hotel! We truly do appreciate you taking the time to complete a review. We will make sure and inform Marty of your nice words! Thanks again for your review, and we hope to see you the next time your travels bring you back to the Clemson area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Enjoyed staying here, location perfect for a Clemson visit, rooms nice and clean, pool warm, and friendly southern service. The breakfast that was included was yummy and cookies were available in the afternoon.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhBetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review on our hotel, we appreciate your kind words! We are so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you the next time your travels bring you back to the Clemson area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel is exactly what you expect which for me is wonderful. The front desks folks were welcoming and friendly. They had out reservation and we were registered and off to our rooms in a short time. The room was very clean, modern and had all the conveniences (TV with HD, electrical outlets on the lamp bases by the bed and desk, a mini fridge). I particularly appreciate the expansive bathroom sink top. There was plenty of room for both my wife's' and my stuff. When I couldn't figure out how to access the HD channels on the TV a call to the front desk quickly resolved my confusion. Breakfast in the morning was more than I expected (eggs, Canadian bacon and sausage). The coffee on the other hand was not up to the quality of Starbucks!! Oh well, I guess I can't have everything!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review on our hotel. We truly do appreciate your kind words about our hotel and staff! Guest satisfaction is our number one goal, and we are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westk18858
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

clean modern rooms- good variety at breakfast- small fitness center is clean and usable -very good rates online. worth a stay if in the area. my 2 suggestions would be more fresh fruit at breakfast and outdoor lounging space.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westk18858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review on our hotel. We truly do appreciate your feedback and suggestions. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and amenities, and your suggestions will help us do just that! We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the Clemson area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jeff
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed 2 nights while taking my son to Orientation. The location was convenient, the hotel very clean, and the staff was helpful. Good choices at the complimentary breakfast, and everthing was neat and clean. Rooms was clean, beds and bedding very comfortable, and the bathroom was modern and very roomy. The only issue with the room was the air conditioning. When it was blowing the room was too cool, and when it cycled off it became warm very quickly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review, we do appreciate your kind words about our hotel. We apologize for the issues you experienced with the air conditioner. We hope that you will stay with us again and give us the opportunity to improve your experience. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Clemson, SC. We hope to see you the next time your travels bring you to the Clemson area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm Beach County
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Excellent value for a small town. Hotel new very comfortable beds and fresh clean linens. Breakfast area clean with a nice outside deck. A little hard to find tucked away behind a Days Inn. Excellent choice if visitn Clemson University.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLhurricane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Clemson, SC. We appreciate you taking the time to complete a review. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the Clemson area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clemson hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Clemson
Courtyard Clemson
#2 of 10 in Clemson
186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus University Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Clemson University Area
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tillman
Hotel Tillman
#5 of 10 in Clemson
149 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area
Address: 1381 Tiger Blvd, Clemson, SC 29631-1119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Clemson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Clemson
#3 Family Hotel in Clemson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Clemson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Clemson, SC. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is conveniently located just one mile from Clemson University, home of the Clemson Tigers and the Brooks Center for the Performing Arts. This Clemson hotel is minutes from Lake Hartwell, Southern Wesleyan University, Fort Hill Plantation, the Oconee Nuclear Power Plant and the Blue Ridge Mountains. Additional points of interest include: Hanover House, South Carolina Botanical Garden, Ashtabula Plantation, Woodburn Plantation, and the T. Ed Garrison Livestock Arena. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is located in the heart of Clemson, recognized as one of four sites on the South Carolina National Heritage Corridor. Within four miles of the hotel, visitors will enjoy golfing, tennis, water skiing, racquetball, nature trails, jeep tours and white water rafting on the Chattanooga River. At the Holiday Inn Express & Suites we consider ourselves a step above the rest and enjoy accommodating specific needs for our guests to ensure a satisfying stay. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff will ensure that every stay to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel is convenient, easy and relaxing. We look forward to your next visit to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Clemson, SC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Clemson - Univ Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing