We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area
Nearby Hotels
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Clemson University Area(Clemson)(Great Value!)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Clemson(Clemson)(Great Value!)
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tillman(Clemson)(Great Value!)
$149
$144
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Abernathy(Clemson)
$149
$140
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveler rating
149
48
14
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
149
48
14
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshi expressfront deskcinnamon rollsindoor poolroom was cleanpre madebreakfast barnice hotelstay there againwalk in showerexercise roomcookieshotel staffwould highly recommend this hotelmy daughtera great staycollege visit
Filter
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 219 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We love staying at this hotel. The hotel is incredibly clean and the rooms comfortably furnished.My husband was on business and the room supplied everything that he needed without having to leave the room! The wi-fi was dependable, a meeting table, and the refrigerator was handy. We, on the other hand were there to visit friends and the hotel location was PERFECT. Far away enough to be quiet and homey and yet close enough to be minutes away from the action. The pool was clean and provided a lot of fun for the children. The breakfast buffet was delicious and provided a large assortment of breakfast foods. No one went away hungry. The staff was EXTREMELY accommodating. Mark, at the front desk, was AWESOME.He answered all our questions with confidence and warmth. I watched him help other patrons with the same ease. This is our hotel of choice for the Clemson area and I highly recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review. On behalf of the staff and management at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, I would like to say that we appreciate your kind words. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and can't wait for you to come stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

This hotel located behind the Days Inn - a little difficult to get to - is tucked back away from the noise. We had a double room and a rollaway bed on the first floor, which at first I thought would be noisy, but it actually was quite quiet. Room was nice, clean and adequate for us. Nothing fancy, but it did have an extra chair and ottoman for my spousal unit who hates to watch tv from the bed. The beds were incredibly comfortable, the A/C noisy enough for white noise, but I did have to turn off the fridge because it was just too loud when it clicked on - even for the teenage boy to sleep thru!
The staff from the front desk to housekeeping to the breakfast area was quick, attentive and friendly. We needed several things from them because of some quick packing and they were able to provide these items without hesitation.
The breakfast is a slightly upscale continental breakfast. Everything was fresh and hot, except the bananas which were beyond ripe. Yogurt, bacon, eggs, pastries, cereals, bagels, toast, etc. all the usual choices... The hotel decor is very nice and the sitting area at check-in was a nice addition. My only complaint was the coffee - it was not very good at all.
Nothing terribly fancy, but a nice, clean, friendly place to stay. 5 minutes to downtown Clemson without heavy traffic. 5 minutes to restaurants. I would definitely recommend to friends, family and business travelers.

Room Tip: The ice machines are very loud so avoid rooms near them. Room 123 is away from the elevators and far enough from the ice machine and the lobby area to be nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

On behalf of the staff at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Clemson, I would like to say thank you for your kind review. We appreciate you taking the time to compliment our hotel and staff. I hope that you will stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This hotel is in a bit of an odd location, but the service and rooms are excellent. The breakfast is quite good, and the pricing is competetive with other local hotels that don't provide a breakfast. Ask for a room away from the elevators as they make a lovely dinging noise that will keep you up all night, but otherwise my experiences here have been good. Call directly to the hotel for pricing - they will negotiate. Great place for Clemson visits as it is just minutes from campus but also near restaurants, stores, etc.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the elevator.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We truly do appreciate your kind words! It is always a pleasure when you stay with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed here to attend a gymnastics event at Clemson University in JAN 2012. The hotel was very nice and clean, tucked away off the main drag, ample parking that was lighted for security. Check-in went very smoothly and the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was exactly how we ordered it, and was very clean and presentable. Nice flat screen TV, and the bed was better than the one I have at home!! After check-in the front desk provided us with a little map, and gave us recommendations on where to eat. After dinner, the kids swam in the indoor pool, which was very clean and spacious. The indoor fitness room was great as well. After a great nights sleep, we ate breakfast downstairs at the breakfast bar. Once again, no complaints here, it was really good, plenty to choose from and everything was fresh. They even have a blitzing fast computer for going on the internet and checking email, which was helpful. I have nothing but great things to say about this hotel, would stay here again and again. They got it right!!

Room Tip: I always like rooms down on the end of the hallway, away from elevators and closer to the fire esape stairs.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review. The management and staff at the Holiday Inn Express appreciate your kind words, and look forward to seeing you again at the next gymnastics event!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I recently was traveling on business and stayed at this hotel. I previously had stayed at the Hampton Inn, and it was okay, but like all companies, ours is pinching pennies, and this hotel was about $15 less per night than the other. We all booked our rooms here and was very surprised at the quality. The hotel is new, it was very clean, it has a very modern vibe. Loved the overall interior design of the lobby and the rooms were equally well done.

The hotel is fairly convenient to the college, we still drove to downtown for dinner, but it was just a few minutes. The staff was friendly and for a business trip, I was pleasantly surprised for a change. If I went to Clemson for a personal trip, I definitely would choose this hotel.

Best of all was a free hot breakfast of bacon and eggs, along with a pancake machine, biscuits, and various continental breakfast options.

Great Value!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Thank you for your nice review! The staff and management at the Holiday Inn Express appreciate you taking time to complete a review. We hope that your travels, whether business or leisure, will bring you back to Clemson and to our hotel again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews