We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“My business trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Clemson
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, United States
1 review
“My business trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Overall Hampton Inns are a good value and good quality. While there are many motels/hotels to chose from, Hampton Inns are consistantly very good quality. Rooms are clean and fresh. As with every room with a window/wall A/C unit they are not real quiet but the Hampton Inn units are quieter than normally found.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gregory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    84
    36
    15
    5
See reviews for
165
39
13
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is an excellent hotel - very clean with quiet surroundings - extremely friendly and helpful staff - great location - would highly recommend. Complimentary breakfast - only suggestion would be to bring pillows from home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank curiousone1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrie C, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Happy New Year! Thank you so much for all your great comments. We so appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

First of all, l have to brag on the friendly staff of this inn. Desk clerks were helpful and loved to just chat. Mary, the breakfast attendant, was so sweet and helpful. She offered to cook our waffles and bring them to us...all with a smile. The breakfast bar was clean and offered lots of choices. Our room was clean and efficient. But, for three ladies traveling together, we wished there had been a seperate vanity area or at least an outlet by the full length mirror. But, we managed. We also enjoyed watching a lovely sunset on the lake that was just across the street. This inn is also close to a few restaurants. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Perry333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrie C, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
AWESOME! We are so happy to have exceeded your expectations. We can't wait to see you again. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We were only in town for one night and this hotel was our best option based on previous stays with Hampton Inn and price. The Hampton Inn in Seneca (our destination) was $50 more a night! This hotel is a little old, but the room was large and clean, internet worked well and the staff was great. Breakfast was more than adequate, so overall a good stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank AuntAnnie1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrie C, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and staying with us on your recent visit to Clemson. We would love to extend the invitation for you to stay with us again in the future. We so appreciate it when our quest take the time to let us know how we are doing.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed here on a Thursday night before visiting and touring the Clemson campus with our son. The hotel was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the check-in staff were super nice and very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was adequate and the staff friendly there as well. We stayed in a room with a king bed and a sofa bed for our son, and it was a nice size for the 3 of us. (Helpful hint: We always travel with an egg carton mattress when using sofa beds. They are light and make a world of difference to the person who has to sleep on the sofa bed.) The location was a good distance from the campus, but we still needed our car to get from the hotel to the campus. Our only complaint, and it is a huge problem, were the trains that zoomed by all during the night immediately outside the hotel. We were given the last room at the far back of the hotel, and the train travels too close for comfort, as far as we were concerned. The trains were loud and frequent. None of us slept well at all, and I personally counted 5 trains during the night. As comfortable and clean as this hotel was, we will never stay here again due to the train noise.

Room Tip: If you stay at this hotel, don't accept a room near the back of the hotel. Bring a white noise m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristyMtP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrie C, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Christy, We are so glad you found our rooms perfect size and our staff very friendly. Hopefully we will have your son as a Clemson Tiger. We so wish we could help in the scheduling of the train but unfortunately we can't. We do have a NEW sister hotel in Seneca which is only 4 miles away in which we would like to invite you to stay since you have resistance in returning to Clemson due to the train. Please contact me directly if you return to Clemson 864-482-2900. Sherrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Staff was excellent in there support of Clemson on Game day. Wearing Purple for Military Support Day. As a graduate of The Citadel, this meant a great deal to me. Location is perfect if your business or activity is near the school.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

This Hampton holds up to the high standards of most Hampton Inns. I have to say that the staff, in particular, is really helpful. There are a couple of restaurants nearby although you might have to dash across hwy 123 to get to a couple. If you want to walk to campus, it is not to bad to do on a nice day. Maybe 25-30 min to the stadium including a shortcut by the lake that you can take which is a quieter walk than the busy highway. At night it is a 8$ cab ride to downtown which is better than driving.

The breakfast area was clean and the food choices good for a Hampton. I'd stay here again.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dugong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clemson
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Clemson
Courtyard Clemson
#3 of 9 in Clemson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tillman
Hotel Tillman
#4 of 9 in Clemson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Clemson University Area
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Seneca - Clemson Area
1647.8 mi away
University Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area

Property: Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area
Address: 851 Tiger Blvd, Clemson, SC 29631-1480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Clemson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Clemson
#2 Romantic Hotel in Clemson
#3 Business Hotel in Clemson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Clemson Hotel Clemson
Clemson Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing