We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Clemson
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A very nice hotel”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

After reading other reviews, I was a bit dubious about this hotel. This hotel is as good as other Hampton Inns I have stayed at. The only drawback is the nearness of the train tracks, which does create some noise when trains go through. It did not disturb my sleep but I did notice it a couple of times during my stay. That is Clemson, not the hotel. If you want to say away from the tracks, as far as I know, you have to stay at Clemson's conference center or at exit 19 at Anderson.
Overall, I was very happy and expect to stay here again.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel probably is quieter than the back, although I stayed on the front side and ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NavyBratToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    91
    39
    16
    5
See reviews for
186
42
15
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marion, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This has to be one of the best Hampton inns in the US.I have traveled across this great nation during this past year and have really expeiranced some nice hotels along the way but being from SC i really enjoy the southern hospitality i have encountered in Clemson SC.I stay here during football season which usually is seven weekends.This past weekend my son and his girlfriend stayed as well.After checking out and returning home my son called me upset because he had left his retainer in our room.I called the Hampton first thing Monday morning and Curtis told me that as of then no one had turned anything in.About 2 hours again i got a call from Curtis telling me that house keeping had turned it in.Now tell me just how easy would it have been to just throw them away.This is just a sample of the GREAT TEAM that is assembled at this particular Hampton Inn.This location is also next to Lake Hartwell if you like water.

Room Tip: I personally like the suites.But all rooms are clean and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donald c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Nice spot clean rooms good breakfast friendly staff all for a good price. Only drawback is train tracks behind hotel - we heard trains twice but it wasn't too loud. Will stay here IF our son ends up at Clemson!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petersonfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Stayed only overnight on a business trip and was instantly impressed by the warm welcome at the front desk. I did not have the opportunity to experience all of the amenities; however I was impressed with the service attitude of the few employees that I had contact with. Being in the service industry I could tell that there is a service culture at this establishment that has been developed by management.

The property is exceptionally clean and well maintained, convenient to a variety of restaurants, a drug store and best of all a Starbucks that opens at 6:00am.

Room Tip: Norfolk Southern Railroad main line is at the back of the property; it wasn't an issue for my ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James_McDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, CT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We enjoy staying at this hotel 2-3 times a year and always marvel at how well run it is-even on football weekends. The front desk staff will go out of their way to help in any way possible as will housekeeping. Our room has always been very clean and had all the extras we want.

Equally important, there always seems to be a fresh batch of cookies in the lobby!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpksail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

The rooms are nice - but I am not crazy about the work area - a table on wheels that slides under a bookshelf. Haven't seen this one before. You have to move the table to work and watch TV at the same time. Comfortable. Try to get a low numbered room as the higher the room number the closer you will be to train tracks - I have not noticed the noise more than once or twice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegasrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Room was exceptionally clean, friendly staff, great breakfast! Will most certainly return when we travel back to see our son at Clemson!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandycampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clemson hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Tillman
Hotel Tillman
#4 of 10 in Clemson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Clemson
Courtyard Clemson
#2 of 10 in Clemson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Clemson University Area
1.3 mi away
University Inn & Conference Center
2.0 mi away
Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area

Property: Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area
Address: 851 Tiger Blvd, Clemson, SC 29631-1480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Clemson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Clemson
#2 Romantic Hotel in Clemson
#3 Business Hotel in Clemson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Clemson Hotel Clemson
Clemson Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing