We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful weekend getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
An Inn on York Street
Ranked #1 of 3 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsborough, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful weekend getaway”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We wanted a quiet weekend in a quiet little town, and we indeed found it here. After being warmly welcomed, we got out our books and started reading. We had good food and good company, chatting with the hosts and the other guests. When reading, we had a variety of places to choose from in and around the inn. The front porch swing was a favorite spot. If we wanted to take a break from reading, games were available in the library area. What a great B&B experience!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CynthiaS27278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
130
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Our British hosts were delightful and so helpful helping us plan our days. We took early morning walks and met some of the neighbors and then sat down to absolutely delicious breakfasts. Both days we had fresh fruit, juices and great coffee and in addition, the first day we also had an egg and sausage casserole and biscuits, and the next day we had eggs benedict and lemon cake (to die for!) Our room was lovely, and the bed quite comfortable. We never heard any noise at all (a big plus in our book.)
Our hosts recommended a short trip to York and to Brattonsville, the site of a Revolutionary War battle as well as a Civil War battle. Learned a lot there and enjoyed the trip to York.
Would definitely stay at the Inn again.

Room Tip: Our room was the Mark Twain room, and it was extremely quiet. The closest room to the guest refrige...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atiger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmony
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

What a great Living Social experience and what a great B&B. The welcome we received from Mark & Sandy was so friendly. They are so much fun - and we enjoyed spending time with them. The inn is absolutely gorgeous - the furnishings in our bedroom were top-notch and the bed was so comfortable. We had an issue with the AC in our room and probably should have asked to be moved to a different room. Mark was very sorry when he realized how hot our room was. Anyway, breakfast was delicious and we would definetly go back again.

Room Tip: Many trains go by this location - if you are a light sleeper you may want ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Just a brief review of this fabulous Inn. I arrived on Friday July 20, 2012 and was immediately welcomed by the warmest family. From the moment I was shown around until the moment I sadly had to leave, it was a wonderful, relaxing experience. I lounged on the chaise right outside my door, enjoyed the second floor balcony with the birds and the passing train and had a blast. They give you space and just let you be. The people of Chester are friendly and pleasant. If you are ever in need of a break and truly want to wind down, this is the place to go. The rooms are comfy with the greatest little bathrooms attached. My only complaint? I had to pack up Sunday and leave. I truly hated to go...but I'll be back. I can already feel the need for a relaxing get-away coming up!!

Room Tip: Any room you choose is a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamaira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The weekend stay was awesome. My son had just graduated from college and we needed a relaxing weekend. Whether you just want to rest and hang out by the nice pool or go out and be adventerous, this is the place for you. There is plenty to do here. The hosts were very gracious and the Breakfast was wonderful. It is beyond my expectations. Thanks Mark and Sandie for a great relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank huntbonbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had a delightful time at the Inn on York Street and enjoyed our time relaxing. Breakfast was delicious with broiled grapefruit served with honey and brown sugar and baked spiced plums along with brie and bacon on croissant.

I was nervous about Chester itself, but the B&B made it all okay. There wasn't anything to do around Chester so we enjoyed the pool on Saturday and ventured into town for lunch at Stellas.

I'm glad I didn't read the reviews before I left as I would have expected to have a delicious homemade dinner, instead we dined at the Summit and the Cyclone for dinner...interesting experiences. The trains were also pretty disturbing, but by the second evening I was able to ignore them.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gatorhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Great rooms, good breakfasts, and relaxing environment with friendly hosts/owners. There is a significant train traffic (including the whistle warning of the train passing through) throughout the night so if you are a light sleeper bring some earplugs.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TAreviewer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
9.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 7 in Richburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
10.2 mi away
Days Inn Richburg
Days Inn Richburg
#4 of 7 in Richburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
9.8 mi away
Motel 6 Richburg
Motel 6 Richburg
#3 of 7 in Richburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rock Hill
Hampton Inn Rock Hill
#1 of 22 in Rock Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
20.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Rock Hill
Comfort Suites Rock Hill
#4 of 22 in Rock Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
23.3 mi away
Super 8 Lancaster
Super 8 Lancaster
#1 of 3 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Inn on York Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Inn on York Street

Property: An Inn on York Street
Address: 164 York St, Chester, SC 29706-1487
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our beautiful Southern Plantation Home, built in 1898 on a street full of interesting historic houses. An Inn on York Street is set in 3 acre grounds, with a large swimming pool and porches on both levels, on York Street in the historic district of Chester, SC. While away a relaxing weekend, curled up with a book or exploring the local State Parks and Historic English District. We're close to Charlotte, NC for all your shopping needs, great theatre and arts. Closer to home, explore the antique shops and beautiful historic buildings all around the area. In any season, the Inn is the place to be. Be adventurous, be yourself, be sporty, be entertained, be relaxed.... or just "be". New this season - try out our outdoor hot tub, set in the grounds of the Inn, on a covered patio. Come and enjoy a relaxing stay in a place that will take you back to a bygone era of grandeur and hospitality. Welcome to An Inn on York Street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing