We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
An Inn on York Street
Ranked #1 of 3 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, North Carolina
1 review
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Mark and Sandie are two of the best people I have ever met. Our every need was quickly taken care! The food was excellent! The room was wonderful! The surrounding were beautiful!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyFoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
131
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallassee, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2011

The house, grounds, and food were just top rate but what really makes this place are the host and owners. I have never felt so much at home so quickly anywhere. My wife and I will be back and for a longer stay next time.

Room Tip: All are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jiminalabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2011

I stayed at An Inn with Sandy and Mark while I was in Chester for a work assignment. It was absolutely wonderful. Sandy and Mark are just delightful! The Inn is beautiful with rooms decorated to perfection, comfy and spacious. It is quiet and relaxing. Sandy and Mark prepare a splendid breakfast every morning to get your day started. Juices, coffee, tea, fruits, cakes, and of course the main courses which were all delicious. Sandy and Mark will go above and beyond to make your stay as pleasurable and comfortable as they possibly can. I highly recommend this Inn for anyone that wants to just get away, spend a quiet week in a true Southern town or if you have business to attend to. It is just simply fabulous. Thank you, Sandy and Mark, for making my work week enjoyable and having a home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseMarie1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2011

By far the nicest people and one the best places we've ever stayed in. Southern hospitality with English charm. Oh...and Sandie makes an amazing breakfast! The house is stunning, the town picturesque and our hosts -- Mark and Sandie -- like family. Do stay the night...or week. We left feeling cared for and absolutely reinvigorated.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForTheGulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport south wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

If you're looking to visit small town America then this would be a good place to begin but be prepared to turn back your clock by 40 to 50 years.

We stayed at An Inn on York Street which is a typical Colonial dwelling and very luxuruous. The accomodation was extremely comfortable with all commodities at hand and helpful hostes Mark and Sandie Woodier.

Easy to reach from either Charlotte Airport or the Amtrak Station- about 40 minutes by car. Also convenient for golf and clay pigeon shooting.

The breakfasts were second to none but don't indulge if you're on a diet. I wasn't and took advantage of the variety on offer.

Altogether worth a visit and very good value for money.

Rosanne
Newport
S Wales

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank espana01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goch
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2010

As a newbie to the states me and some friends threw a dart on the map and it landed in on Chester, we booked for a week but ended up staying 2 mainly due to the lovely location the abundance of things to do(golf, skydiving etc..etc..) and the hospitality of Sandie and Mark, Many thanks will be booking for next year for sure

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaytay082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Everything about our stay was top notch. The Inn is a stately southern house that has obviously been restored and furnished with excellent taste and with all the traveller's comforts in mind down to the details. Mark and Sandie were the best hosts going above and beyond what you'd expect. And, to end our stay, breakfast was prodigious.

We are experienced with staying at inns and we could not think of anything to improve about our stay at AIOYS

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlippiett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
9.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 7 in Richburg
72 reviews
10.2 mi away
Days Inn Richburg
Days Inn Richburg
#4 of 7 in Richburg
188 reviews
9.8 mi away
Motel 6 Richburg
Motel 6 Richburg
#3 of 7 in Richburg
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rock Hill
Hampton Inn Rock Hill
#2 of 22 in Rock Hill
608 reviews
23.3 mi away
Super 8 Lancaster
Super 8 Lancaster
#1 of 3 in Lancaster
148 reviews
20.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Rock Hill
Comfort Suites Rock Hill
#4 of 22 in Rock Hill
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Inn on York Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Inn on York Street

Property: An Inn on York Street
Address: 164 York Street, Chester, SC 29706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our beautiful Southern Plantation Home, built in 1898 on a street full of interesting historic houses. An Inn on York Street is set in 3 acre grounds, with a large swimming pool and porches on both levels, on York Street in the historic district of Chester, SC. While away a relaxing weekend, curled up with a book or exploring the local State Parks and Historic English District. We're close to Charlotte, NC for all your shopping needs, great theatre and arts. Closer to home, explore the antique shops and beautiful historic buildings all around the area. In any season, the Inn is the place to be. Be adventurous, be yourself, be sporty, be entertained, be relaxed.... or just "be". New this season - try out our outdoor hot tub, set in the grounds of the Inn, on a covered patio. Come and enjoy a relaxing stay in a place that will take you back to a bygone era of grandeur and hospitality. Welcome to An Inn on York Street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing