We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a lovely area to stay in”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spears Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cheraw
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spears Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Cheraw B&B and Inns
Greenville
2 reviews
“What a lovely area to stay in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

I can find nothing negative to say about our stay at Spears Guest House. We especially loved the location since I went to school in Cheraw. We are avid walkers and enjoyed walking the streets and down to the river. This is a very quiet, peaceful place to stay. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgcyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
25
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, SC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2010

The Spears Guest House is a home away from home. This is my choice of accommodations if I'm working anywhere in commuting distance.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betsytsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

Over the past four years I have traveled extensively for business throughout the Southeast. Ordinarily, I stay in chain hotels but prior to my first visit to Cheraw a colleague advised I stay with the Spears.
My first visit was a like no other business trip I had been on to date. I came away feeling like I had been away on a pleasure trip. The house was comfortable and accomodating, providing everything I could have needed but more importantly Larry and Kay personified southern hospitality to me. There laid back charm and deep roots in the area make them the perfect ambassadors for Cheraw and the Sand Hills region.
Over the last few years I have come to truly look forward to my visits to Cheraw and my time with the Spears. I suspect that I feel like many of their guests; that is to say that rather than finding just a nice place to stay I have also found friends in Cheraw.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakevogelsang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

Kay and Larry made us feel welcome and we were delighted with the 2 to 3 hour conversation sitting on the swing or the rocking chairs on the front porch. This is a place you have to stay at. It's like staying at home in the four bedroom house with kitchen and sitting rooms available to you. Larry might just go across the street and get his guitar and sing a few songs. Kay you married the right Larry.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parr72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossbgeorgeiv
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2009

There are no better hosts than the Spears. It has been several years since I stayed with them and I am sure that nothing is lacking from their hospitality to this day. They were friendly, helpful, and warm. I could not have asked for a better stay or better people to spend time with.

I learned about the area and I was very pleased with their friendliness.

Thank you Larry and Kay.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rossbgeorgeiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheraw, SC
Level Contributor
284 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2008

We live in Cheraw, and have stayed here several times while repairing damage to our home. They have two properites beside each other, one that is available for long term rental I believe.

The one we stayed in is a B&B with the owners living almost across the street.

The house has several bedrooms with their own bathrooms, a kitchen and dining area, and a living room. Breakfast is pretty basic and you heat it up yourself, but it is wonderful to have a full kitchen to cook in!

The property was spotless every time we stayed there, and the owners are very helpful.

It is in a lovely part of Cheraw, right across from the Public Library, and an easy walk to downtown with its shops, antique stores and restaurants.

  • Liked — Exceptionally clean, liked the privacy.
  • Disliked — Nothing to not like.
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruralartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheraw
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Cheraw
Quality Inn Cheraw
#1 of 4 in Cheraw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
13.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 3 in Bennettsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
17.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rockingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Laurinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
23.6 mi away
Quality Inn Laurinburg
Quality Inn Laurinburg
#3 of 5 in Laurinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
17.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spears Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spears Guest House

Property: Spears Guest House
Address: 228 Huger Street, Cheraw, SC 29520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Cheraw
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cheraw
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic district of Cheraw, SGH has 4 rooms, all with en-suite baths, as well as a common parlor, dining room, half-bath for visitors, and fully equipped kitchen. Each bedroom has a queen bed, flat-screen television, hair dryer, iron, robe, CD and DVD players, and brandy. SGH is beautifully furnished with antiques and local artwork. At your convenience, you may choose from a variety of breakfast foods. Complimentary wireless, expanded cable, and an assortment of books and DVDs are provided. A gas grill as well as a washer and dryer are available. Whole house rentals are great for golfing, weddings, and reunions. The owners live across the street and are readily available, while at the same time affording guests maximum privacy. It's a great place to stay to take day trips to Columbia, Mrytle Beach, Charlotte, or Raleigh--all are about 100 miles. Larry and Kay, being a lifelong native, are great ambassadors for the town, and will tell you lots of local stories and Larry may even come over and entertain you with guitar and song on the front porch! It's a great time! Pour a glass of wine, relax on the front porch, and enjoy the "Prettiest Town in Dixie." Come as Guests...Leave as friends. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing