We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Ranked #7 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had a fantastic 6 night stay at this hotel. The location was great as we could get anywhere very easily whether it be the 10 minute drive to downtown Charleston, Sullivan's Island or Folly Beach, etc. The room was completely re-done. .everything new and most importantly, clean. The staff at the front desk were the best! Sachini, Jennifer and Pavi were absolutely wonderful in every way. All the restaurant staff were friendly and helpful as well. I would definitely stay here again and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

We appreciate the wonderful Five Star review of our family owned hotel regarding your six night stay. We would like to thank you for you taking the time to let the Trip Advisor community know how impressed you were. I am so glad that you noticed how helpful the staff are as well as the quality of the hotel. Please come see us again.
Erin T. England - Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,154 - 1,160 of 1,645 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

We did not want to pay in town prices for just a nights rest. This fit the bill and was only 15v minutes from downtown and the battery. All remodeled with more upscale amentities than expected. Rooms were very clean, soft linens, comfortable bed and pillows, Keurig coffee, walk in shower, and actual glasses not paper cups. It was quiet and parking free. Breakfast voucher covered the cost on one of two meals with buffet selection, we did not eat there the second day. Would definitely stay again if not wanting high prices of in city location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Puddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you for pointing out that which seemed to be beyond the understanding of the previous reviewer. We appreciate your review and appreciation of the value our hotel provides. Please come see us again and ask for me personally if you need anything.
Erin T. England - Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

First off, the room was very clean, and the Jacuzzi tub was very nice (though the sliding doors to the bathroom/tub can create some awkward moments if you're with a significant other!) The limited experiences I had with the staff were very pleasant. Additionally, the bed was very comfortable!

However, the LOCATION for this hotel is pretty horrible if you plan on spending any time at all in downtown Charleston. It's literally like a 3-star hotel was just plopped in the middle of car title loan shops, thrift stores, a red lobster, and a highway turn off. The drive into and out of town takes about 15 minutes, and depending on the time of day, you can hit some pretty significant traffic. What's more is that all you have for a view are standard strip malls on your way from the hotel to where things are happening.

Overall, for the price I paid, I probably could have found a decent, but not great, room downtown. Although our stay was certainly pleasant, the drive in and out of town (not to mention trying to find parking in downtown Charleston) got to be pretty bothersome. Furthermore, I was a little put off that since we booked through Expedia and not the hotel directly we didn't get the $15 voucher for breakfast. Rather than pay for it, we ended up getting McDonald's breakfast each morning, which wasn't ideal.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank msmorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

I am so glad to hear that you found the room to be very clean, and the Jacuzzi tub was very nice. I am also happy to hear that you found the experiences you had with the staff were very pleasant. and that you found the bed to be very comfortable and your stay to be pleasant. Regarding your comments concerning our location I have to wonder did you miss the chain hotels such as Hampton Inn and Holiday Inn Express that literally surround us? You made it seem like we are in the middle of nowhere which is an unwarranted and inaccurate misrepresentation. I doubt you did your research if you feel you have stayed at a similar price downtown.
Erin T. England - Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I travel a lot usually staying at "branded" chain hotels, and accordingly, my expectations are very low. We had a hard time finding a place in the right location for a weekend in Charleston, and ended up at the independently-owned Town and Country Inn and Suites. All I can say is that the owners have put a lot of money into a recent renovation, and they sure did it right. The rooms are beautiful, quiet and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the buffet at the attached restaurant was fantastic and very reasonably priced. Maybe that's why so many locals seems to be filling the tables. Will definitely go back on our next trip to this lovely city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for the glowing review and for illustrating to the Trip Advisor community why we are so different in terms of value than "branded chain hotels" that most folks are used to encountering. Our $12,000,000 hotel rebuild was designed to give our guests an experience they would normally only receive for several hundred dollars per night more than they are paying. I am glad that you were so impressed with the hotel's guestrooms, staff and with our restaurant. I am glad you noticed that the restaurant was filled with locals and that what a testament that is to it's popularity. Thanks for saying that you would definitely come back and stay with us.
Erin T. England - Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

stayed here in mid-march on the last night of a three day trip to charleston. chose it for it's location halfway between the airport and the historic district as we had an early flight to catch the next morning. the rate is very reasonable for what you get; however, i don't understand why this is one of the highest rated hotels in charleston. the price is very reasonable and you get a clean, comfortable room with free parking, but it's located on the corner of a busy intersection along a freeway that takes you into the historic district, which gets pretty clogged up during rush hour (a 15 minute drive in light traffic from the historic district took us roughly an hour during rush hour). while the service at reception is friendly, the level of hospitality can't hold a candle to what you would experience at one of the top hotels in the historic district, where drinks, breakfast, afternoon tea are all complimentary (e.g. market pavilion).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cardinal2584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

We appreciate your review of our hotel and your stay with us. I will gladly answer your question of why we are so highly rated by our guests and I will do so by using the direct and large volume of passionate feedback we get from our guests. They rate us so highly because they are consistently impressed that they get such an excellent value AND surprising quality for what they are spending here.... compared to other hotels. Incidentally, the Market Pavilion Hotel which you mentioned in your review as the benchmark is also owned by our company, Palas Hospitality, so I am very pleased to hear that you so enjoyed your stay with us there.
Erin T. England - Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Once again I'm writing about the Town & Country Inn. Recently hubby and I had reason to stay in this newly renovated property and as usual, it was delightful. The rooms are so clean and comfortable that I never hesitate telling people about this Inn. Not right on the peninsula
(but oh so close to the Holy City) it's located West of the Ashley on Savannah Highway. And the restaurant is terrific with a Sunday brunch that can not be beat. Next time your travels bring you to Charleston, SC stay here and enjoy some southern hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Betsi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

We so appreciate your repeat business with our family hotel. We are glad that you enjoy our hotel, it's atmosphere, and the food and service in our restaurant, Trotters. Thanks for the strong endorsement and we look forward to seeing you again!
Erin T. England - Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Our room was very nice but smaller with the 2 queen beds. With the exception of 2 burned out lights it was a wonderful stay. The restaurant there was great too for breakfast. We got an online coupon for $15 toward meals each day there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

I am glad that you thought out hotel was "clean and comfortable" and that you had a great breakfast in our restaurant. I hope that our staff got the light bulbs that burned out while you were here resolved quickly and to your satisfaction. Please come see us again
Erin T. England - Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 61 in Charleston
1,273 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 61 in Charleston
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town & Country Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town & Country Inn and Suites

Address: 2008 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-6286
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Charleston
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#5 Family Hotel in Charleston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $107 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Town & Country Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completed in May 2013 a $12,000,000 total guestroom rebuild!! Located within a 15 minute drive of the historic district and featuring a level of comfort and attention to detail that will surprise you at this price point. Convenient onsite dining featuring locally renowned full service Trotters Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in our smoke-free hotel. Enjoy a lush outdoor pool and courtyard, extensive hot breakfast buffet with servers, free wired and wireless internet access and a modern 6,500 square foot meeting facility. Wide variety of room types and suites available to accommodate every need including Family, Luxury, and Extended Stay Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Town & Country Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Hotel Charleston
Town And Country Charleston
Charleston Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing