We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleased / Recommend!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Pleased / Recommend!!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in early November 2013. Hotel was very nice / clean, staff was friendly / helpful. Also enjoyed the breakfast buffet each morning. Location is about 4 miles from DT Charleston, but that was not a problem having a rental car. Will stay here again on our next trip to Charleston!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your endorsement and Five Star review of our family owned hotel and restaurant. This week we have added 7 new items to our already vast hot breakfast buffet. The new items include Fresh Hand Cut Mixed Fruit, Hearty Oatmeal, House Made Fruit Muffins, House Made Bran Muffins, Greek Yogurt Fruit Parfait, Cheerios and Raisin Bran. We hope to see you again soon. We appreciate your business,
Erin T. England - Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,182
    342
    48
    6
    3
See reviews for
390
770
55
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orangeburg, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The quality of service was unbeliavible that we (my wife & i ) recieve at TOWN & COUNTRY!!!!! The staff was very pleasant,housekeeping was prompt to every request we made and very friendly.They created an atmosphere of southern warmt and comfort.Trotters restaurant inside the hotel the food was excellent and service was great!!!!! THANKS MR.E ENGLAND my family have made your Hotel our place of stay when were in charleston.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marion l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
I am so pleased to hear that you had a fabulous time in our family owned an operated hotel. Since we are not a chain we always try to go the extra mile and show how much we care about our guests enjoyment and happiness. Thanks for your Five Star review and for noticing how much effort our staff puts toward our goal of always having 100% guest satisfaction. Please come see us again.
Erin T. England - Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

As many of the reviews indicate, the rooms are well furnished, especially for what the room cost a night. I would say prob 4star quality in the rooms. The only downside to this hotel is the location...since it is a good 3 or 4 miles from downtown charleston...and a 20 to 30 dollar cab ride. Also, the breakfast was average at best. We didn't want to eat it every morning we were there. But all in all, if you placed this hotel in charleston then you would be paying two or three times what it cost at this location. So, I would stay here again if I wanted to save a few dollars...and if I didn't want to go out at night in charleston for drinks every night (which we only did one night). The drive isn't that bad if you are just sightseeing during the day. It is just more difficult if you plan on bar hopping in town...which would make it a little bit of a pain transportation-wise.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AScott520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks for the business... we very much appreciate it. In light of your comment on the breakfast buffet we have since upgraded and added more items to our hot breakfast buffet that I think you will find of very high quality and appealing. We hold our guests opinions in the highest level of respect and seriousness and hope you like the changes we have made. Please come see us again.
Erin T. England - Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penney Farms, FL
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

For the $99 per night we were charged, this is a very nice property. Our room was beautifully furnished. There was a separate walk-in shower in the bathroom. It is a 2 story building with at least 2 elevators. The lobby was quite grand. But there were some down-sides.

First, the room lacked anything like a foot stool or ottoman. While the chairs looked nice, they weren't comfortable. The wall mounted TV could not be turned toward the chairs. We could only watch it from the bed. The heating system cycled on and off so we were alternately hot and cold.

Our most serious dislike was the location. It is at least 12 miles and 12 stoplights from peninsular Charleston. It barely fits on the lot and has, essentially, no grounds. There is a strip mall on one side and a car rental agency and a car dealer on the other.

There is a courtyard with a pool and, while it looked nice, it was much too cold for swimming while we were there.

The only breakfast offered was a buffet at $8.99 per person. We had been given a $15 per day voucher for reserving directly with the hotel, so we thought that would almost cover our two breakfasts. Surprise, surprise, coffee is not included in the breakfast buffet. We were charged $2.50 a cup extra. The second day we drank the "free" coffee provided in our room and did not order coffee at breakfast. The buffet itself was also odd. While there were several hot items: scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, corned beef hash, grits, biscuits and gravy and some awful-looking French toast, that was about it. There was also fruit cocktail and small glasses of orange and apple juice. The server who sold the coffee also offered toast. There were no pastries of any kind nor was there any kind of cereal. We were there during the week and breakfast both days was identical. We were told that on weekends there is a larger and more expensive breakfast buffet.

When we checked out they had "forgotten" to credit us for the $15 voucher. When I pointed it out they were quick to correct it.

Room Tip: Our room was on the side of the building about half-way from the street. Considering the hotel is i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks for your time in posting a review of our family owned and operated hotel. I must question how you could have missed the price difference between our hotel and any comparable hotel in downtown Charleston. The difference in price is literally hundreds of dollars per night. Secondly you seem to have missed that our hotel is only 6.2 miles from meeting and market streets which is the epicenter of the historic district. This is a 7-10 minute car ride (which I make daily) and a 20 minute car ride if in major traffic. I think it only fair to correct these inaccuracies. We hope you find a hotel choice that more closely meets your expectations for the $99.00 you paid.
Erin T. England - Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I was recently visiting family in Charleston for the holidays. My brother talks very highly of the restuarant at your location so we decided to give it a try. We tried breakfast on a Tuesday morning the food was great but the service was horrible. Our server Cherrie was very rude ..acted like us ordering from a menu was a problem to her as well as refilling our coffee more than once seemed to bother her.She metioned cups were to small and didnt understand why the manager couldnt get them bigger cups. As we sitting eating our food she was complaining to the customers next to us how she was tired of running a register while managers were taking smoke and phone breaks constantly..This server made our experience not enjoyable. I do what to say the cook did a wonderful job on my omelette.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jack d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
I am terribly sorry to hear that you were not made to feel like family by one of our restaurant servers. That situation was addressed immediately by management and treated as a complete violation of our company culture. I can tell you that I am 100% certain that you will notice the difference when you return to visit Trotters Restaurant. We do appreciate your brother talking very highly of our restaurant as this is a testament to what I mentioned in a previous response that our restaurant is extremely popular with the locals as well as our hotel guests.
Erin T. England - Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our room was very nice and was first time had the shower separate from the tub. Room was very clean and most of staff was very considerate. Had Keurig individual coffee maker in room. There was some confusion on the buffet and coupon they give you. The manager was very nice and made up for the wrong info given to us over the phone before check in. It is for room and not per person so I can see where a family would prefer someplace with a free buffet breakfast. We did eat breakfast on a Sunday morning and it was great. Homemade omelets and crepes, juice, plenty of fruit and service was good. Lady making omelets was not very friendly but omelet was good! They were having trouble with the bathrooms in lobby not flushing so was a little inconvenient. We found it to be conveniently located getting around to other sites to see in area. Beautiful town. Only spent one night so would love to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks for the lovely comments about the quality of our family owned and operated hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
Erin T. England - Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
458 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Of all the properties on this strip of tourist hotels on the outskirts of the city that play in the $75 to $110 range, this is likely the nicest property physically. New, clean, modern, spacious -- you name it. BUT for folks with kids (1) this is a large and awkwardly laid out property -- it could be a very long walk to the restaurant, lobby and pool or your car, and (2) at $9 per person for breakfast and an obscene $2.50 per cup of coffee, expect $50 for breakfast for a family of 4 with tip -- and even with the the $15 per room "direct book food credit" (that you can't use for take out or room service) factor this in and families may be better off at a place with a free buffet that is also a few bucks less per night. And the very limited buffet ain't that great - undercooked hash browns, runny eggs, pancakes were hard as rocks and needed a steak knife to cut and there is NO cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, pastries or toast etc!

So, for couples/singles this hotel is a fantastic option, but, with kids factor in the breakfast costs and there are a few other properties on the strip almost as nice that have a basic free buffet and would likely be less expensive.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ExRIGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin E, Manager at Town & Country Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your stay in our family owned and operated hotel. We value your business more than words can express. After reading the review I must point out that there are not any hotels that I am aware of that serve a hot buffet style breakfast in a restaurant that offer it for free. Additionally you must have overlooked that our restaurant is consistently packed with locals which is a testament to the food quality we put out and further that we are not a "tourist hotel" Please come see us again we would love to serve you.
Erin T. England - Director of Sales and Guest Satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Best Western Charleston Inn
#25 of 61 in Charleston
1,199 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Sleep Inn Charleston
#38 of 61 in Charleston
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town & Country Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town & Country Inn and Suites

Property: Town & Country Inn and Suites
Address: 2008 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-6286
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#2 Business Hotel in Charleston
#5 Family Hotel in Charleston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Town & Country Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completed in May 2013 a $12,000,000 total guestroom rebuild!! Located within a 15 minute drive of the historic district and featuring a level of comfort and attention to detail that will surprise you at this price point. Convenient onsite dining featuring locally renowned full service Trotters Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in our smoke-free hotel. Enjoy a lush outdoor pool and courtyard, extensive hot breakfast buffet with servers, free wired and wireless internet access and a modern 6,500 square foot meeting facility. Wide variety of room types and suites available to accommodate every need including Family, Luxury, and Extended Stay Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Town & Country Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Hotel Charleston
Town And Country Charleston
Charleston Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing