We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Special Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Meeting Street Inn
Ranked #8 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We haven't been to Charleston in years and I did a lot of searching for an ideal place to stay. Our three adult children and their spouse/partner were joining us to celebrate two significant birthday (70 and 40!). We wanted to be in the historic section of town, able to walk everywhere, near good restaurants and able to socialize together on site. Meeting Street Inn was perfect! From the generous selection each day at complimentary breakfast to the charming private courtyard areas for conversation or hot tub soaking, Meeting House Inn filled the bill. The staff was incredibly warm and accomodating. Wine time (with cheese, crackers, a hot offering, etc) each afternoon was a nice pre-dinner gathering time. And the cost was more reasonable than many of the other locations I considered. Speaking of location... how about across the street from the old marketplace, one block away from King Street, a few blocks from East Bay... and near excellent restaurants. Lastly, the public parking lot across the streer was, for us, easily accessible, fairly priced ($12/day), and you could take your car out and in at any time you wish. It all added up to a really fine time in the Holy City. Blessings on Market Street Inn!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SrMaryA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (803)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

716 - 722 of 803 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2010

Well staffed, clean, pleasant.
Enjoyable breakfast in AM and wine/cheese in PM.
You can't find a better location, just steps away from shopping and culture.
I made a stupid blunder during my stay and the management was exceptionally accomodating and eager to help. I hope they forgave my stupidity. The people at Meeting Street are all very friendly. A sweet memory of Charleston.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdc1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Very friendly staff and ideal location. We arrived extremely early and the staff were very helpful in checking us in so we could grab a shower after our long flight. Also very accommodating with our checkout by holding on to our baggage. Highly recommend this Inn to all. Décor was good and the building really gives you the feeling that you are in Charleston. Obviously the building is very old but is very well maintained. Floors may creak a little but it just adds to the ambiance. Breakfast was perfect, as well as the afternoon wine and nibbles. Great place, wonderful atmosphere - just exactly what we wanted and a bit more!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

No parking, 12 bucks across the street with care less attendants. Dirty lobby with average old period pieces carelessly place sloppily all around. Dirty courtyard with brooms and dustpans laying around. Room was small boring and unclean. Cords all over and untucked and several lightbulbs out. 2 full ashtrays on the porch. Breakfast was ilprepared missing item, tacky items like boxed cereal and most thing were gone by 9am. Do not stay here, they obviously do not care about this property

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steckj45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvs102067, Manager at The Meeting Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2010

The Meeting Street Inn dates back to 1874. The lobby is furnished in original period furnishings which have been restored to their original glory. Most guests, or at least the ones with taste, find the lobby to be the perfect beginning to their stay at the Meeting Street Inn. His rate for a weekend night was $129, $50 less than the Days Inn. The courtyard is kept in immaculate condition, but it is an outdoor area. There is a dustpan and a broom in a hidden corner of the yard for emergency clean up if needed. As far as the room they were in, decide for your selves, it was photographed two weeks prior to their stay for our new web site which should be up by the end of September. Breakfast changes every day and I would much rather have cereal from a box than off the floor. All breakfast items are restocked until 9:45am and breakfast ends at 10am. We love our property and are very proud of it. To get a better understanding of this reviewer, read his other review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

The staff was awesome, the location was perfect. Couldn't ask for a more comfortable bed!

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank CarolHikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

The Meeting Street Inn is a beautiful Inn, The room we stayed in was very southern looking with four poster beds, It was very spacious. The lobby is also very beautiful with a continental breakfast in the morning, The people who work the front desk are very helpful and friendly. The patio is also very pretty. The Inn is very centrally located. We recommend the Inn very highly.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewJerseyFunTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

My husband & I recently stayed at the Meeting Street Inn for our 2nd anniverssary. We had a wonderful stay. The Inn is beautiful! We had the charm of an older more historic property with all the modern amenities. We stayed in a deluxe suite & really enjoyed our private balcony overlooking the courtyard. The front desk staff member who took our reservation upgraded us & gave us a complimentary bottle of Champagne to celebrate. The staff was friendly & helpful and the location could not have been better! We parked our car when we arrived & did not move it until we left Charleston. We walked everywhere. We will definately stay here again when we travel to Charleston again....hopefully soon!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,864 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,936 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meeting Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meeting Street Inn

Address: 173 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29401-3127
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: $137 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Meeting Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Inn in the center of historic Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Meeting Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meeting Street Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing