We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value, great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Meeting Street Inn
Ranked #6 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 27, 2006

My parents and I stayed at the Meeting Street Inn during our trip to Charleston for my birthday in February. This was a great time of the year to see the city since it was the off season, and we got an incredible discount on our room. I had booked online and didn't know about the seasonal discount. When we checked in the desk clerk asked me if I would like the discounted rate... I would've gladly paid full price without even knowing! The complimentary wine and cheese reception was very nice as was the breakfast. The location was fantastic as we were able to walk to many resaurants and historical sights. We enjoyed drinks in the courtyard and the fountain at night. The rooms were very nicely decorated and clean, and the entire inn was decorated in the period style. Check out their website ([--]) for pictures that really do represent the rooms they offer. The staff was very friendly and helpful with lots of recommendations for sightseeing and dining. The overall experience was just great. This was the first historic inn that I've ever stayed in, and it's now the standard by which all others are judged for me.

  • Stayed: February 2004, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank voltron1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

779 - 785 of 810 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2006

The first time my wife and I stayed at Meeting Street Inn was over 15 years ago, and we fell in love with not only the Inn but with Charleston. We have since stayed with them 4 more times. Each time was a good experience. The early period furniture, hardwood floors, wine and cheese at 5pm, and continental breakfast enhanced our Charleston experience. During the first stay at MSI we were treated to morning coffee, served in silver, brought to our room. I think that hospitality has been stopped unless requested, however, the Inn is still enjoyable and definitely adds to the flavor of the city. It is ideally located in the old historic district, where every place is in walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank patroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2006

stayed for 3 nights at this inn. Ideal location for exploring the city, with parking directly opposite. If you want to park a car i think you need to be there early to get a space.
The staff were friendly and helpful, even gave us a reduced rate when we decided to stay an extra night (friday). We enjoyed the wine and cheese each evening and the continuous coffee was good.
Nice rooms with very comfortable beds. We would definately stay there again

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nialltruan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2006

If you're looking for a reasonably-priced place to stay in the historic district, there are many better options than the Meeting Street Inn.

At check-in, the staff was extremely disengaged. Not unfriendly, just not particularly attentive. At check-out, we experienced similar flakiness.

Our room (#403) had not been properly cleaned when we arrived. The door had been left open for quite some time, allowing a family of houseflies to invade our room. Even more disgusting, the rug in our bathroom had not been vacuumed, and was bursting with someone else's long blond curly hair.

The room itself was shabby. Not shabby genteel. Just shabby.

The canopy over the antique four-poster bed was very dusty and dirty. The room needed a new paint job, as both the bedroom and bathroom walls were flaking. The bathroom was in dire need of new fixtures, because the plastic sink bowl was visibly cracking.

We checked out early the next morning, and checked into the Elliott House Inn a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cangying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2006

My parents treated my husband and myself to a joint anniversary celebration in Charleston. My Mom found The Meeting Street Inn and we are so glad she did! Our room, 411, was very clean...not a dust bunny in site! Our rice beds were very comfy and the room and bathroom spacious. We felt as if we were in a home rather than in a hotel!
The staff was extremely friendly and are eager to offer advice on local sites and restaurants no matter the hour. A variety of fresh fruit, breads, bagels, cereal, danishes and drinks make for a plentiful breakfast and the warm ham and cheese rolls are not to be passed up. Afternoon wine and cheese makes for a nice break from the afternoon heat and often includes meatballs, crab dip, and spinach dip.
The courtyard is a lovely place to relax as are any of the many benches through out the Inn's porches.
Some details (all complimentary): Turn down service with chocolates, lovely scented soaps, shampoo, body lotion, bottled water, in-room hair dryers, breakfast, and wine and cheese (among other drinks and snacks).
We also noticed that they are constantly making improvements such as fresh paint and in the event of a rain the cushions are removed from the outdoor furniture so they are always clean to sit on. Maid service is also very friendly and did not make excess noise like many do these days.
We highly recommend this Inn and are so glad we had a chance to stay there!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2006

A recent 2 night stay at the Meeting Street Inn helped make our Charleston stay memorable. The room (413) was large, with 2 queen beds and a sitting area with a loveseat and chair. The four-poster rice beds were charming, as well as comfortable. There is nightly turn-down service, too. The continental breakfast was good and featured breads, pastries and juices, along with a hot item (e.g. ham and cheese rolls). From 5:30 to 6:30 there is wine and cheese. There's not much seating in the lobby area, but there are a number of tables in the lovely courtyard just off the lobby. The location just couldn't be better. Market Street and King Street are just a short walk away.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank happyatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2006

We arrived at the Meeting Street Inn on June 12th which was the first day of off-season. We stayed in the old section of the hotel in room 301. It was beautiful and all that we immagined and dreamed of. The room was made up perfectly. It was clean, neat, dusted and perfect. The antique charm is wonderful as is the 12 foot ceilings (in the old section) and the huge beautiful windows. If you look at the picture of the front of the hotel on the website, the 3 third floor windows are all for room 301. The same is true for room 201 below. The view from 301 is wonderful from the front windows. The view from the porch is not of the gardens but of the Days Inn next door. That was a little disappointing. The room was spacious as was the bathroom.

The front desk was excellent. They were friendly and helpful no matter the time. They never made you feel like a bother. They spent as much time as needed to help you, answer questions, look info up on line and print it out, they let me use the microwave, they made phone calls for us. Everyone on staff was nice, friendly, helpful and full of Southern Hospitality.

The Inn is 1/2 block from the front of the old market. The market is visible from the Inn. We used the parking accross the street from the hotel and never moved our car until we left on June 15th. We walked to the Visitor's Center and to the Battery. We walked to E. Bay and King St. shopping as well. It is as centrally located as you can get.

The Meeting Street Inn is a great value. We had a terrific breakfast each morning. They have gourmet coffee, lemonade and fruit drink in the lobby all the time. They have wine, cheese, crackers and hot meat balls each day from 5:30 - 6:30. When comparing in the area, nothing comes close to the value here. Most places that are of comparable price are a simple chain hotel or it is a B and B with a shared bathroom.

The worst thing I can say about the Inn is that they missed our turn down service on our second night which was a Tuesday - no big deal. The worst thing about the room was that the tub/shower had poor lighting - but, again, no big deal.

A perfect stay and we look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nativegeorgian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,884 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
3,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,955 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meeting Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meeting Street Inn

Address: 173 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29401-3127
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: $135 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Meeting Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Inn in the center of historic Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Meeting Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meeting Street Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing