We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming historic inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Meeting Street Inn
Ranked #9 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tuckahoe, NJ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming historic inn”
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Outstanding service, Darren was especially helpful. Awesome location - within walking distance to market street, shops and restaurants. Nice wine and cheese reception in late afternoon. Nice courtyard and rooms.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butterrcupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    227
    79
    35
    13
See reviews for
121
382
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Thank you so much .We will be back
recommend this INN to everyone

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anniep65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapel hill, nc
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

This hotel is a find. The breakfast and afternoon wine servings are an excellent way to meet travelers, compare notes and get good info. We had a beautiful room, very comfortable. The location was perfect for visiting the harbor, shops, art galleries, and restaurants. Very friendly staff, they do a very good job. A fun place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basecampd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Flats, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

From the onset, the staff was cordial and most helpful. The breakfast and the wine/cheese reception in the afternoon were more than ample and also great ways to meet other travelers. The inn's location is outstanding -- a block from King Street, the commercial hub, and easy walking distance of East Bay Street, and the truly striking residential area south of Broad Street. I'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bear002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sur
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2009

It doesn't get better than staying at The Meeting Street Inn in the heart of the Historic District of Charleston, SC. There is an excellent self-service breakfast and a wine/cheese reception in the afternoon. Most of the staff people were excellent, with the exception of one woman probably in her late 20s at the reception counter who was rude. The other disadvantage is having to pay an additional $12/night for parking a car across the street.

If you want to experience the charm of the south (with the exception of the woman at the counter), stay at The Meeting Street Inn.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemathena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

What a perfect inn! Very close to the market, restaurants and shopping. It is within walking distance of everything. We parked our car at 2:30 pm and didn't use it until 2:00 pm the next day. It only cost $12.00 and was directly across the street from the Inn.

I read all the favorable reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to call and make a reservation about a week and a half prior to our visit. I spoke to Tanya, who was very helpful. She had no problem finding a room for my husband and I. We only had 1 night (a Thursday) in Charleston, and she was very accomodating.
When I told her we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary, she did everything to upgrade our room, saying, "you have to stay in one of our King rooms for your anniversary." She actually was able to upgrade our room from a queen to a king room (room 302). Although it cost more ($199 per night), it was well worth the upgrade, as it was on the 3rd floor of the main building (the one in the picture). Still much less expensive than other inns in the area. The bed was extremely comfy!
The room was absolutely beautiful with all the traditional furnishings, very spacious, refrigerator, flat screen tv and large bathroom with a whirlpool tub. On the porch leading to our room, there were wrought iron tables and chairs and a bench right outside our room...which was a nice sitting area in the morning for coffee.

The Inn also has a very nice hot tub large enough for about 10 people, in which we endulged in later in the evening. It was in a very nice and relaxing area. Lots of beautiful landscaping around the entire Inn. I believe there's a hotel right next door, but one would never guess it. The Inn was very quiet, could not hear street noise, even though our room was the 2nd room in from the street. The room also had beautiful shutters on the windows, which made for a very dark room in the morning so we could sleep in.

The Inn had wine and cheese from 5:30 - 6:30 and it was very nice. The continental breakfast was nice too. Although I wish there were more of a variety of fresh fruit and not so greasy hot items (there were 2). But I'm not a big breakfast person. There's a nice breakfast place right next door if you want a really nice breakfast.

As mentioned above, the Inn is within walking distance to everything. We walked to dinner just a few blocks to Hanks...which was wonderful. Walked over to the Vendue Inn Rooftop Bar and Waterfront Park as well.
This Inn is the best value for your money! Very quaint and relaxing as well! I would definitely recommend this Inn to friends and will definitely stay here again on my next visit to Charleston.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LadyDi3437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

We spent one night here (September 25th) in Room 409 which had a queen bed. The rate was good ($159), but the bathroom ruined it all. The room itself was nice, although the furniture is worn and chipped. This was not a problem for us, but the bathroom was in major need of renovation. The top of the sink was new, but the base was very old. The tile and grout were old and worn. The toilet was ancient as was the shower/tub combination. The drain in the tub was badly rusted and strangely enough, so was the shower curtain rod. There was some mold. The bottom of the tub was dirt stained and a good cleaning with Comet would have done wonders. It completely ruined the room for us. Also, be warned: the parking is not guaranteed. We were told that the $12 per day lot across the street was full and that we would have to park over two blocks down the street. Fortunately, at the last minute, someone left and we were able to park across from the Inn. Another issue in Room 409 was the parking lot of the Days Inn which was right next door. We were awakened at around midnight with quite a ruckus going on next door. Two carloads of women had pulled in and were pounding on one of the doors there. This lasted about 10 minutes and no one ever showed up to investigate. The wine and cheese reception featured wine and chees and meatballs and crackers. Very ordinary, but adequate. The breakfast had lackluster pastries, honeydew melon, and assorted cold cereals. There was also a warm sausage roll. Again, adequate, but nothing special. Both were served in the lobby and many carried the food outside to the courtyard area. The elevator area needed some attention as well. The areas around the elevator needed cleaning as did the elevator itself. There did not seem to be anyone attending to the the details which was unfortunate as it detracts much from the Inn. The staff were friendly and helpful and I would probably recommend staying here if you are not picky about your bathrooms and location is priority. We did hear another couple complaining about the condition of their bathroom to others at the wine and cheese reception, so we were not the only ones. Overall, the location cannot be beat, but the staff needs to focus more on the details.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,702 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,788 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,764 reviews
Indigo Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meeting Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meeting Street Inn

Property: The Meeting Street Inn
Address: 173 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29401-3127
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Meeting Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Inn in the center of historic Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Meeting Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meeting Street Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing