We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Meeting Street Inn
Ranked #9 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We have visited Charleston several times but this was our first, but not last, stay at the Meeting Street Inn. The staff was so friendly and made us feel at home as we walked in the door. My husband and I and our friends had side by side rooms on the courtyard on the 2nd Floor. The rooms were spacious and clean and had all the "old world charm" you could ever want. It was so nice to stay in the Market area and be able to walk to the shops and restaurants. The "Happy Hour", with wine and cheese, was so nice and let us get to know our inn neighbors. Advertised as a continental breakfast, the breakfast was very good and had different hot and cold options on all four mornings of our stay. It really was a full breakfast. I would not hesitate to recommend the Meeting Street Inn to anyone interested in the Charleston experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    227
    79
    35
    13
See reviews for
121
382
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here many times over the past 15 years and I am not sure if we were given a bad room (403) or if the Meeting Street Inn has just gone down hill. Our room was terrible, the brown carpet appeared to be at least decades old. The bathroom had a poorly executed textured paint job that was honestly hideous and sadly was not very clean (hair from previous guests). Water pressure - bad. The new parking situation is inconvenient, we had to walk a couple of blocks to get to our car. The bed and pillows were fine. The only redeeming factors that still remain at the Meeting Street are the location, the free breakfast - which is quite good and the wine and cheese in the late afternoon. We mentioned this to, whom I presume is the owner/manager, and they seemed to care less. A little bit of TLC and this place could sparkle like it once had, but, unfortunately, we won't be around to see it because I have no plans to ever stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Champuga81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvs102067, Manager at The Meeting Street Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
It has taken awhile to respond to this review because I could not think of a way to reply to certain claims made by the guest. The carpet is 3 years old, not faded or stained. The textured paint in the bathroom is not to every ones taste, but definitely not hideous. The water pressure was bad due to a city problem. Even our booster pump could not make up for the limited pressure from the city. Parking is a premium in Charleston. We provide valet parking, self parking, or a shuttle to and from the parking lot. It takes no longer than pulling a car out of a multi story garage.
I was the person at the desk who could care less. When this quest approached me, her comments were that this place is not the same. She gave none of the complaints listed in her review. When I asked her to elaborate, she shrugged her shoulders and walked off. The other members of the staff that heard her comment wondered what she meant as well. We all just smiled and went on with our morning making the Charleston experience the best that it could be for the rest of the guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
104 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two days and one night celebrating a friend's milestone birthday. It is very well located to all of Charleston's sites and the staff is really welcoming and warm. The Inn is decorated in old style colonial furnishings and they offer a great breakfast and wine/cheese hour everyday......really well done.

The bed was quite comfortable and bathroom is well stocked with good towels even if the bathroom is on the small side. The water pressure is a little light but survivable.

There is no fitness center but you have access to Eco-fitness three short blocks away for $15/day. It is an extensive facility and an easy walk.

There are many nice hotel choices in Charleston but you won't be unhappy staying here if you are looking for nice people who offer a good value ..... and most importantly seem sincerely interested in you.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CGCx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

The staff was so accommodating and friendly. The rooms feel historic, but not new and shiny. The location is in the heart of downtown and walking distance to almost everywhere we wanted to go.

My friends and I had a deluxe courtyard room one night, and liked the hotel and city so much, we stayed a second night. We moved to a standard room. They were similar in size, but the deluxe room was a bit nicer, had more daylight from the courtyard, and had a sink in the room instead of in the bathroom.

The standard room seemed older and had a small private balcony, and the sink was in the bathroom. Storage space was adequate for all four of us. The beds are very high off the floor with little step stools. May be difficult for small children or for someone with disabilities.

The continental breakfast was great. Hot foods, fruit, cereal, bagels, and really good cinnamon rolls. We missed it by a few minutes, and the staff was kind enough to reheat some and let us take a tray of breakfast items to the room. That is just one example of how kind the folks here have been.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank KittlitzMurrelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We wanted to stay in a place downtown Charleston...within
walking distance of shopping and restaurants, but wanted a place that embraced the essence of the city. Well, we found exactly that here at The Meeting Street Inn! The building itself mirrored the charming houses in Charleston with its lovely side garden/courtyard and piazza. A medley of simple southern breakfast items were available each morning in the "meeting room" along with complimentary wine and cheese in the afternoons. As we turned the old fashioned brass key in the door, we were delighted to find tall canopy beds and hardwood floors in our room. A separate dressing area with ample light and mirrors allowed for us to get ready for the day while another guest could shower. We enjoyed sitting outside in the courtyard in the afternoon with our wine reflecting on the day and making plans for the next day's adventures. Toast is a great restaurant next door that offers breakfast as well as late night refreshments. City Market is just down the street as well as other venues for shopping. Can't wait to visit here again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Perry333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Our stay at the Meeting Street Inn was a great experience. The room was excellent & the staff went out of their way to make our stay pleasurable. Before booking we had read one negative review amongst many favorable comments. We decided to give it a try and we were glad we did. We met many people at the wine & cheese event & did not hear one negative comment. We have a feeling that the people who wrote the negative review had some other agenda - not the inn itself or it's staff. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

This was my first trip to Charleston and the city and the hotel did not disappoint. The hotel, complete with canopy beds and real keys for the doors, is a step out of the past. The TV is also from the past, but I would hope that you do not come here to watch some flat screen. The hotel is amazing close to great shopping (both a plaza and several national chains) and more ice cream shops per mile than I have ever seen. It's a very walk able place.

But most of all, the staff is INCREDIBLE. The first night we arrived I was feeling a little under the weather and wanted to go to a drug store to get some medicine. It was raining and late, so I was concerned that I was going to get lost. They literally gave me a ride. It was their idea and beyond any reasonable expectation of mine. Really nice.

In all, there are spaces that could use some paint or other touch up, but the pluses of this place far out weigh any down side.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NextBestThing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,702 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,788 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,764 reviews
Indigo Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meeting Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meeting Street Inn

Property: The Meeting Street Inn
Address: 173 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29401-3127
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Meeting Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Inn in the center of historic Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Meeting Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meeting Street Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing