We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Great Room, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Meeting Street Inn
Ranked #8 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Smithfield, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Staff, Great Room, Great Location”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 45th wedding anniversary in Charleston this past weekend and the foundation for an excellent weekend was staying at The Meeting Street Inn. Renee Harris was our first contact and check-in was flawless. She was spot-on customer service as well as Brad who assisted us with our luggage. The entire staff was very upbeat and friendly with lots of eye contact and smiles, a direct reflection of the GM, Allen Johnson, we assume. The room was as described and we were very pleased with the 4 poster queen and comfort. AC was very effective with convenient remote control. Really enjoyed the hot /cold breakfast, especially the sausage egg casserole. Pricing was very competitive. Thanks for the complementary Champagne !!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quinton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    236
    84
    36
    13
See reviews for
126
399
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our stay at the Inn was delightful. The location was perfect for seeing the historical sights. We did most on foot. The Inn has all the charm of Charleston and the service could not have been better. The room was lovely with 2 four poster rice beds. I am short, so needed the step stool to get in and out, but my friend did not. Breakfast and happy hour were enjoyed in the beautiful courtyard with its fountains and flowers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

During a recent visit to Charleston, I returned to the Meeting Street Inn where I stayed several years ago. The Inn is wonderfully situated in the historic district, near the market, has a very helpful and friendly staff as well as a delicious buffet breakfast which offered a different breakfast casserole each morning, all delicious. Our room was clean and comfortable though a bit dark for reading. The courtyard is my favorite, gorgeous with its flowers, fountain and birds, a Certified Wildlife Area. I never have enough time to just sit, sip my tea and relax in the courtyard since there is so much to do in Charleston. I've already booked a return visit to the Meeting Street Inn. Since the city was crowded and we had to eat dinner early, I did have the opportunity to enjoy the afternoon wine and cheese. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaryCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

If you want to be in the heart of things, this could be your place. Most of the reviews are pretty dead on. The best thing to do when you go to Charleston, is to call around for the best deals. It varies from week to week. If you are looking for upscale, this is not your place, but it is very comfortable. Does not have coffee maker in rooms. Must go to lobby. When I am by myself, without my early bird husband, this could have been a deal breaker! Otherwise, enjoy the atmosphere of friendly people, and being within walking distance of every great restaurant in Charleston.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a nice slice of Charleston history, good location in heart of historic Charleston, friendly staff, rooms decorated to suit the historic surroundings. Nice wine and cheese presented in lobby at 5:30 pm, continental breakfast items in lobby for morning. Parking available though not adjacent to hotel, several blocks away. Hotel ferries guests to and from parking in oversize golf cart.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinaIslandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We love the Meeting Street Inn and stay here whenever we come to Charleston. This has been our longest stay (1 week) and we have not been disappointed. The place a full of charm and the location is ideal. The staff are friendly and attentive. Lots of little extras like afternoon wine and cheese receptions and mints on your pillows most nights. Yesterday we came back o find fresh baked cookies in the lobby! The garden terrace is just what the doctor ordered after a long Northern winter! We will certainly be back!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank winter64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvs102067, Manager at The Meeting Street Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Meeting Street Inn. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This place is old and quaint with both the good and bad that entails so don't expect the fanciest of amenities. Rooms were smallish, but all have balconies and ours had a great bed. Service was extremely friendly from the front desk to the cleaning personnel to the porters. Elevator was very fast, Wifi free but a bit slow. Outdoor smoking area, seating area and hot tub were nice touches. We had a room on third floor at the end and it was very quiet, but this place could be noisy if full. Old wooden floors, wooden doors etc. do make some noise. Shower took a LONG time to get hot, but then was just fine. Parking is available, but it is blocks away. Not really a problem, though, cause they lead you down there and return you on a golf cart after you park. And once we parked the car, we never went back to it until we left town. That's because this place is absolutely perfectly located in old Charleston. We're 59 and 62 and still managed to walk to everything we wanted to see and do. A friendly place in a friendly town.

Room Tip: Farthest in from the street would be quietest, and that end of the building has its own elevator, to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 62 in Charleston
2,765 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 62 in Charleston
2,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,145 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 62 in Charleston
2,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meeting Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meeting Street Inn

Property: The Meeting Street Inn
Address: 173 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29401-3127
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Meeting Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Inn in the center of historic Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Meeting Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meeting Street Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing