We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charleston Christmas getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Meeting Street Inn
Ranked #6 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Charleston Christmas getaway!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We love the meeting street inn. Stayed here many times. The staff is so friendly and helpful. The rooms are always clean. The location is central, right at the meeting st/ market intersection. We always park our car at checkin and never need it again, we walk everywhere downtown. Continental breakfast served every morning, then wine and cheese in the evening. Totally recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: A bit noisy from the rooms above, so I recommend staying on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    241
    85
    36
    13
See reviews for
129
406
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new orleans
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012



Good location, very clean and comfortable. Staff knowledgable and welcoming. Complimentary coffee and tea available al day, breakfast also available. Comp cheese and crackers a nice touch at happy hour. There is a lot to see and do bring very comfortable shoes!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliadk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

A friendly staff and great location make up for what this place lacks in charm. A fresh coat of paint would certainly add to the ambience.

The rooms are furnished in period style, but the bathrooms need a redo. If you are into shabby chic, maybe this is the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidjx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

What a great, reasonable place. Girls trip and first time in the city. The location couldn't be better...everything in walking distance. Rooms are simple yet clean and roomy. Love the wine reception...nice touch. Darren was a gem, as was all the staff. We got great recommendations at all times.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruna26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed here for a girls' weekend with a group of 10 girlfriends and can't imagine a more hospitable place to stay. The staff was extremely welcoming and accommodating to our plans and requests. The happy hour in the evenings was a particular highlight for us! Rooms are clean and feel exactly as a room in Charleston should. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank courtney9384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I would recommend the Meeting Street Inn solely on the kind, generous and friendly staff. They were truly amazing and made me feel at home. In addition to that, they have an awesome afternoon reception everyday that includes wine, cheese, crackers and other h'orderves. Everything was delicious and the lobby was warm and inviting which provided comfort for a first time visitor. They also have a hot tub which seemed pretty hard for me to find in other hotels. And finally, the cleanliness of the hotel was amazing. If you are going to Charleston and want to stay downtown, I highly recommend the Meeting Street Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Overall the stay at the Meeting St Inn went very well. The room was not overly nice by any means but the location was great. The first problem I had with the Meeting St. is that the price that was quoted for the entire wedding party did not include parking. The Meeting St. Inn charged every guest with a car almost $20 per day on top of the room fees. The second problem was payment. At the time of check-in there is a sign that states you will be charged for your room right away. I did not have a problem with that. My problem comes from the fact the the charge disappeared the day after we checked out (After checking with the other members of the wedding party I discovered that this seemed to be the running theme). Now after a month and a half the charge has shown back up on my bank account. Now don't get me wrong, I did stay there and I am OK with paying for the room. But it makes me very angry at how they handled the billing and it has caused huge problems with many members of the group that are resent graduates and now have huge overdraft charges.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvs102067, Manager at The Meeting Street Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
The parking fee is $14/night plus tax which totals to $15.19/night. Each person that booked a room got an emailed confirmation with a rate with or without parking, based on if they would be driving or not. I cannot believe that out of an entire group of people, that not one person would call and say that the charge did not go through for the payment of our room. The credit card processing company crashed the night of that particular batch and we were not notified by the company. On our end, it looked like everything went through. It was not until doing the bank reconciliation that the error was caught and the batch resubmitted. Also, average out the stars we were given by this review, is comes to 3 not 1.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,782 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,853 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,181 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meeting Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meeting Street Inn

Property: The Meeting Street Inn
Address: 173 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29401-3127
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Meeting Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Inn in the center of historic Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Meeting Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meeting Street Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing